Accounts · Lots of talk
1099 / quarterly estimates
Also called quarterly taxes · estimated tax · 1099 side hustle · self employment tax
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. No return or outcome is promised.
Freelance and gig payments can arrive without tax withheld. Estimated payments cover that gap during the year, helping avoid a surprise bill or penalty. A 1099 reports income; it is not a tax return.
IRS · gig work01
How estimates work
Start with income and expense records. For independent contract work, record payments, including those without a 1099, and keep receipts for deductible business costs. Schedule C reports a sole proprietor's business income and expenses. The money received is not necessarily the profit on which tax is calculated.
IRS · gig workReceipts, profit and cash left in the bank answer different questions. Simplified bookkeeping example: $5,000 of business receipts minus $1,200 of deductible business expenses leaves $3,800 of profit. Moving $1,000 into a separate tax savings account leaves $2,800 of that cash elsewhere, but does not reduce the $3,800 profit: the transfer is not a business expense. This assumes the expense treatment is correct and no other adjustments. It illustrates the records, not the household’s income tax, self-employment tax or required estimated payment.
Illustration · context: IRSAssume $5,000 received, $1,200 of correctly treated deductible expenses paid, and no other adjustments.
| Record | Amount |
|---|---|
| Receipts | $5,000 |
| Deductible expenses | −$1,200 |
| Profit | $3,800 |
- Cash in the original account
- Cash reserved in tax savings
The transfer changes where the cash sits. It does not reduce profit from $3,800 to $2,800.
This is a simplified bookkeeping illustration. The $1,000 reserve is an invented amount, not a tax estimate or a recommended percentage.
Self-employment tax sits alongside income tax. It funds Social Security and Medicare and generally applies at $400 of net self-employment earnings. Usually, 92.35% of business income minus ordinary and necessary expenses is subject to it. The components are 12.4% and 2.9%; half is deductible when figuring adjusted gross income, not refunded. Higher income can trigger Additional Medicare tax.
IRS · Topic 554The Social Security earnings cap is $184,500 in 2026. Medicare has no earnings cap.
SSA · 2026Estimate the whole year's tax, then subtract expected withholding. Form 1040-ES combines expected income, deductions, credits and taxes. The prior return is a starting point, adjusted for this year's changes. Include wages as well as side work; a percentage of freelance receipts alone misses those interactions.
IRS · 1040-ES 2026The $1,000 test and safe harbors answer different questions. Estimates generally apply when expected tax after withholding and refundable credits is at least $1,000 and those amounts fall below the required target. That target is generally the smaller of 90% of 2026 tax or 100% of 2025 tax. The latter becomes 110% if 2025 adjusted gross income exceeds $150,000 ($75,000 for married filing separately in 2026); the prior return must cover 12 months. These safe harbors protect against underpayment penalties when paid on time, not against owing a balance later.
IRS · 1040-ES 2026The 2026 federal dates are unevenly spaced. April 15 covers January–March; June 15 covers April–May; September 15 covers June–August; January 15, 2027 covers September–December. These are calendar-year dates, not four equal three-month periods. Special schedules and eligible disaster relief can differ.
IRS · Publication 505 2026Make a payment, rather than filing a quarterly return. IRS Direct Pay supports estimated tax from a bank account. Select the payment reason and correct tax year, verify identity, enter the payment and retain its confirmation number. Check that the debit actually completes: confirmation records a request. The annual Form 1040 still reconciles the year's income, taxes and payments.
IRS · Direct Pay help02
What payment planning offers
A wage job can simplify the payment routine. Enough additional withholding through Form W-4 can cover side-income tax and remove the need for separate estimates. It also reduces take-home pay; the calculation still needs to include all relevant income.
IRS · gig workUneven earnings need not force equal installments. The annualized income method calculates payments from income accumulated through each period. It can reduce an early installment when earnings arrive later, but requires more records and Form 2210 with Schedule AI at filing.
IRS · Publication 505 202603
Good to know
Later payment may leave an earlier penalty. Penalties are assessed by period, even with a final refund. Estimates do not settle state obligations. Special rules apply to farming and fishing.
IRS · Publication 505 2026Direct Pay is free, but first-time filers may need another option. It requires information from a previous return for identity verification. The IRS offers other payment methods when that verification is unavailable.
IRS · Direct Pay04
From community discussion
Finding the payment button was harder than expecting tax. A W-2 worker with $4,200 of side-gig receipts could not find 1040-ES in EFTPS and thought a form had to be filed. Replies separated payment from filing. Competing calculations showed why adding two percentages was confusing.
Community · RedditInconsistent freelance pay changed the preferred routine. One worker declined suggestions to increase W-2 withholding, preferring to reserve side-income cash and pay quarterly. Another described savings-account compartments for keeping tax money apart, with an extra transfer needed before sending it elsewhere. Convenience differed by income pattern.
Community · RedditA tax account and a 25–40% reserve did not guarantee April relief. Reports describe splitting payments into a separate account, sometimes high-yield savings. The percentage was a budgeting habit, not a personal tax rate. Some spent the reserved cash or left it in savings without paying the IRS, then faced a surprise tax bill. Solo 401(k)/SEP retirement saving was separate.
CommunityTwo unpredictable 1099 jobs exposed an overpayment tradeoff. Replies disagreed: use last year's tax for predictability, or annualize when earnings may fall by more than half. One participant called unequal payments tedious; another had adjusted for uneven business draws for years.
CommunityLow income and a state penalty supplied two different surprises. In that discussion, a reply estimated about $2,275 of self-employment tax on $16,100 of 2026 earnings despite no income tax. Another participant reported a $250 state penalty and a small federal penalty after a bad calculation. These are individual accounts, not standard bills or penalties.
CommunityA couple's side income required looking at both spouses. A 2026 Idaho poster reported roughly $6,200 from one contract and under $2,000 from another alongside a spouse's wage job. Replies discussed the joint return and corrected confusion about whether estimated payments count in the $1,000 test. No completed tax outcome was reported.
Community · RedditShort-video deduction lists worried freelancers. Reports warned about unsupported business deductions and hobby-loss claims. Keeping payer, date, amount and expense records was the practical alternative they described.
CommunityReferences for this topic
Sources and context
Filing taxes when you are W2 employed but freelance on the side ↗
- id
- money-wave-1099-talk — Filing taxes when you are W2 employed but freelance on the side
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- Visible opening body by deleted author; Critical_Letterhead6 response separating estimated payments from annual filing.
- scope
- The poster confused quarterly estimated payments with separate quarterly income-tax returns and was unsure how W-2 withholding fit. Incorrect safe-harbor claims in another reply were excluded.
- limitations
- Selected self-reported public posts and replies, not verified outcomes, a representative sample, a prevalence estimate, or financial/legal proof. No private account material or linked financial screenshots accessed.
Estimated taxes ↗
- id
- money-wave-estimated-rule — Estimated taxes
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- Who must pay and Who does not have to pay estimated tax.
- scope
- Tax is paid through withholding and/or estimated payments; a wage earner may increase withholding rather than make separate estimates.
- limitations
- Primary context for the named narrow claim; does not determine an individual account, eligibility or outcome.
Gig economy tax center ↗
- id
- money-wave-gig-rule — Gig economy tax center
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- Gig economy income is taxable.
- scope
- Taxable side-work income must be reported even when paid in cash or not reported on a Form 1099.
- limitations
- Primary context for the named narrow claim; does not determine an individual account, eligibility or outcome.
Estimated taxes ↗
- id
- money-guide-estimates-irs-page — Estimated taxes
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Who must pay estimated tax; How to figure estimated tax; When to pay; Penalty for underpayment
- scope
- Estimated tax covers income tax and self-employment tax. Individuals generally pay if they expect to owe $1,000 or more. The general penalty exceptions are under $1,000 still owed, 90 percent of the current year, or 100 percent of the prior year, whichever is smaller. A weekend or legal holiday moves the due date.
- limitations
- Does not print the four calendar dates in the table and does not restate the higher-income exception beyond a pointer to Publication 505.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Estimated tax ↗
- id
- money-guide-estimates-irs-dates — Estimated tax
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- When are quarterly estimated tax payments due, including the payment-period table and the 2026 farming paragraph
- scope
- Calendar-year periods are due April 15, June 15, September 15, and January 15 of the next year. The FAQ names January 15, 2027, for 2026 farming and fishing estimated tax.
- limitations
- The ordinary table is the standing IRS calendar, not a line that says each 2026 weekday was checked for a holiday. Farming and fishing have different options.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Topic no. 554, Self-employment tax ↗
- id
- money-guide-estimates-irs-se-tax — Topic no. 554, Self-employment tax
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Opening paragraph and Self-employment tax rate
- scope
- Self-employment tax generally applies at $400 or more of net earnings. The taxable base is generally 92.35 percent of net earnings. The rate is 12.4 percent for Social Security and 2.9 percent for Medicare. Half of the tax is deductible in figuring adjusted gross income. The Social Security maximum changes annually.
- limitations
- Does not state the tax year 2026 Social Security wage base.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Taxable income ↗
- id
- money-guide-estimates-irs-taxable-income — Taxable income
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Opening paragraphs and Self-employment or side jobs
- scope
- Income is taxable unless the law exempts it, including when no reporting form arrives. Freelance, contractor, and gig income are listed as taxable categories.
- limitations
- Does not compute self-employment tax or list estimated-tax dates.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Form 1099-NEC and Form 1099-MISC income treatment scenarios ↗
- id
- money-guide-estimates-irs-1099-scenarios — Form 1099-NEC and Form 1099-MISC income treatment scenarios
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Scenario 4, client has not received Form 1099-NEC
- scope
- Contractor payments are reported on Schedule C even when a Form 1099-NEC was not issued. Records are used to reconstruct income and allowable expenses.
- limitations
- The scenarios are examples for preparers. They do not set a percentage of income to set aside.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Manage taxes for your gig work ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-gig — Manage taxes for your gig work
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Keep records; Pay estimated tax; File your tax return
- scope
- Independent-contractor records, missing 1099s, extra wage withholding and annual forms.
- limitations
- General federal guidance; no household calculation or prescribed reserve percentage.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Topic no. 554, Self-employment tax ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-se — Topic no. 554, Self-employment tax
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Opening net-earnings paragraph; Self-employment tax rate; Additional Medicare tax; Reporting self-employment tax
- scope
- Federal self-employment tax base, components, threshold and income-tax deduction.
- limitations
- Does not print 2026 cap; not a complete combined-wage calculation. Additional Medicare details require Form 8959.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
What is the current maximum amount of taxable earnings for Social Security? ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-cap — What is the current maximum amount of taxable earnings for Social Security?
- platform
- SSA
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- published Or Updated
- 2026-01-02
- locator
- Dated answer beneath title
- scope
- 2026 Social Security earnings maximum; Medicare has no maximum.
- limitations
- Wage interaction separately checked in 2026 Form 1040-ES worksheet, not calculated by this FAQ.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
2026 Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-es — 2026 Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- PDF pages 1, 4–5 and worksheet/instructions pages 7–12
- scope
- 2026 general requirement, higher-income safe harbor, worksheet, payment dates and annualized-method filing condition.
- limitations
- Federal calendar-year individual context. Different farmer/fisher and nonresident rules. About-form page lists February 2026 corrections; current PDF inspected.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Publication 505 (2026), Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-p505 — Publication 505 (2026), Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Chapter 2: When To Pay Estimated Tax; How To Figure Each Payment; Annualized Income Installment Method
- scope
- 2026 timing, period penalties, uneven-income method and special schedules.
- limitations
- January early-filing sentence uses Jan 31; 2026 Form 1040-ES gives Feb 1. No state worksheet or universal payment schedule.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Direct Pay help ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-pay-help — Direct Pay help
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- What kinds of taxes; confirmation; How do I make a payment; Resolving problems
- scope
- Estimated-tax selection, tax year, identity verification, confirmation and successful withdrawal.
- limitations
- Interface can change; confirmation alone is not completion. Current body has legacy browser examples not used here.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Direct Pay with bank account ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-pay — Direct Pay with bank account
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Opening bullets and Personal tax payments
- scope
- Free bank-account payment; no sign-in; alternatives when prior filing unavailable.
- limitations
- Prior-return identity verification needed; service availability and other payment methods differ.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
How on earth do I file quarterly self employment taxes? ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-reddit-payment — How on earth do I file quarterly self employment taxes?
- platform
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- whatsit111 original post; sonnyfab, Citryphus and penguinise replies
- scope
- First-person EFTPS confusion and $4,200 gross side-work example with conflicting estimates.
- limitations
- Page shows relative age only; exact date not entered. Replies' refund reassurance and calculations are not verified personal advice. No sponsorship apparent in selected exchange.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
Just started 1099 Side Hustle - what to do with tax money I set aside? ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-reddit-reserve — Just started 1099 Side Hustle - what to do with tax money I set aside?
- platform
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- MisterFreeze29 original and reply; bklynJayhawk account-compartment reply
- scope
- Variable side-income preference for quarterly payments; compartment and transfer friction.
- limitations
- Relative age only. Provider limits, yields, ticker recommendations and unsupported first-year exemption replies excluded. Account behavior is historical reported experience, not a current provider specification; no sponsorship apparent in selected comments.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
I'm trying to figure out whether I need to pay quarterly estimated taxes for 2026 and I'm getting overwhelmed by all the IRS information. ↗
- id
- money59-side-hustle-1099-reddit-joint — I'm trying to figure out whether I need to pay quarterly estimated taxes for 2026 and I'm getting overwhelmed by all the IRS information.
- platform
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- woodenspoon1999 original; 6gunsammy/rratsd65 correction and penguinise joint-income reply
- scope
- Idaho joint filer with two small contracts and spouse's wage income; threshold confusion corrected in replies.
- limitations
- 2026 is explicit in post, but absolute posting date unavailable; no completed outcome. Selected replies show no apparent promotion. Household numbers are reports.
- slugs
- side-hustle-1099
IRS Publication 505, 2026 ↗
- id
- quick-irs-estimated2026 — IRS Publication 505, 2026
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-12
- scope
- Standard calendar-year estimated-payment dates: April 15, June 15 and September 15, 2026; January 15, 2027.
- locator
- Official page or official indexed text read on 2026-09-12.
- limitations
- This reference explains the named format or rule. Individual community accounts remain attributed in the notes.
One-participant 401(k) plans ↗
- id
- money-wave-solo-rule — One-participant 401(k) plans
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- Contribution limits and testing sections, including $250,000 or more Form 5500-EZ discussion.
- scope
- A business owner acts as employee and employer; employee elective-deferral limits are per person across plans; earned-income calculations and eligible employees matter.
- limitations
- Primary context for the named narrow claim; does not determine an individual account, eligibility or outcome.
Keep this topic in view
Preserved original record
Earlier public profile and reader notes are preserved separately from the current article. They may contain superseded wording and are not newly checked material.
Read the full original profile
- slug
- side-hustle-1099
- name
- 1099 / quarterly estimates
- aliases
- quarterly taxes
- estimated tax
- 1099 side hustle
- self employment tax
- family
- accounts
- heat
- high
- talk
- Lots of talk
- most Discussed
- false
- first Line
- Income from freelance or side work may arrive without tax withheld. Estimated payments and increased wage withholding are ways to pay tax during the year; a Form 1099 reports certain payments rather than creating the tax obligation.
- why Line
- New freelancers describe confusing quarterly payments with quarterly returns, underestimating combined taxes and finding that the cash in a tax savings account has not yet been paid to the IRS.
- feel Words
- 1099
- quarterly estimated tax
- side hustle tax
- self employment
- common Picture
- lead
- 2026 standard estimated-payment dates
- why
- April 15, June 15 and September 15, 2026; January 15, 2027, for the calendar-year schedule. [community]
- lead
- Self-employment and income tax are different lines
- why
- The amount owed depends on the situation, not merely the amount parked in a savings account. [community]
- watch For
- Skipping required tax payments can create penalties. This is not tax advice; records of business income and expenses are needed to work out the actual obligation.
- what People Say
- The job: not get surprised by tax on work that had no withholding. [community]
- r/personalfinance and r/smallbusiness are 1099-April threads every year. [community]
- Setting money aside: freelancers often reserve a percentage of each payment in savings. That reserve is only an estimate until it is compared with income, expenses, other withholding and the actual tax calculation. [community]
- Retirement saving is a separate decision: a solo 401(k) or Simplified Employee Pension (SEP) IRA has its own contribution rules. Opening one does not replace estimated-tax payments. [community]
- how People Run It
- They separate a tax reserve when freelance income arrives, including income that may not appear on a Form 1099. The form reports payments; it does not determine whether income is taxable. [community]
- They calendar IRS estimate dates instead of one April wire. [community]
- amounts People Use
- Folk set-aside talk is often 25–40% — that is a forum chant, not your rate. Confirm. [community]
- how People Keep It
- A separate account named tax. [community]
- how It Feels
- Annoyed, then relieved in April. Or the reverse. [community]
- how Long People Run It
- For each year of freelance or business income: records and payment planning matter even when no Form 1099 arrives. [community]
- deep Dive
- Reserving, paying and saving for retirement are three steps: a savings account can hold the tax reserve, but that money has not been paid to the IRS until withholding or a payment covers it. A solo 401(k) addresses retirement saving under separate rules. [community]
- watch For Long
- Spending the set-aside. [community]
- Hobby-loss and fake deduction TikToks. [community]
- related
- solo-401k
- hysa
- the-windfall
- taxable-brokerage
- research Pointer
- house Pointers
- play Pointer
- —
- sources
- r/personalfinance 1099/estimated-tax threads
- side-hustle April-surprise talk
- disclaimer
- Community talk may be wrong. Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. No return or outcome is promised.
- quick Answer History
- field
- commonPicture
- rows
- lead
- Four estimate dates
- why
- The calendar people screenshot. [community]
- lead
- SE tax on top of income tax
- why
- The surprise. [community]
- field
- definition
- rows
- 1099 / quarterly estimates is the side-hustle tax calendar: setting money aside and sending estimated payments because there was no paycheck withholding.
- field
- communityPicture
- rows
- April-surprise threads chant a percent in a parking account. The actual rate and Schedule C facts are sent to a tax person, not a TikTok deduction list.
- field
- firstLine
- rows
- 1099 / quarterly estimates is the side-hustle tax surprise — set-asides and April panic, not a business-coach funnel.
- field
- whyLine
- rows
- 1099 / quarterly estimates is the side-hustle tax surprise — set-asides and April panic, not a business-coach funnel.
- field
- commonPicture
- rows
- lead
- A separate parking account
- why
- So April is not the first time they look. [community]
- lead
- 2026 federal estimated-payment dates
- why
- April 15, June 15, September 15, 2026; January 15, 2027. These are the standard calendar-year dates. [community]
- lead
- Self-employment tax can be due alongside income tax
- why
- People often abbreviate self-employment tax as SE tax. [community]
- lead
- Not a crypto course
- why
- And not STUDtoken. [community]
- lead
- Community tax set-aside: often 25–40%
- why
- A parking-account rule of thumb in the reports; actual tax depends on the situation. [community]
- field
- watchFor
- rows
- Penalty math from skipped estimates. This is not advice. Schedule C is not a vibe.
- field
- whatPeopleSay
- rows
- A percent in a high-yield parking spot is the folk rule; the right percent is a tax person. [community]
- Solo 401k / SEP sit next door for the retirement wrapper, not this calendar. [community]
- field
- howPeopleRunIt
- rows
- They split every 1099 payment the day it lands. [community]
- field
- howLongPeopleRunIt
- rows
- Every year they have 1099 income. [community]
- field
- deepDive
- rows
- Solo 401k is the retirement cousin. HYSA is where the set-aside often sits. [community]
Read the preserved reader notes
- definition
- Income from freelance or side work may arrive without tax withheld. Estimated payments and increased wage withholding are ways to pay tax during the year; a Form 1099 reports certain payments rather than creating the tax obligation.
- community Picture
- New freelancers describe confusing quarterly payments with quarterly returns, underestimating combined taxes and finding that the cash in a tax savings account has not yet been paid to the IRS.
- additions
- text
- A salaried worker freelancing on the side asked r/tax whether freelance income belonged on separate quarterly returns while the W-2 belonged on the annual return. The conversation separated making estimated payments from filing the annual income-tax return. That beginner confusion is more useful than treating “quarterly taxes” as a self-explanatory phrase; the old thread’s safe-harbor percentages and example rates are not reused.
- sources
- text
- Official context: the IRS says taxes can be paid through withholding and estimated payments, and a wage earner may increase withholding to cover additional tax. Its gig-economy guidance also says taxable side-work income must be reported even without a Form 1099. Moving money into a personal account named “tax” is preparation; it is not itself a payment to a tax authority.
- sources
- guide
- what
- The moving part is tax that was never withheld from the payment. The IRS says tax is paid as income is received, through withholding or through estimated tax payments. Estimated tax covers income tax and other taxes, including self-employment tax. A Form 1099-NEC reports what a payer paid. It is not the tax return, and it is not what makes the income taxable. The IRS says income is taxable unless the law exempts it, and that the income is reported even when no form arrives. Its 1099-NEC scenarios say a missing form does not remove the need to report contractor payments.
- Self-employment tax is a separate line from income tax. IRS Topic 554 says it generally applies when net earnings from self-employment are $400 or more. Net earnings are business income minus ordinary and necessary business expenses. The amount subject to the tax is generally 92.35 percent of those net earnings. The rate on that page is 12.4 percent for Social Security and 2.9 percent for Medicare. The Social Security portion has an annual maximum that changes every year. Topic 554 does not print the tax year 2026 maximum. All net earnings on that page are subject to the Medicare part. One half of the self-employment tax is deducted when adjusted gross income is figured, on Schedule SE.
- A transfer into a savings account is not a payment to the IRS. The payment is withholding, an estimated-tax payment, or a payment with the annual return. A quarterly estimated payment is not a quarterly tax return. The annual return is still Form 1040.
- how
- When freelance, gig, or contract income arrives, record the date, the payer, and the amount, including amounts that never appear on a 1099. Keep the expense records the IRS scenarios discuss, such as supplies, software, and other costs of that work. Those records are what Schedule C uses. A percentage copied from a forum is not a rate on the form.
- Figure the payment with Form 1040-ES. The IRS says to estimate adjusted gross income, taxable income, taxes, deductions, and credits for the year, starting from the prior return and adjusting for what changed. Individuals generally make estimated payments if they expect to owe $1,000 or more when the return is filed. The IRS says a penalty can apply if the payments are late, even when the annual return later shows a refund. It also says the penalty is generally avoided if the tax still owed after withholding and credits is less than $1,000, or if payments cover at least 90 percent of the current year's tax or 100 percent of the prior year's tax, whichever is smaller. Higher-income, farming, and fishing exceptions are in Publication 505 and are not restated here.
- For a calendar year, the IRS due-date table is April 15 for January 1 through March 31, June 15 for April 1 through May 31, September 15 for June 1 through August 31, and January 15 of the next year for September 1 through December 31. A due date that falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday moves to the next business day. The same FAQ names January 15, 2027, in its instructions for 2026 farming and fishing income. Pay on IRS.gov, by phone, with the IRS2Go app, or by mail with Form 1040-ES. The IRS says a weekly or monthly payment is allowed if enough has been paid by the period's due date.
- Each time the income arrives, move the reserve, then check that reserve against the worksheet before the next due date. Money still sitting in a savings account on that date has not been paid. The year's Form 1040, Schedule C, and Schedule SE are where the income, the expenses, and the self-employment tax are actually reported.
- understand
- The calendar is uneven because that is how the IRS table splits the year. The second period is two months and the fourth is four. There are not four equal tax returns. Self-employment tax sits beside income tax because Topic 554 splits the rate into 12.4 percent for Social Security and 2.9 percent for Medicare. The annual cap on the Social Security portion changes every year and was not stated as a tax year 2026 dollar amount on that page, so it is not stated here.
- The common miss is spending the reserve, or treating a savings transfer as if the IRS had been paid. Another miss is leaving out income that never arrived on a 1099, or claiming a cost the records do not support. The IRS scenarios treat the records, not a social-media deduction, as the support for an expense. A retirement contribution for self-employment income has its own rules and its own form. No tax year 2026 contribution limit for a solo 401(k) or a SEP IRA was taken from an IRS page in this run, so no such dollar limit is stated here. Opening one of those accounts does not pay the estimated tax.
- Publication 505 is the IRS publication for tax year 2026 withholding and estimated tax. The Form 1040-ES worksheet still has to be filled out with the actual income, expenses, and filing status. Community notes about setting aside a percentage of each payment are reports of a habit. They are not the rate on Schedule SE. The payment that counts is the one that reaches the IRS by the due date for that period.
- sources
- money-guide-estimates-irs-page — Estimated taxes
- money-guide-estimates-irs-dates — Estimated tax
- money-guide-estimates-irs-se-tax — Topic no. 554, Self-employment tax
- money-guide-estimates-irs-taxable-income — Taxable income
- money-guide-estimates-irs-1099-scenarios — Form 1099-NEC and Form 1099-MISC income treatment scenarios
- summary Sources
- note References
- field
- whatPeopleSay
- index
- 2
- text
- Setting money aside: freelancers often reserve a percentage of each payment in savings. That reserve is only an estimate until it is compared with income, expenses, other withholding and the actual tax calculation. [community]
- sources
- field
- whatPeopleSay
- index
- 3
- text
- Retirement saving is a separate decision: a solo 401(k) or Simplified Employee Pension (SEP) IRA has its own contribution rules. Opening one does not replace estimated-tax payments. [community]
- sources
- field
- howPeopleRunIt
- index
- 0
- text
- They separate a tax reserve when freelance income arrives, including income that may not appear on a Form 1099. The form reports payments; it does not determine whether income is taxable. [community]
- sources
- field
- howLongPeopleRunIt
- index
- 0
- text
- For each year of freelance or business income: records and payment planning matter even when no Form 1099 arrives. [community]
- sources
- field
- deepDive
- index
- 0
- text
- Reserving, paying and saving for retirement are three steps: a savings account can hold the tax reserve, but that money has not been paid to the IRS until withholding or a payment covers it. A solo 401(k) addresses retirement saving under separate rules. [community]
- sources
End of 1099 / quarterly estimates
