Cash · Lots of talk
T-bill ladder
Also called treasury bill ladder · T-bills · TreasuryDirect · tbill ladder · short treasuries
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. No return or outcome is promised.
A T-bill ladder divides cash among short-term U.S. Treasury bills that mature on different dates. It earns interest while bringing portions of savings back on a schedule. The calendar matters: money coming due later cannot pay today's expense.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 202601
How a bill ladder works
A bill returns its face value at maturity. Face value is Treasury's scheduled repayment. Bills normally cost less upfront; that discount becomes interest. Hypothetically, paying $990 for $1,000 face value produces $10 at maturity—not monthly. Bills can also sell at face value, without interest.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 2026Stagger purchases to stagger the return of cash. Regular terms are 4, 6, 8, 13, 17, 26 and 52 weeks. An illustrative ladder buys $1,000 face value of 4-week bills in four successive weekly auctions. Once established, one quarter matures each week. Buying everything in one auction creates one maturity date, not four rungs.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 2026Illustrative schedule: four separate 4-week bills, each with $1,000 face value, held to maturity without reinvestment. Week numbers begin at the first bill’s issue date.
| Rung | Issue week | Maturity week | Face value returned |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | 0 | 4 | $1,000 |
| B | 1 | 5 | $1,000 |
| C | 2 | 6 | $1,000 |
| D | 3 | 7 | $1,000 |
No rung matures in weeks 0–3. The $4,000 total is repayment of face value, not $4,000 of interest.
Purchase prices are set at auction. Reinvesting a maturity commits that cash to another bill. These schematic weeks are not an auction calendar or a bank-arrival guarantee.
TreasuryDirect purchases start at $100 face value. Bills start at $100 face value in $100 increments, with no TreasuryDirect opening or holding fee. Adult individual applications require a Social Security number, U.S.-person certification, U.S. address, eligible U.S. bank account and email. Identity checks may require extra documents.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 2026Brokerages have their own minimums and charges. Fidelity lists $1,000 face-value units: online Treasury auctions are free; representative-assisted auctions cost $19.95. These provider terms differ from TreasuryDirect. Brokerages also handle sales before maturity.
Fidelity · checked 29 Sept 2026Order first; the auction sets the price. A noncompetitive bid accepts the auction's result. The auction date sets pricing; the issue date starts the bill and takes payment. Record maturity dates, proceeds destinations and the spending deadlines those funds serve.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 2026Each maturity can become spending money or another bill. TreasuryDirect reinvestment buys the same term again, with renewals schedulable for up to two years. Changes or cancellations must precede its four-business-day cutoff before the new auction. Without reinvestment, proceeds go to the selected bank or TreasuryDirect cash balance. Brokerage auto-roll has separate rules.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 202602
What it offers
A predictable schedule for portions of savings. Staggering dates avoids putting every dollar behind one distant maturity. The amount and date for each held bill are known; the ladder is a way to organize cash, not a promise to outperform savings.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 2026Treasury interest has a state-tax advantage. Bill interest is federally taxable but exempt from state and local income taxes. The advantage depends on whether those taxes apply.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 202603
Good to know
TreasuryDirect is awkward for an urgent early exit. New purchases have a 45-day hold; a new 4-week bill matures first. Selling requires transfer to a bank, broker or dealer. Fully funded reinvestments have a hold exception. A 52-week bill still cannot fund next month's rent through its maturity payment.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 2026The early-sale price and next bill's yield can change. A brokerage sale can produce a loss and involves trading costs. A replacement bill may earn less when rates fall, and purchasing power can shrink if inflation exceeds the return. Rolling the ladder does not lock today's yield indefinitely.
Fidelity · checked 29 Sept 2026Bills are investments, not insured bank deposits. FDIC deposit insurance does not cover Treasury bills, even when purchased through a bank. A money-market fund is also different from an insured money-market deposit account.
FDIC EDIE · checked 29 Sept 2026Rolling does not remove tax reporting. TreasuryDirect supplies the year's Form 1099 through ManageDirect → Manage My Taxes. Its transaction summary is not the 1099. A brokerage supplies its own forms.
TreasuryDirect · checked 29 Sept 202604
From community discussion
Three months of expenses became a 13-week ladder. A 2018 forum poster spaced bills about four weeks apart. Their guessed week-long early-sale process had never been tested; a reply questioned access speed. Scheduled maturities did not establish emergency access.
Community · Mr. Money MustacheSome split savings half into bills, half into a bank account. The bank portion covered expenses before maturity: a Thursday repayment cannot cover Tuesday's bill. Reports describe starting with 4- or 8-week bills, buying every four weeks, or using 4–26-week rungs. Others returned entirely to savings when managing dates became work; the half-and-half ratio was a habit, not a rule.
CommunitySome find TreasuryDirect easy; others prefer one brokerage. A poster comfortably managed 4-week bills without needing immediate liquidity. A reply liked Fidelity auto-roll and keeping accounts together.
Community · RedditLogin trouble pushed some users toward brokerage auto-roll. Reports describe confusing TreasuryDirect screens and forgotten-password lockouts. Automated renewals helped people avoid auction homework while away; they still kept a maturity calendar.
CommunityAuto-roll left earnings outside the next bill. A TreasuryDirect user liked reinvestment but disliked accumulating earnings as separate cash instead of growing each rung. Another contributor described buying another bill once enough earnings accumulated. Renewing the principal and reinvesting every dollar of profit are different tasks.
Community · RedditA week of idle cash spoiled a short-bill rollover. Schwab users described a gap between maturity and replacement, prompting manual buying or a fund instead. They described their 2025 experience; current service terms do not establish a universal delay.
Community · RedditA fund's convenience did not mean a locked yield. A 2024 forum discussion compared CDs, individual Treasuries and a short Treasury fund. Replies disagreed about tax savings versus certificate yields and noted that a fund's yield can fall. One person's description of a fund as fully liquid was not proof of a fixed sale value.
Community · Mr. Money MustacheThe 5% screenshot stopped being a useful comparison. Reports linked the 2023–24 enthusiasm to high yields, then described less excitement as rates fell. Some compared after-tax savings and bill returns occasionally and stopped following daily yield posts. A past screenshot was no guarantee for the next purchase.
CommunityReferences for this topic
Sources and context
Trying to understand the mechanics of a T-Bill Ladder ↗
- id
- money-wave-bills-talk — Trying to understand the mechanics of a T-Bill Ladder
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- dwallace51 question about reinvestment residual; thomascoup and PineappleUSDCake replies.
- scope
- The practical confusion was where the difference between maturing face value and the price of the next bill goes. Old yields and platform mechanics were not adopted as current offers.
- limitations
- Selected self-reported public posts and replies, not verified outcomes, a representative sample, a prevalence estimate, or financial/legal proof. No private account material or linked financial screenshots accessed.
Treasury Bills ↗
- id
- money-guide-treasurydirect-bills — Treasury Bills
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Bills at a Glance: terms, $100 minimum, interest at maturity, taxes
- scope
- Terms of 4, 6, 8, 13, 17, 26, and 52 weeks. Minimum $100 and $100 increments. Interest is face value minus price, paid at maturity. Federal tax on interest; no state or local tax on that interest.
- limitations
- Does not describe a ladder product or a current auction yield.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Treasury Bills In Depth ↗
- id
- money-guide-treasurydirect-bill-bids — Treasury Bills In Depth
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Pricing example and noncompetitive versus competitive bids
- scope
- Shows the discount math on a $1,000 example and explains that a noncompetitive bid accepts the auction rate and receives the full amount.
- limitations
- The price in the example is an illustration of rounding, not a current auction result.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Reinvesting and selling a Treasury marketable security ↗
- id
- money-guide-treasurydirect-reinvest-sell — Reinvesting and selling a Treasury marketable security
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Bill reinvestment limits; 45-day hold on the selling page
- scope
- A maturing bill reinvests only into the same term. Schedule at least four business days ahead. A TreasuryDirect bill must be held 45 days before a sale or transfer, so a 4-week bill there cannot be sold early.
- limitations
- A bank or broker sets its own instructions for bills held there. The pages do not state the market price of an early sale.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Topic no. 403, Interest received ↗
- id
- money-guide-irs-topic-403-interest — Topic no. 403, Interest received
- platform
- IRS
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- Examples of taxable interest: bank accounts and credit-union share dividends
- scope
- Bank interest and credit-union share dividends are taxable interest. Interest of $10 or more is reported on Form 1099-INT, and taxable interest is reported even without the form.
- limitations
- Does not state a tax year dollar cap on savings interest. Does not give a savings-account rate.
- slugs
- hysa
- i-bonds
- t-bill-ladder
- the-windfall
Financial Products That Are Not Insured by the FDIC ↗
- id
- money-guide-fdic-uninsured-hysa — Financial Products That Are Not Insured by the FDIC
- platform
- FDIC
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- What Products Are Not Insured; page last updated May 12, 2026
- scope
- Mutual funds and Treasury bills are not FDIC-insured deposits. Treasuries are noted as backed by the full faith and credit of the United States.
- limitations
- Does not rank a savings account against a Treasury bill on yield.
- slugs
- hysa
- starter-emergency-fund
- t-bill-ladder
Selling a Treasury Marketable Security ↗
- id
- money-guide-treasurydirect-sell-bills — Selling a Treasury Marketable Security
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-24
- locator
- TreasuryDirect 45-day hold
- scope
- A security bought in TreasuryDirect must be held 45 days before it can be sold or transferred, so a 4-week bill held there cannot be sold before maturity.
- limitations
- Does not state the price a broker would obtain.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Treasury Bills ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-bills — Treasury Bills
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Bills at a Glance; terms and auction frequency
- scope
- Bill terms, face-value repayment and weekly auctions support the illustrative staggering example; no purchased ladder product is offered.
- limitations
- Undated page; hypothetical example is editorial arithmetic, not an actual purchase or rate forecast.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Understanding Pricing and Interest Rates ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-pricing — Understanding Pricing and Interest Rates
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Bills subsection, lines 47–61 in inspected body
- scope
- Meaning of face value and discount interest; the $990/$1,000 illustration is original arithmetic.
- limitations
- The page's own pricing example is not a current yield; the article does not reproduce it.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
TreasuryDirect FAQ ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-account-faq — TreasuryDirect FAQ
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- General account questions; Treasury Bill minimum; holding and transfer fee questions
- scope
- Account setup requirements, $100 bill increments and absence of opening/holding fees; account authentication and lockout procedures.
- limitations
- Individual eligibility is additionally checked against User Guide 003; entity/minor-linked accounts have different procedures.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
US Treasury Bonds ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-fidelity-treasuries — US Treasury Bonds
- platform
- Fidelity
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Treasury denomination table; auction charges; liquidity and risks
- scope
- $1,000 bill units; online auctions free and representative auctions $19.95; secondary trading and risk context.
- limitations
- Provider marketing/service page; terms can change. Auction-frequency table has a 2024 footnote; current terms separately verified at TreasuryDirect.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Buying a Treasury Marketable Security ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-buying — Buying a Treasury Marketable Security
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Bidding non-competitively; submitting a bid; issue date
- scope
- Buyer accepts the auction result; price is unknown at scheduling; BuyDirect workflow and issue-date funding.
- limitations
- Article does not describe institutional competitive bidding or accrued coupon interest on notes/bonds as bill mechanics.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Reinvesting a Treasury Marketable Security ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-reinvesting — Reinvesting a Treasury Marketable Security
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Same-term bill rule; scheduling and cancellation; paying for reinvestment; fully funded hold exception
- scope
- Same-term renewals, finite scheduling horizon and new-auction cutoff; funding shortfalls can cancel purchases.
- limitations
- Scheduling language also mentions maturity; cancellation paragraph specifically uses the new auction. Rules are not brokerage rules.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Tax Forms and Tax Withholding ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-tax-forms — Tax Forms and Tax Withholding
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Tax treatment opening and Getting your IRS Form 1099
- scope
- Treasury bill interest tax treatment and retrieval of TreasuryDirect 1099; distinguishes that form from transaction summary.
- limitations
- General current U.S. treatment, not an annual limit or state-return instruction; early-sale gains are not blanket-exempted.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Selling a Treasury Marketable Security ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-selling — Selling a Treasury Marketable Security
- platform
- TreasuryDirect
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- TreasuryDirect selling and original-purchase hold
- scope
- Original purchases face a 45-day hold; sales require transfer to a bank/broker/dealer. Fully funded reinvestment exception checked separately.
- limitations
- No transfer turnaround guarantee or price guarantee; the original 4-week prohibition is not applied to every possible reinvestment.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Fidelity Auto Roll Service ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-fidelity-auto-roll — Fidelity Auto Roll Service
- platform
- Fidelity
- role
- Service rules
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Risks; cancelling pending orders; detailed Treasury methodology
- scope
- Market-sale loss/mark-down and inflation risk; same-face-value renewals exclude interest; pending order cancellation is distinct from stopping future rolls.
- limitations
- Applies to Fidelity service only; does not promise all TreasuryDirect transfers or another broker's cash access.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
FDIC EDIE Glossary ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-fdic-edie — FDIC EDIE Glossary
- platform
- FDIC
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Non-Deposit Investment Products; Money Market Deposit Account; Deposit Type
- scope
- Treasuries and mutual funds lack FDIC deposit insurance; insured money-market deposit accounts are different products.
- limitations
- Not a bill yield comparison or guarantee of immediate cash access; no update date verified.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
How should you allocate your emergency fund? ↗
- id
- money-rebuild-t-bill-ladder-mmm-tiers — How should you allocate your emergency fund?
- platform
- Mr. Money Mustache forum
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-27
- published Or Updated
- 2018-11-02
- locator
- Tier 3 in the opening post and reply 2
- scope
- One person laddered 13-week bills about every four weeks for three months of expenses and had not tested an early sale.
- limitations
- A 2018 plan. The early-sale timing was a guess. Not a current auction yield.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Treasury Direct - Tbills ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-reddit-managing — Treasury Direct - Tbills
- platform
- Reddit r/Bogleheads
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- Opening post; PashasMom and azfunguy3 replies; wsurrdit reply
- scope
- Comfort with direct 4-week purchases, brokerage convenience, separate cash earnings and buying additional bills from accumulated interest.
- limitations
- Individual unverified reports; visible page uses relative timestamps. Search dated July 1–2, 2026 but exact date is not independently verified. No ticker recommendations adopted.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
Anyone buy T-Bills through Charles Schwab? + Questions ↗
- id
- money59-t-bill-ladder-reddit-roll-gap — Anyone buy T-Bills through Charles Schwab? + Questions
- platform
- Reddit r/Bogleheads
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-29
- locator
- FIREgnurd and SnooMachines9133 replies about idle cash
- scope
- Users reported a week-long gap and manual/fund alternatives; observed as dated experience rather than current verified service policy.
- limitations
- 2025 appears in indexed dated discussion; page gives relative times, so exact original date not recorded. No quantified yield-loss or guaranteed-return claim adopted.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
What CD would you buy today? ↗
- id
- money-rebuild-t-bill-ladder-mmm-cd-thread — What CD would you buy today?
- platform
- Mr. Money Mustache forum
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-27
- published Or Updated
- 2024-09-19
- locator
- Replies by dividendman, Scandium, and Must_ache
- scope
- Replies compared certificates, individual Treasuries, and a short Treasury fund, including a disagreement about whether a fund yield is locked.
- limitations
- September 2024 quotes are not current auction results. Naming SGOV reports the reply. It is not a recommendation.
- slugs
- t-bill-ladder
TreasuryDirect: Treasury bills ↗
- id
- quick-tbill-terms — TreasuryDirect: Treasury bills
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-12
- scope
- Available bill terms include 4, 6, 8, 13, 17, 26 and 52 weeks; minimum and increment are $100.
- locator
- Official page or official indexed text read on 2026-09-12.
- limitations
- This reference explains the named format or rule. Individual community accounts remain attributed in the notes.
Treasury Bills ↗
- id
- money-wave-bills-rule — Treasury Bills
- role
- Official context
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- Bills at a Glance and linked auction calendar.
- scope
- Bills mature at face value, have currently listed terms 4/6/8/13/17/26/52 weeks, and use a published auction schedule.
- limitations
- Primary context for the named narrow claim; does not determine an individual account, eligibility or outcome.
Using your HYSA for an emergency ↗
- id
- money-wave-cash-access — Using your HYSA for an emergency
- role
- Community discussion
- accessed On
- 2026-09-23
- locator
- Celcius_87 opening question; justacpa, Varathien and discussion of brokerage versus stock holdings.
- scope
- Participants distinguish the date a bill must be paid from transfer timing; some describe a checking cushion or card bridge. A card bridge is their report, not a universal fallback.
- limitations
- Selected self-reported public posts and replies, not verified outcomes, a representative sample, a prevalence estimate, or financial/legal proof. No private account material or linked financial screenshots accessed.
Keep this topic in view
Preserved original record
Earlier public profile and reader notes are preserved separately from the current article. They may contain superseded wording and are not newly checked material.
Read the full original profile
- slug
- t-bill-ladder
- name
- T-bill ladder
- aliases
- treasury bill ladder
- T-bills
- TreasuryDirect
- tbill ladder
- short treasuries
- family
- cash
- heat
- high
- talk
- Lots of talk
- most Discussed
- false
- first Line
- A T-bill ladder is a set of short-term U.S. Treasury bills with staggered maturity dates, so different portions come due at different times.
- why Line
- The practical questions are when each bill matures, where leftover cash goes on reinvestment and what happens when the money is needed before the next maturity.
- feel Words
- t-bill
- treasury ladder
- treasurydirect
- short treasuries
- common Picture
- lead
- Available bill terms run from 4 to 52 weeks
- why
- The standard terms listed here are 4, 6, 8, 13, 17, 26 and 52 weeks. [community]
- lead
- TreasuryDirect minimum: $100
- why
- Purchases use $100 increments; brokerage minimums can differ. [community]
- lead
- Early sale and maturity are different
- why
- A bill pays face value at maturity; an earlier sale has a market price and separate access steps. [community]
- watch For
- Locking rent money in a 1-year bill they will sell at a bad time. Treating it as a high-yield miracle. State-tax talk they did not check.
- what People Say
- The job: park cash in short Treasuries with a calendar, not a vibe. [community]
- 2023–24 rate spike made T-bills a personal-finance celebrity next to HYSA. 2026 rooms still compare the two. [community]
- r/Bogleheads, r/bonds, r/personalfinance: auction dates, TreasuryDirect vs Fidelity/Vanguard. [community]
- Why people like it: “it’s the government.” State-tax exemption talk (interest on Treasuries) is half the pitch — they still verify their state. [community]
- Why some savers keep a bank savings account: they prefer the familiar deposit-insurance and transfer arrangement to managing Treasury purchases and maturity dates. [community]
- I-bonds are a different card (annual purchase cap, 12-month lock). [community]
- Holding to maturity and selling early are different. A bill pays face value at maturity; an earlier sale has a market price and may involve a different access process. A short term does not make the sale price guaranteed. [community]
- Three cash comparisons: a money-market fund, Treasury bills and a high-yield savings account differ in protections, purchase mechanics and access. A ladder specifically spreads bill maturity dates. [community]
- Immediately needed cash and ladder cash are different. A maturity or auction follows a published schedule; the relevant date is when proceeds can actually pay the bill. [community]
- Auction homework is how this dies for busy people. Auto-roll in a brokerage is how it lives. [community]
- Yields change. The 5% screenshot is not a personality. [community]
- how People Run It
- Keep true emergency cash in HYSA / checking. [community]
- Pick a rung they understand (many start with 4- or 8-week). [community]
- Buy on a schedule so a bill matures regularly. [community]
- Turn on roll if they still want the cash parked. [community]
- They use a brokerage if TreasuryDirect’s UI made them want to lie down. [community]
- They do not buy a 52-week bill with next month’s rent. [community]
- They compare after-tax to HYSA once, not daily. [community]
- amounts People Use
- Rungs: often 4-week to 26-week for cash they might need this year. [community]
- Minimums: Treasury auctions have a $100 story; brokerages vary. [community]
- Ladder: e.g. a new bill every 4 weeks. [community]
- Split: some keep half HYSA, half bills. [community]
- Do not borrow the I-bond annual cap: Treasury bills and I-bonds have different purchase rules. Bill minimums and increments depend on the purchase channel. [community]
- how People Keep It
- Auto-roll so they do not miss an auction on vacation. [community]
- A note of maturity dates. [community]
- HYSA still open. [community]
- They stop checking daily yield TikToks. [community]
- Tax form at year-end (1099-INT) is expected. [community]
- how It Feels
- First TreasuryDirect login: government-website feelings. [community]
- First maturity: money appears, they feel clever. [community]
- Rate cut year: they compare HYSA and feel less clever. Still a cash tool. [community]
- If they needed the money Tuesday and the bill matures Thursday: they should have kept more HYSA. [community]
- Auction FOMO is a hobby. Cash is a tool. [community]
- Needing an early sale: a reminder that the maturity calendar and the spending deadline are different. The price and process depend on the security and where it is held. [community]
- how Long People Run It
- As long as they have extra cash and the process is not a second job. [community]
- They collapse it to HYSA if life gets busy. [community]
- Not a 30-year identity. [community]
- Rates change; the ladder can stay or go. [community]
- deep Dive
- Savings-account comparison: a high-yield savings account avoids a maturity ladder and auction schedule. Bill buyers compare the extra yield, after taxes where relevant, with the additional administration and access steps. [community]
- I-bonds are a different Treasury product: their inflation-linked rate, annual purchase rules and first-year lock differ from a bill that matures on a stated date. [community]
- Keep the spending deadline separate from the maturity date: a starter reserve needs a route to paying an unexpected bill. A ladder can leave some money waiting for maturity or an early-sale process. [community]
- A ladder is not a three-fund portfolio: the latter usually combines U.S. stocks, international stocks and bonds for investing. A bill ladder organizes short-term cash maturities; the purpose and risk are different. [community]
- Not financial advice. Auction rules and taxes move. [community]
- watch For Long
- Rent money in a 52-week bill. [community]
- Ignoring state-tax reality for their state. [community]
- TreasuryDirect lockout with a password they forgot. [community]
- Chasing last month’s 5% screenshot. [community]
- This is not a stock-market return and not a promise. [community]
- related
- hysa
- i-bonds
- starter-emergency-fund
- full-emergency-fund
- three-fund
- research Pointer
- house Pointers
- play Pointer
- —
- sources
- r/Bogleheads T-bill threads
- r/personalfinance HYSA vs T-bill 2023–26
- TreasuryDirect user complaints/how-tos
- disclaimer
- Community talk may be wrong. Not financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. No return or outcome is promised.
- quick Answer History
- field
- commonPicture
- rows
- lead
- 4-week / 8-week / 13-week / 26-week / 52-week
- why
- The menu people name. [community]
- field
- communityPicture
- rows
- People discuss auction and maturity calendars, reinvestment, access before maturity and the administrative tradeoff against a savings account.
- field
- whatPeopleSay
- rows
- Why HYSA people stay: one click, FDIC story, no auction homework. [community]
- Not a bond-fund duration lesson. T-bills are short. Selling a 26-week early is usually a small price story, not a 2022 long-bond trauma. [community]
- MMF vs T-bill vs HYSA is the actual triangle. This card owns the bill ladder. [community]
- They still need an emergency HYSA for the money that cannot wait for Saturday’s auction. [community]
- field
- howItFeels
- rows
- Selling early: a small lesson, usually not a disaster on a short bill. [community]
- field
- firstLine
- rows
- A T-bill ladder is short US Treasuries bought on a schedule so cash keeps coming due — the HYSA alternative people argued in 2023–26.
- field
- whyLine
- rows
- A T-bill ladder is short US Treasuries bought on a schedule so cash keeps coming due — the HYSA alternative people argued in 2023–26.
- field
- commonPicture
- rows
- lead
- Available terms: 4, 6, 8, 13, 17, 26 or 52 weeks
- why
- The ladder staggers purchases so bills mature at different times. [community]
- lead
- Staggered maturity
- why
- Something comes due often. [community]
- lead
- Brokerage or TreasuryDirect
- why
- Two doors. [community]
- lead
- Roll or spend
- why
- At maturity they choose. [community]
- lead
- Still cash-like
- why
- Not a stock bet. [community]
- lead
- TreasuryDirect purchase minimum: $100
- why
- Purchases use $100 increments; brokerage order minimums can differ. [community]
- field
- amountsPeopleUse
- rows
- I-bond cap is a different annual number — not this card. [community]
- field
- deepDive
- rows
- HYSA is the sibling. Start there if they need one click. [community]
- I-bonds are inflation-linked and locked longer. Different card. [community]
- Starter emergency fund is still checking/HYSA first. [community]
- Three-fund is stocks/bonds/cash at portfolio scale, not a T-bill hobby. [community]
Read the preserved reader notes
- definition
- A T-bill ladder is a set of short-term U.S. Treasury bills with staggered maturity dates, so different portions come due at different times.
- community Picture
- The practical questions are when each bill matures, where leftover cash goes on reinvestment and what happens when the money is needed before the next maturity.
- additions
- text
- In a Bogleheads ladder discussion, the question was what happens to the difference when a maturing bill pays its face value and the next bill costs less. Replies described residual cash returning to a linked or brokerage cash account rather than silently becoming a larger bill. The platform details and rates in that older thread are historical; the useful distinction is principal being rolled, interest or discount cash being left over, and the separate instruction to reinvest it.
- sources
- guide
- what
- The date that matters is the maturity date of each bill. TreasuryDirect sells bills for 4, 6, 8, 13, 17, 26, and 52 weeks. A ladder is several bills with those dates staggered, so one comes due while others are still outstanding. It is not a savings account. It is also not an I bond, which is a savings bond with a 12-month minimum holding period and a calendar-year purchase cap.
- A bill is usually bought at a discount, or sometimes at par. TreasuryDirect says the holder is paid face value at maturity, and that the interest is the difference between the price and that face value. The in-depth page's example is a $1,000 bill priced at 99.986111 per $100, which costs $999.86. Interest at maturity is face value minus that price. An auction can also clear at par, which means no discount. A sale before maturity is a market sale through a bank, broker, or dealer, not the maturity payment.
- The bill is not an FDIC-insured deposit. The FDIC page last updated May 12, 2026 lists Treasury bills among products that are not FDIC-insured and notes that they are backed by the full faith and credit of the U.S. government. TreasuryDirect's bill page says federal tax is due on the interest and that state and local income tax is not. IRS Topic 403 says the same for interest on Treasury bills, notes, and bonds.
- how
- Keep cash that might be needed before a maturity in a deposit account. For the rest, pick terms from the list and space the dates. One pattern is a new 4-week bill as each one matures. Another mixes terms that match real dates. Next month's rent does not go into a 52-week bill.
- Buy in TreasuryDirect or through a bank or broker, in $100 increments, with a $100 minimum. A noncompetitive bid, on the in-depth page, accepts the discount rate set at the auction and receives the full amount requested. A competitive bid names a rate, can be cut or rejected, and has to go through a bank or broker. The noncompetitive maximum in one auction on that page is $10 million. A household ladder uses the noncompetitive path unless the buyer is deliberately naming a yield.
- Reinvestment in TreasuryDirect uses the maturing bill to buy another bill of the same term. A 4-week bill can roll only into a 4-week bill. The reinvestment page allows repeated bill reinvestments for up to two years: 25 for a 4-week bill, and one for a 52-week bill. Schedule it at purchase or at least four business days before maturity. If the new bill costs more than the proceeds, the difference has to be available or TreasuryDirect cancels the reinvestment and pays the proceeds out. With no reinvestment, the principal goes to the designated bank account on the maturity date.
- A normal pass is the auction date, the confirmation, and the maturity written down. To sell early, a bill at a broker goes through that broker. A bill in TreasuryDirect must be transferred to a bank, broker, or dealer, and it must be held 45 days before a sale or transfer. The selling page says a 4-week bill in TreasuryDirect cannot be sold that way because it matures sooner than 45 days. The state return still has to show where Treasury interest is subtracted. Topic 403 does not fill in the state form.
- understand
- The ladder keeps several maturity dates instead of one. The discount is the interest if the bill is held to maturity. It is not a bank APY, and the next auction sets a new price. Nothing on the Treasury pages promises that the discount will exceed a savings yield after the recordkeeping. The purchase confirmation is the record of price, face amount, and maturity date.
- The tax point is narrower than a claim that Treasuries are tax-free. Topic 403 and the TreasuryDirect bill page exempt the interest from state and local income taxes and keep it subject to federal income tax. They do not, on the pages read here, describe the state result of a sale before maturity. The broker statement, Form 1099, and the state instructions are that check. Topic 403 also says original-issue discount may have to be included as interest, with the detail in Publication 550 and Publication 1212.
- The wrong tool is a long bill for cash with a nearer date, and a TreasuryDirect 4-week bill for cash that might have to be sold rather than held. The 45-day hold and the same-term reinvestment rule are the steps people miss. I bonds are the other mix-up: TreasuryDirect's savings-bond pages set a $10,000 electronic calendar-year cap and a 12-month lock, and a bill does not use that cap. The community notes are where people compare the bill calendar with a savings account.
- sources
- money-guide-treasurydirect-bills — Treasury Bills
- money-guide-treasurydirect-bill-bids — Treasury Bills In Depth
- money-guide-treasurydirect-reinvest-sell — Reinvesting and selling a Treasury marketable security
- money-guide-irs-topic-403-interest — Topic no. 403, Interest received
- money-guide-fdic-uninsured-hysa — Financial Products That Are Not Insured by the FDIC
- money-guide-treasurydirect-sell-bills — Selling a Treasury Marketable Security
- summary Sources
- note References
- field
- whatPeopleSay
- index
- 8
- text
- Immediately needed cash and ladder cash are different. A maturity or auction follows a published schedule; the relevant date is when proceeds can actually pay the bill. [community]
- sources
- field
- whatPeopleSay
- index
- 6
- text
- Holding to maturity and selling early are different. A bill pays face value at maturity; an earlier sale has a market price and may involve a different access process. A short term does not make the sale price guaranteed. [community]
- sources
- field
- howItFeels
- index
- 5
- text
- Needing an early sale: a reminder that the maturity calendar and the spending deadline are different. The price and process depend on the security and where it is held. [community]
- sources
- field
- amountsPeopleUse
- index
- 4
- text
- Do not borrow the I-bond annual cap: Treasury bills and I-bonds have different purchase rules. Bill minimums and increments depend on the purchase channel. [community]
- sources
- field
- deepDive
- index
- 2
- text
- Keep the spending deadline separate from the maturity date: a starter reserve needs a route to paying an unexpected bill. A ladder can leave some money waiting for maturity or an early-sale process. [community]
- sources
End of T-bill ladder
