May contain inaccuracies · Check official sources · Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice

Debt · Lots of talk

Credit-card APR

Also called credit card interest · 22 percent apr · card debt · high interest debt

Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. No return or outcome is promised.

Credit-card APR means annual percentage rate: the yearly interest rate for borrowing on the card. Understanding it helps explain why payments may barely reduce a carried balance.

CFPB · 2023

01

How card interest works

Interest usually builds day by day. A daily rate generally equals APR divided by 360 or 365, depending on the issuer. For illustration, 24% ÷ 365 × $1,000 is about $0.66 for one day. Actual bills depend on changing balances, cycle length and compounding.

CFPB · 2024

A $35 payment can reduce a $1,000 balance by only $15. In a simplified one-month illustration, $1,000 at 24% APR adds $20 using APR ÷ 12. A $35 payment then leaves $985: $20 covered interest and $15 reduced the original debt. Add $50 of new purchases and the balance becomes $1,035 instead. Real statements use their own daily-balance, timing and grace-period rules; the example isolates why paying every month can coexist with a growing balance.

Illustration · context: CFPB
Where the $35 payment goes

Use the article’s simplified month: $1,000 opening balance × 24% ÷ 12 = $20 interest, followed by a $35 payment.

  • Interest covered
  • Original debt repaid
$35 payment = $20 interest + $15 principal
Two endings after that same payment
ScenarioCalculationEnding balance
No new purchase$1,000 + $20 − $35$985
Add a $50 purchase$985 + $50$1,035

A payment and a growing balance can happen together. The new $50 purchase is larger than the $15 reduction in original debt.

Monthly APR/12 is a teaching simplification. Real statements use their own daily balances, timing, compounding and grace-period rules. This is not a payoff quote.

Find each balance's rate before comparing cards. The statement separates purchases, transfers and cash advances when their APRs differ. Record each balance, APR, minimum and due date. The agreement explains the calculation; a variable APR may change with a reference rate such as prime.

Chase · checked 29 Sept 2026

Statement balance and current balance are different. The statement balance is the amount at the billing cycle's close. The current balance reflects later purchases and payments too. An app can show money owed after a statement payment because newer spending belongs to a later bill.

Chase · checked 29 Sept 2026

Purchase interest can be avoided with a grace period. Most cards offer this window between statement closing and the payment deadline. Paying the full statement balance on time preserves it when eligible. Carrying debt can remove it; cash advances generally start interest immediately.

CFPB · 2024

The minimum is a payment obligation, not a payoff pace. Compare the statement's minimum-only timeline with its 36-month payment estimate. Both assume no new charges. Spending more changes the outcome.

CFPB · 2024

02

What understanding the APR changes

Earlier repayment can reduce borrowing costs. For an interest-bearing balance, reducing it sooner leaves fewer dollars accruing interest. Within one card, payments above the minimum generally go to the highest-rate balance; the issuer usually chooses where the minimum goes.

CFPB · 2024

A lower promotional rate can still have a cost. Moving debt may reduce interest, but even a 0% transfer can charge a fee. Compare that fee with the interest avoided over the planned repayment period.

CFPB · 2024

03

Good to know

Payoff can be followed by another interest charge. On a carried balance, interest generally continues until payment arrives. Interest accrued after the statement closed can appear later. Check the next statement and ask the issuer about the payoff amount and restoring purchase grace.

CFPB · 2023

0% APR and deferred interest work differently. A true 0% promotion starts charging its regular rate on the remaining balance after expiry. A deferred-interest offer can add interest dating back to the purchase if its conditions are missed. Check the deadline and payment terms.

CFPB · 2017; checked 29 Sept 2026

A 0% transfer can make new purchases costly. On most cards, carrying the transferred balance removes the usual purchase-interest protection unless the entire balance is paid.

CFPB · 2024

Paying interest is not required for a good score. Using credit and repaying it differs from leaving debt unpaid. See Credit utilization for the balance-to-limit relationship.

CFPB · 2024

If the minimum is unaffordable, ask about help. Contact the issuer promptly about payment options. Nonprofit credit counseling can also help; ask about fees before enrolling.

CFPB · 2026

04

From community discussion

Full statement payments still left a paycheck gap. An r/YNAB poster paid in full but needed each new paycheck for last month's purchases. Escaping that cycle took several difficult paychecks and temporary savings transfers. Assigning money as purchases happened made upcoming bills less surprising.

Community · Reddit

Autopay showed zero due while debt remained. A Mr. Money Mustache account described several thousand dollars owed on a business card while autopay sent nothing. The poster eventually identified the corporate account as the payment destination; the personal-account setup covered a different balance.

Community

Interest waivers varied after payoff. In r/debtfree, people were surprised by interest after clearing balances. Replies reported Discover waivers, while another reported Amex refused. Asking sometimes helped, but these accounts do not establish an entitlement.

Community · Reddit

A repayment list made the balance easier to face. Reports describe writing balances, rates and minimums in an app or on the fridge, keeping required payments covered, then sticking with highest-rate or smallest-balance repayment. Pausing purchases and planning groceries prevented fresh charges from erasing progress.

Community

A $1,000 buffer and employer match complicated priorities. Some discussions kept about $1,000 for surprises and considered workplace matching alongside card repayment. Available cash and match terms mattered. Buy-now-pay-later installments could compete for that paycheck; payday or title borrowing added another obligation.

Community

A 36% card took four years to clear. One r/povertyfinance poster used a tax refund to finish the highest-rate card while a maxed $500 card remained. Their account included school supplies bought on a two-year 0% offer that was not repaid as expected, extra work and lender negotiations.

Community · Reddit

Rate bands and payoff cutoffs were discussion tools. The recorded 15–25%+ APR band, much-over-4% payoff cutoff and 3–5% transfer fees were examples people debated, not current market limits or universal decision rules.

Community

Reaching $0 brought relief, but setbacks still happened. Reports describe discouraging interest charges, hope after a visible extra payment, and relief at zero. Repayment could take months or years and debt could return after job loss. Some kept cleared cards; others closed them to curb spending.

Community

References for this topic

Sources and context

  1. Off the credit card float thanks to YNAB! ↗

    id
    money-community-card-float — Off the credit card float thanks to YNAB!
    platform
    Reddit · r/ynab
    role
    Community discussion
    accessed On
    2026-09-07
    locator
    Opening post by alias255m, particularly statement-in-full payment and assigning money as purchases occur.
    scope
    Distinguishes a reported paycheck-timing problem from carrying interest-bearing debt.
    limitations
    Selected public post and visible replies only; self-selected, unverified personal reports, not a representative sample or evidence of typical outcomes. No account records or private/deleted replies accessed. Enthusiastic customer account in a product-focused forum; not independent evidence that YNAB caused the outcome or is required.
  2. What is a credit card interest rate? What does APR mean? ↗

    id
    money-official-apr — What is a credit card interest rate? What does APR mean?
    platform
    Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-07
    locator
    Opening explanation of annual percentage rate.
    scope
    Supports credit-card-apr definition only.
    limitations
    Public page reviewed; no current rate, issuer-specific interest calculation or claim that all cards have a purchase grace period.
  3. What is a daily periodic rate on a credit card? ↗

    id
    money-guide-apr-cfpb-daily-rate — What is a daily periodic rate on a credit card?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-24
    locator
    Last reviewed September 23, 2024; daily periodic rate and compounding paragraphs
    scope
    A daily periodic rate is generally the APR divided by 360 or 365. Interest is generally that rate times the amount owed at the end of the day, and unpaid interest can compound daily.
    limitations
    Does not state a current market APR or which divisor a named issuer uses.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  4. How does my credit card company calculate the amount of interest I owe? ↗

    id
    money-guide-apr-cfpb-calculation — How does my credit card company calculate the amount of interest I owe?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-24
    locator
    Last reviewed January 22, 2024; average daily balance, grace period, and payment-application paragraphs
    scope
    Many issuers use the average daily balance. Different balances can have different APRs. A grace period usually applies to new purchases only if a balance is not already carried. Amounts above the minimum generally go to the highest APR first.
    limitations
    Does not calculate a sample balance and does not state a balance-transfer fee percent.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  5. A box on my credit card bill says that I will pay off the balance in three years if I pay a certain amount. ↗

    id
    money-guide-apr-cfpb-payoff-box — A box on my credit card bill says that I will pay off the balance in three years if I pay a certain amount.
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-24
    locator
    Last reviewed January 22, 2024; minimum-payment and 36-month disclosure paragraphs
    scope
    The statement must show the time to pay the current balance at the minimum, and the monthly amount to pay that balance in 36 months, assuming no new charges. Paying only the minimum can take years. Paying more reduces interest over time.
    limitations
    The disclosed payoff ignores future purchases and does not include a late-fee schedule.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  6. What is a credit card interest rate? What does APR mean? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-meaning — What is a credit card interest rate? What does APR mean?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2023-08-28
    locator
    Opening definition, lines 23–28; last reviewed August 28, 2023.
    scope
    APR is the annual borrowing interest rate.
    limitations
    No current market rate or claim that APR includes every separate card fee.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  7. What is a daily periodic rate on a credit card? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-daily — What is a daily periodic rate on a credit card?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-09-23
    locator
    Daily periodic rate and compounding paragraphs, lines 23–26.
    scope
    APR divided by 360 or 365; daily balance and possible daily compounding.
    limitations
    Issuer chooses calculation; example in article is author arithmetic, not a bill estimate.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  8. How to find your APR and calculate your interest charge ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-chase-apr — How to find your APR and calculate your interest charge
    platform
    Chase
    role
    Service rules
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    locator
    APR lookup, calculation and fixed/variable distinction, lines 31–76.
    scope
    Locate relevant APR on statement/agreement; variable APR may track prime; average daily balances.
    limitations
    Undated issuer educational page with marketing links; not an individual agreement or rate quote. Loose all-interest avoidance wording rejected in favor of CFPB qualifications.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  9. Statement Balance vs. Current Balance ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-chase-balances — Statement Balance vs. Current Balance
    platform
    Chase
    role
    Service rules
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    locator
    Definitions and transactions after closing, lines 24–35.
    scope
    Statement is billing-cycle snapshot; current balance changes with later activity.
    limitations
    Undated issuer educational page with card marketing links; no product endorsement or universal autopay-menu wording.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  10. What is a grace period for a credit card? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-grace — What is a grace period for a credit card?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-09-23
    locator
    Purchase grace period and loss of grace period, lines 23–30.
    scope
    Most cards offer purchase grace periods; full timely payment; cash advances generally accrue immediately.
    limitations
    Grace period not required; reinstatement depends on issuer, not a universal two-cycle rule.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  11. What does the three-year payoff box mean? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-payoff — What does the three-year payoff box mean?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-01-22
    locator
    Payoff disclosures and no-new-purchases assumption, lines 22–25.
    scope
    Minimum-only and 36-month payoff figures; extra payments reduce interest.
    limitations
    No guaranteed payoff schedule with new spending; the three-year payment is not the required minimum.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  12. How does my credit card company calculate the amount of interest I owe? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-calculation — How does my credit card company calculate the amount of interest I owe?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-01-22
    locator
    Average daily balance, statement categories and payment allocation, lines 23–34.
    scope
    Multiple APR balances; earlier payments can reduce interest; above-minimum amounts generally highest APR first.
    limitations
    Minimum allocation differs; deferred-interest rules create exceptions; U.S. consumer-card context.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  13. What is a balance transfer fee? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-transfer-fee — What is a balance transfer fee?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-09-23
    locator
    Definition and permission to charge on 0% offer, line 23.
    scope
    A transfer can have a fee despite zero interest.
    limitations
    No current universal fee percentage or offer eligibility.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  14. If I pay off my credit card balance when due, can I still owe interest? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-residual — If I pay off my credit card balance when due, can I still owe interest?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2023-10-19
    locator
    Carried balance until payment received; agreement controls, lines 23–26.
    scope
    Interest continues until receipt when already accruing.
    limitations
    Last reviewed 2023-10-19; page modified 2025-01-22. No promise of waiver or universal grace restoration timing.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  15. How to understand special promotional financing offers on credit cards ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-promotions — How to understand special promotional financing offers on credit cards
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2017-06-08
    locator
    Zero-interest versus deferred-interest comparison, lines 30–34; page modified June 25, 2026.
    scope
    True 0% offers do not retroactively add promotional-period interest; deferred interest can.
    limitations
    Archived educational article; mechanism corroborated by current Regulation Z commentary and 2024 deferred-interest FAQ; not a current offer.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  16. Do I pay interest on purchases after a zero-rate balance transfer? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-transfer-purchases — Do I pay interest on purchases after a zero-rate balance transfer?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-01-22
    locator
    Whole-balance and new-purchase conditions, lines 23–24.
    scope
    A carried 0% transfer can remove purchase grace-period benefit.
    limitations
    Most cards, not every special financing arrangement; concise statement only.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  17. How do I get and keep a good credit score? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-score — How do I get and keep a good credit score?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2024-12-12
    locator
    No need to carry balance; closing accounts and limit usage, lines 28–30.
    scope
    Paying interest is not required to build credit; closure may affect utilization.
    limitations
    No specific score increase promised; concise fact only to limit batch-wide source reuse.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  18. What should I do if I can't pay my credit card bills? ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-hardship — What should I do if I can't pay my credit card bills?
    platform
    CFPB
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    published Or Updated
    2026-09-02
    locator
    Issuer contact and credit counseling, lines 23–44.
    scope
    Prompt issuer contact; nonprofit counseling may help and may charge fees.
    limitations
    Arrangements and eligibility vary; no guaranteed lower rate or debt settlement recommendation.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  19. Off the credit card float thanks to YNAB! ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-ynab — Off the credit card float thanks to YNAB!
    platform
    Reddit · r/ynab
    role
    Community discussion
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    locator
    Opening post by alias255m and visible replies; paycheck, savings and category-balance paragraphs.
    scope
    Paid statements in full yet relied on subsequent paychecks; difficult transition funded partly with savings.
    limitations
    Self-report in a product-focused forum; customer enthusiasm does not prove causality or make paid software necessary. Exact original date not independently verified from opened body.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  20. Interests after paying off card ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-waivers — Interests after paying off card
    platform
    Reddit · r/debtfree
    role
    Community discussion
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    locator
    Opening question; replies by QuirkyPart3249 and MomentBright9555; contrary cash-advance qualification.
    scope
    Surprise interest after payoff; Discover waiver reported, Amex refusal reported.
    limitations
    Unverified selected reports, no account records; waivers discretionary; sweeping no-interest commenter claims excluded. Opened body uses relative dates.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  21. Paid off 36% interest card with after 4 years ↗

    id
    money59-credit-card-apr-payoff-report — Paid off 36% interest card with after 4 years
    platform
    Reddit · r/povertyfinance
    role
    Community discussion
    accessed On
    2026-09-29
    locator
    Opening post and original poster's long reply about school supplies, work, lender negotiations and tax refund.
    scope
    Reported four-year payoff of 36% card with tax refund; another $500 card remained; 0% school-supply balance not cleared as expected.
    limitations
    Unverified personal report, not typical payoff time or current available APR. Sensitive family details omitted; no sponsorship visible in used passage; mentioned service not endorsed.
    slugs
    • credit-card-apr
  22. 401k Matching question ↗

    id
    money-wave-match — 401k Matching question
    role
    Community discussion
    accessed On
    2026-09-23
    locator
    Throwaway401k_31626 opening post, update and replies about per-pay-period calculations and true-up.
    scope
    An employee described delayed payroll elections and uncertainty reconciling the match against pay stubs; the exact employer obligation was not independently established.
    limitations
    Selected self-reported public posts and replies, not verified outcomes, a representative sample, a prevalence estimate, or financial/legal proof. No private account material or linked financial screenshots accessed.
  23. End of the SAVE Plan ↗

    id
    money-wave-idr-rule — End of the SAVE Plan
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-23
    locator
    2026 announcements and SAVE transition FAQ.
    scope
    SAVE ended by court order in March 2026; RAP and Tiered Standard became available July 1, 2026; transition notices determine the borrower’s next steps.
    limitations
    Primary context for the named narrow claim; does not determine an individual account, eligibility or outcome.
  24. Q&As for 2nd cycle pre-approved 403(b) plan providers ↗

    id
    money-wave-match-rule — Q&As for 2nd cycle pre-approved 403(b) plan providers
    role
    Official context
    accessed On
    2026-09-23
    locator
    Question 11: computation period and true-up when contributions are made more frequently.
    scope
    The plan matching computation period matters; true-up can apply. This 403(b) guidance is not a guarantee that every 401(k) has a true-up.
    limitations
    Primary context for the named narrow claim; does not determine an individual account, eligibility or outcome.

Keep this topic in view

Preserved original record

Earlier public profile and reader notes are preserved separately from the current article. They may contain superseded wording and are not newly checked material.

Read the full original profile
slug
credit-card-apr
name
Credit-card APR
aliases
  • credit card interest
  • 22 percent apr
  • card debt
  • high interest debt
family
debt
heat
high
talk
Lots of talk
most Discussed
true
first Line
A credit-card APR is the annual percentage rate used to describe the interest charged for borrowing on the card.
why Line
The discussion separates the advertised annual rate, how interest appears on a carried balance and the frustration of paying while the principal barely moves.
feel Words
  • APR
  • minimum payment
  • statement
  • shame
  • zero balance
common Picture
  • lead
    An annual rate is not a flat monthly charge
    why
    Interest depends on the applicable rate, balance and account terms. [community]
  • lead
    Minimum and extra payments do different jobs
    why
    A required minimum keeps the payment obligation covered; extra principal changes payoff time and interest. [community]
  • lead
    New spending can offset repayment
    why
    The balance history needs both payments and new charges to explain what changed. [community]
watch For
Balance-transfer roulette. Stretching the loan “for credit.” Using the card as the emergency fund.
what People Say
  • The job: Stop paying a rate that beats almost any investment story. [community]
  • r/personalfinance is blunt: high-interest debt is the emergency. [community]
  • r/povertyfinance “am I cooked” is the scared version of the same math. [community]
  • PBS 2026 explainers still say high-interest first (after the match). [community]
  • Why people freeze: shame. The card is a secret. The interest does not care. [community]
  • Carrying a balance “for credit” is the myth. See Utilization. [community]
  • Balance transfers: useful if they stop spending and the fee math works. A hobby if they do not. [community]
  • 0% promo cards become 22% on a date people ignore. [community]
  • Buy-now-pay-later plans add another obligation: their installment dates may compete with the same money being used to repay the cards. [community]
  • They keep using the card and wonder why the snowball melts. [community]
  • Not a moral. A rate. [community]
how People Run It
  • List every card: balance, APR, minimum. [community]
  • Keep required payments on their due dates: avoiding further late charges or missed-payment problems is separate from deciding where extra money goes. [community]
  • Pick avalanche or snowball and stay. See that card. [community]
  • Cut the spend that feeds the card — or freeze the card in a drawer. [community]
  • Starter $1,000 so the next surprise is not a new swipe. [community]
  • Workplace matching creates a separate tradeoff: many r/personalfinance discussions consider the employer contribution alongside paying costly card debt. The actual match terms and monthly cash available still matter. [community]
  • When a card hits $0: they do not close it in a rage without reading the utilization card — or they do, if that is what keeps them from using it. Individual. [community]
amounts People Use
  • APR band people quote: 15–25%+. [community]
  • Payoff cutoffs in forum guides vary: older r/personalfinance discussions mention rates much above 4% when debating extra payments. That is a discussed rule of thumb, not a universal definition of expensive debt. [community]
  • Minimum: whatever the statement says. Not optional in this picture. [community]
  • Extra: every leftover dollar after starter + match + food. [community]
  • Balance-transfer fees: often 3–5%. They do the math. [community]
how People Keep It
  • A written list on the fridge or a notes app. Hidden debt stays. [community]
  • One method. No monthly identity swap. [community]
  • A grocery plan so the card is not dinner. [community]
  • They celebrate $0, then attack the next line. [community]
  • They do not reward a $0 with a haul. [community]
how It Feels
  • The statement that does not move. Shame. Math is slow at first. [community]
  • First extra payment that shows: hope. [community]
  • A $0 balance: people cry in the car. Common diary. [community]
  • A slip: they want to quit the whole plan. They make the next minimum. [community]
  • Another interest charge can feel discouraging: the statement makes visible how much of a payment went toward borrowing cost rather than reducing the balance. [community]
  • After it’s gone: they are afraid of the card. Fair. [community]
how Long People Run It
  • Until the high-APR balances are gone. Months to years. [community]
  • Then they keep the starter / full fund so it does not come back. [community]
  • It can return after a layoff. The method still works. [community]
  • Not a 30-day challenge. [community]
deep Dive
  • Choose where the extra payment goes: avalanche targets the highest rate; snowball targets the smallest balance. Both still keep other required payments covered. [community]
  • Utilization is the balance-to-limit relationship: paying balances down can change it. Paying interest is not required just to demonstrate that a card is being used. [community]
  • Student loans may need a different comparison: a private loan’s rate and a federal income-driven repayment or forgiveness option are not the same decision. The loan type and applicable program affect extra-payoff choices. [community]
  • Why employer matching appears in the discussion: some budgets preserve the contribution needed for an employer match while attacking card debt. The employer formula, vesting and current ability to pay bills still matter. [community]
  • If the required payments are unmanageable: hardship arrangements or a nonprofit credit counselor are distinct from changing the payoff order. A legal dispute requires attention to legal rights and deadlines as well. This is not legal or credit advice. [community]
watch For Long
  • A credit card is not the emergency fund. [community]
  • Carrying a balance does not build a score. [community]
  • Balance-transfer roulette without a spend freeze is a hobby. [community]
  • Adding another costly loan can compound the problem: payday or vehicle-title borrowing adds its own terms and consequences to the existing payment burden. [community]
  • Harassment / sued / bankruptcy thoughts: a person (legal aid), not only a forum. [community]
related
  • avalanche-vs-snowball
  • starter-emergency-fund
  • the-match
  • credit-utilization
  • buy-now-pay-later
research Pointer
    house Pointers
      play Pointer
      —
      sources
      • r/personalfinance step 3
      • r/povertyfinance
      • PBS 2026 high-interest-first
      disclaimer
      Community talk may be wrong. Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. No return or outcome is promised.
      quick Answer History
      • field
        commonPicture
        rows
        • lead
          15–25% APR talk
          why
          The 2026 fire number in PF and povertyfinance. [community]
      • field
        communityPicture
        rows
        • People discuss interest on statements, slow-moving balances, payoff methods and the difference between an interest problem and a paycheck-timing problem.
      • field
        firstLine
        rows
        • People treat 15–25% card interest as the fire, not a score problem.
      • field
        whyLine
        rows
        • People treat 15–25% card interest as the fire, not a score problem.
      • field
        commonPicture
        rows
        • lead
          Reported annual interest rates: 15–25% or more
          why
          APR means annual percentage rate; this is the range in the debt discussions. [community]
        • lead
          Minimums on all, extra on one
          why
          The shared rule of both payoff methods. [community]
        • lead
          After starter cash + match
          why
          Prime Directive step 3: debts “much over 4%.” [community]
        • lead
          Stop adding to the fire
          why
          The budget change is the other half. [community]
        • lead
          First $0 statement
          why
          The feeling people stay for. [community]
      • field
        whatPeopleSay
        rows
        • BNPL is a cousin fire. See Buy now, pay later. [community]
      • field
        howPeopleRunIt
        rows
        • Pay minimums so nothing goes 30 days late. Late is a second fire. [community]
        • They still take the match in most PF pictures. [community]
      • field
        amountsPeopleUse
        rows
        • PF “much over 4%” is the extra-payment cutoff talk. [community]
      • field
        deepDive
        rows
        • Avalanche vs snowball is how the extra dollar is aimed. [community]
        • Utilization is a score side-effect, not the reason to carry a balance. [community]
        • Student loans can be high or income-driven. Different card, 2026 mess. [community]
        • The match is the usual exception to “every dollar at the card.” [community]
        • Not legal or credit advice. Hardship programs exist; a nonprofit counselor is a person. [community]
      • field
        watchForLong
        rows
        • Payday loans and title loans are a hotter fire. Different, worse room. [community]
      • field
        howItFeels
        rows
        • Interest posted again: rage. That is the fire teaching. [community]
      Read the preserved reader notes
      definition
      A credit-card APR is the annual percentage rate used to describe the interest charged for borrowing on the card.
      community Picture
      The discussion separates the advertised annual rate, how interest appears on a carried balance and the frustration of paying while the principal barely moves.
      additions
      • text
        A selected r/YNAB poster said the household paid each statement in full but repeatedly used the next paycheck to cover the previous month’s card spending. They described a difficult transition toward having money already assigned to the purchases as they happened. Their difficulty concerned cash flow: paying a bill without a revolving balance and having room for the coming month were different questions.
        sources
      summary Sources
      guide
      what
      • The moving part is the daily charge on a balance that is not paid in full, not the annual percentage rate as a once-a-year fee. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau says the card's APR is usually divided by 360 or by 365, and the issuer chooses which, to get a daily periodic rate. That rate is generally multiplied by the amount owed. The CFPB also says many issuers calculate the interest from the average daily balance, and that unpaid interest can compound because the day's interest is added to the balance.
      • One APR does not cover every balance on the card. The CFPB says purchases, cash advances, and other categories can carry different rates, and the statement has to show each category and the balance in it. A grace period, when the card has one, usually covers new purchases and only if a balance is not already being carried. Paying the statement in full by the due date is what keeps purchase interest off those new charges. Cash advances sit outside that usual grace period.
      • The minimum payment is the amount the statement requires. It is not a payoff plan. The CFPB says the statement has to show how long the current balance would last if only the minimum is paid and no new charges are made, and how much per month would pay that current balance in 36 months. Those figures ignore later purchases. New charges and the old balance both feed the next calculation.
      how
      • On each statement, take one card at a time. Write the balance, every APR category, the portion of the balance in that category, the minimum due, and the due date. The cardholder agreement, which the issuer posts or will send, says which transactions fall into which APR. Dividing the purchase APR by 360 and by 365 only shows the two daily rates the CFPB describes. The agreement says which divisor that issuer uses.
      • Pay at least the minimum by the due date on the statement. The CFPB says there is no requirement to pay more than that minimum. It also says that paying only the minimum can leave the balance in place for years, and that paying more reduces the interest over time. When the payment is above the minimum and below the full balance, the issuer generally has to apply the extra portion first to the highest APR, then downward. The issuer generally chooses where the minimum portion goes.
      • If the card has a grace period and the aim of that month is to avoid purchase interest, pay the full statement balance by the due date, in a month when a balance is not already being carried. A partial payment can meet the minimum and still leave a balance that accrues interest. The 36-month figure is a pace for the balance on that statement date, assuming no new purchases. A new charge changes the balance the next calculation uses.
      • A balance-transfer offer is a separate APR, a separate fee, and a separate end date, all printed in that offer. Write those three next to the old card's APR before moving a balance. The transfer fee and the new rate are whatever that offer states. Stopping new charges is a spending step. It is not part of the interest formula. The formula still runs on whatever balance remains.
      understand
      • Interest is computed this way so the charge tracks how large the balance is and how many days it sits there. The CFPB says that when there is no grace period, paying sooner reduces the interest, because later days use a smaller balance. The annual rate looks large because it is a yearly label on a daily calculation. It is not a single fee equal to the APR times the balance once a year.
      • The payoff box is on the statement because the minimum is often far below the amount that would clear the current balance in three years. That box is not a description of a balance that keeps growing with new charges. Carrying a balance so a card looks active is not how the CFPB describes interest. Interest is the charge for borrowing. How a credit score uses a balance is a different system, and the community notes on utilization are where those reports sit.
      • The wrong tool is a card used as the only cash for a surprise, or a transfer that does not stop the spending that built the balance. The consequences of a missed minimum are in the cardholder agreement, not in the APR label. If the minimum itself cannot be paid, the next record is the issuer's own hardship or payment instructions for that account. That conversation is about this card. It is not a new loan.
      sources
      note References
      • field
        howPeopleRunIt
        index
        5
        text
        Workplace matching creates a separate tradeoff: many r/personalfinance discussions consider the employer contribution alongside paying costly card debt. The actual match terms and monthly cash available still matter. [community]
        sources
      • field
        deepDive
        index
        2
        text
        Student loans may need a different comparison: a private loan’s rate and a federal income-driven repayment or forgiveness option are not the same decision. The loan type and applicable program affect extra-payoff choices. [community]
        sources
      • field
        deepDive
        index
        3
        text
        Why employer matching appears in the discussion: some budgets preserve the contribution needed for an employer match while attacking card debt. The employer formula, vesting and current ability to pay bills still matter. [community]
        sources
      Download original public profileDownload complete article

      End of Credit-card APR