Non-peptide
9-Me-BC
Also known as
9-methyl-β-carboline · 9-methyl-beta-carboline · 9-MBC · 9MeBC · 9-methyl-β-carboline
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not medical advice. Not a protocol. Not for human or animal use.
What it is
| Experimental nootropic | 9-methyl-beta-carboline is a small chemical people discuss for motivation and renewed enjoyment after stimulant use. |
|---|---|
| Forms | Reports describe swallowed powder or capsules and products held under the tongue, sometimes in oil. Their labeled amounts cannot be assumed to deliver equivalent exposure. |
Notes
9-Me-BC is an experimental nootropic discussed for motivation and relief from anhedonia, meaning reduced pleasure or interest. Reports range from renewed enjoyment to no improvement, insomnia or worse mood. These experiences do not establish dopamine repair in people.
A small chemical, not a peptide. The name means 9-methyl-beta-carboline. Community use involves swallowed powder or capsules and sublingual products held under the tongue, sometimes in oil. Those forms cannot be assumed to deliver equivalent amounts. 9-Me-BC - 18 days sublingual trial report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
The appeal is getting interest back. People seek easier task initiation, enjoyment of music, exercise and social contact, particularly after stimulant use. Calling this a dopamine reset is a community explanation; a change in mood cannot show that neurons or receptors were repaired. 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — 9-Me-BC - 18 days sublingual trial report: Uncontrolled account after substantial recreational stimulant history. Per-dose versus daily frequency unstated. Explanations about route absorption, laboratory comparisons and GABA mechanisms are speculation, not verified findings.
Source context — 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report: One adverse account with later improvement, no clinical diagnosis or verified attribution. 9-Me-BC amount and route not stated; Noopept co-use prevents clean attribution. Commenter mechanism guesses are not accepted.
What people notice
| Motivation and enjoyment | Some describe easier work, social contact, music or exercise. One reviewer felt more motivated without clearer thinking. |
|---|---|
| No change or a fading lift | One oral user noticed no benefit after more than three weeks. Another account returned to baseline motivation around day 8–9 despite continuing use. |
| An early lift can turn unpleasant | Reports also describe feeling wired, insomnia, anxiety and worse mood; one favorable first week was followed by fear, voices and detachment. |
Notes
More drive without clearer thinking. BubbleBuddy32 described greater work motivation and easier social interaction, but no clear cognitive improvement. Wanting to do more and remembering more are separate outcomes. 9-Me-Bc Review (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Pleasure can return briefly. AverageTacoEnjoyer reported better music, exercise and studying in the first week. Their later account turned adverse; the favorable opening alone would misrepresent the experience. 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
No benefit is also reported. An oral user saw no change in anhedonia or cognition after more than three weeks. NAC and astaxanthin were also used; neither that stack nor the result proves why it failed. 9-me-bc: oral nonresponse report (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
A striking first day can fade during the course. The Biohackers author reported insomnia by day 3, renewed enjoyment by day 6, then return to baseline motivation around day 8–9 while continuing through day 20. Those updates are one person's changing experience. Day 1 9-me-bc (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
9-Me-BC is an experimental nootropic discussed for motivation and relief from anhedonia, meaning reduced pleasure or interest. Reports range from renewed enjoyment to no improvement, insomnia or worse mood. These experiences do not establish dopamine repair in people.
Adverse mood and perception reports can outlast use. AverageTacoEnjoyer described fear, voices, nightmares and detachment after a favorable week, alongside Noopept use. Symptoms continued after stopping, eased, then reportedly subsided in a later reply. Another user linked a one-week course to six months of depression; causation remains unverified. 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · 9-ME-BC Experiences? Negative Experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — 9-Me-Bc Review: Uncontrolled self-report; garlic and black seed oil co-use. Seller names and seller reply occur in the thread and are not used as evidence of purity. MAO assertions are interpretations, not human measurements.
Source context — 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report: One adverse account with later improvement, no clinical diagnosis or verified attribution. 9-Me-BC amount and route not stated; Noopept co-use prevents clean attribution. Commenter mechanism guesses are not accepted.
Source context — 9-me-bc: oral nonresponse report: Self-report, identity unverified and co-use present. NAC/astaxanthin were used with protective intent, not demonstrated protection. Source and route guesses do not invalidate nonresponse or prove oral ineffectiveness.
Source context — Day 1 9-me-bc: One OP timeline, not independent corroboration across updates. Products, diagnoses and outcomes unverified; no clearance measurement. Replies disagree about risks. Publication day found in search result; rendered page gives relative age.
Source context — 9-ME-BC Experiences? Negative Experiences?: Selected visible accounts, no prevalence denominator; symptoms and causation unverified. Some replies are collapsed and not inspected. Do not infer permanent photosensitivity from unanswered questions or claim a resolution absent from visible replies.
Doses people talk about
| Oral reports | One oral account used 15 mg/day; another reports 15–30 mg on most mornings, with breaks. Above 30 mg increased anxiety and irritability for that reviewer. |
|---|---|
| Under-the-tongue reports | One account describes about 25 mg/day. A separate 18-day nonresponse account went from 10–30 mg to 45–75 mg, without stating whether these were daily totals or individual amounts. |
| Other reported amounts | A reply describes less than 2 mg with route unstated. Older notes retain about 500 mg over an entire run; that is a course total, not one dose. |
Notes
Oral reports: 15 mg/day; 15–30 mg on most mornings. The first amount appears in the oral nonresponse account. BubbleBuddy32 reported the second over four months, with breaks; amounts above 30 mg increased anxiety and irritability for them. 9-me-bc: oral nonresponse report (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · 9-Me-Bc Review (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Sublingual reports vary widely. Neuralis described about 25 mg/day under the tongue. A separate 18-day account used 10–30 mg initially, then 45–75 mg, without benefit; daily totals versus individual administrations were not specified there. 9-me-BC Regeneration of dopaminergic neurons? — neuralis account (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · 9-Me-BC - 18 days sublingual trial report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Small amounts and course totals are different numbers. A reply reported less than 2 mg with route unstated. Older notes retain 20–30 mg, sometimes sublingual in MCT oil, and roughly 500 mg over an entire run. The latter is a course total, not a dose or target. 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — 9-me-bc: oral nonresponse report: Self-report, identity unverified and co-use present. NAC/astaxanthin were used with protective intent, not demonstrated protection. Source and route guesses do not invalidate nonresponse or prove oral ineffectiveness.
Source context — 9-Me-Bc Review: Uncontrolled self-report; garlic and black seed oil co-use. Seller names and seller reply occur in the thread and are not used as evidence of purity. MAO assertions are interpretations, not human measurements.
Source context — 9-me-BC Regeneration of dopaminergic neurons? — neuralis account: One author across four posts, not four reports. Concurrent sobriety and deliberate lifestyle changes confound persistence. Not complete relief of anhedonia. Commercial source mention omitted; no human measurement.
Source context — 9-Me-BC - 18 days sublingual trial report: Uncontrolled account after substantial recreational stimulant history. Per-dose versus daily frequency unstated. Explanations about route absorption, laboratory comparisons and GABA mechanisms are speculation, not verified findings.
Source context — 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research: Multiple concurrent substances: bromantane, caffeine/energy drinks, cannabis, NAC, phenibut, Noopept, 7,8-DHF and triacetyluridine. Route incomplete. Later author claims change; none establishes safety or a dose-response curve.
Half-life, onset & duration
| Felt onset | One 15 mg oral account described exercise motivation about three hours later. |
|---|---|
| Felt duration | One reply describes all-day energy; another describes fading later that day while also redosing and using other substances. No dependable single-dose duration emerges. |
| Half-life | The records establish no usable human oral value. The circulated 3.4-hour figure measures guinea-pig inner-ear fluid after local delivery. |
Notes
One first-day account: activity by about 3 hours. The Biohackers author swallowed 15 mg at 11 a.m. and described unusual exercise motivation around 2 p.m. This is when they reported doing something, not a measured onset time. Day 1 9-me-bc (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
An early feeling is not universal. The sublingual nonresponder recalled one possibly positive early day but later considered it placebo. The oral nonresponder noticed no benefit over weeks. No dependable minutes-to-onset range emerges. 9-Me-BC - 18 days sublingual trial report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · 9-me-bc: oral nonresponse report (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
All-day energy is one reply's description. That contributor also felt wired and off with daily use. Volcanyx described a 5 mg morning amount fading later that day, but redosing and other substances prevent a clean duration estimate. 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
No usable human oral half-life is established here. Claims of a long, accumulating effect do not supply measured clearance. Lingering benefit and insomnia are experiences, not measurements of how quickly half the compound leaves the body. Day 1 9-me-bc (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
The 3.4-hour figure belongs to guinea-pig inner-ear fluid. Patent WO2015044434A2 reports local middle-ear hydrogel delivery. It is not human oral blood half-life. Its human 68-minute reference concerns Harman, a different compound; the fluorinated analogues are also distinct. WO2015044434A2: Fluor-9-methyl-beta-carbolines (Animal context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Day 1 9-me-bc: One OP timeline, not independent corroboration across updates. Products, diagnoses and outcomes unverified; no clearance measurement. Replies disagree about risks. Publication day found in search result; rendered page gives relative age.
Source context — 9-Me-BC - 18 days sublingual trial report: Uncontrolled account after substantial recreational stimulant history. Per-dose versus daily frequency unstated. Explanations about route absorption, laboratory comparisons and GABA mechanisms are speculation, not verified findings.
Source context — 9-me-bc: oral nonresponse report: Self-report, identity unverified and co-use present. NAC/astaxanthin were used with protective intent, not demonstrated protection. Source and route guesses do not invalidate nonresponse or prove oral ineffectiveness.
Source context — 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research: Multiple concurrent substances: bromantane, caffeine/energy drinks, cannabis, NAC, phenibut, Noopept, 7,8-DHF and triacetyluridine. Route incomplete. Later author claims change; none establishes safety or a dose-response curve.
Source context — WO2015044434A2: Fluor-9-methyl-beta-carbolines: Patent data, local animal delivery, not human oral kinetics. English and German text are one source family. Synthesis and formulation recipes excluded.
Cycles people discuss
| Short-course talk | Two weeks on/two off is a discussed pattern; one author finished 20 days and planned winter reuse because of sun concerns. Neither establishes a safe calendar. |
|---|---|
| Longer and intermittent use | One reviewer describes four months on most days with weeks off. A low-amount user avoided daily use because it felt wrong. |
Notes
Two weeks on, two off is discussed, not validated. The Biohackers author proposed that pattern but ultimately reported finishing 20 days. They planned winter reuse because of sun concerns; seasonal use does not establish protection. Day 1 9-me-bc (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Longer use and intermittent use also appear. One review describes four months on most days, interrupted by weeks off. The less-than-2-mg reply avoided daily use because it felt wrong. There is no tested repeat calendar or long-term safety assurance. 9-Me-Bc Review (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Day 1 9-me-bc: One OP timeline, not independent corroboration across updates. Products, diagnoses and outcomes unverified; no clearance measurement. Replies disagree about risks. Publication day found in search result; rendered page gives relative age.
Source context — 9-Me-Bc Review: Uncontrolled self-report; garlic and black seed oil co-use. Seller names and seller reply occur in the thread and are not used as evidence of purity. MAO assertions are interpretations, not human measurements.
Source context — 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research: Multiple concurrent substances: bromantane, caffeine/energy drinks, cannabis, NAC, phenibut, Noopept, 7,8-DHF and triacetyluridine. Route incomplete. Later author claims change; none establishes safety or a dose-response curve.
Stacks
| Bromantane and other co-use | Bromantane pairings appear in restoration discussions. Logs also include caffeine, cannabis, NAC and phenibut, so they cannot show which compound caused each change. |
|---|---|
| Solo-use discussion | Some favor fewer simultaneous compounds to make reactions easier to identify. Older comments caution about MAOIs and heavy stimulants. |
Notes
With bromantane: Some reports combine them while seeking restored motivation. Concurrent use prevents clean attribution of benefits and adverse effects. [community]
Stacks obscure effects and interactions. Bromantane, caffeine, cannabis, NAC and phenibut co-occur. Older cautions flag MAOIs and heavy stimulants; MAO means enzymes that break down signaling chemicals. Enjoyment cannot establish interaction safety. 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Solo-use discussion: Some posts favor fewer simultaneous compounds so effects and adverse reactions are easier to attribute. [community]
Interaction cautions: Older comments warn against MAOIs and heavy stimulants; the available accounts do not establish combination safety. [community]
Source context — 9 Methyl Beta Carboline research: Multiple concurrent substances: bromantane, caffeine/energy drinks, cannabis, NAC, phenibut, Noopept, 7,8-DHF and triacetyluridine. Route incomplete. Later author claims change; none establishes safety or a dose-response curve.
Watch for
| Sun and light sensitivity | Users describe worsened light sensitivity or burning in sunlight. Laboratory UVA findings do not establish a human safe-after interval or sunscreen protection. |
|---|---|
| Mood and perception | Severe mood and perception symptoms have been reported, sometimes continuing after stopping. Co-use and unverified products leave the cause uncertain. |
| Product identity | Color, taste and seller descriptions cannot verify the powder's identity or purity; long-term use remains uncertain. |
Notes
Sun and light sensitivity are substantive concerns. One contributor described worsened pre-existing light sensitivity; another reported skin burning in sunlight. Laboratory UVA experiments found DNA damage with 9-methyl-beta-carbolines, including 9-methyl-norharmane. They do not establish human skin or eye risk, sunscreen protection or a safe-after interval. 9-ME-BC Experiences? Negative Experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · Vignoni et al.: Mechanisms of DNA damage by photoexcited 9-methyl-beta-carbolines (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Adverse mood and perception reports can outlast use. AverageTacoEnjoyer described fear, voices, nightmares and detachment after a favorable week, alongside Noopept use. Symptoms continued after stopping, eased, then reportedly subsided in a later reply. Another user linked a one-week course to six months of depression; causation remains unverified. 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · 9-ME-BC Experiences? Negative Experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Identity and long-term use remain uncertain. Powder color, taste and a seller's description cannot establish identity or purity. Older notes favor dry, dark storage but do not establish shelf life. Debate about potentially harmful related beta-carbolines cannot prove this compound harmless or predict individual harm.
Source context — 9-ME-BC Experiences? Negative Experiences?: Selected visible accounts, no prevalence denominator; symptoms and causation unverified. Some replies are collapsed and not inspected. Do not infer permanent photosensitivity from unanswered questions or claim a resolution absent from visible replies.
Source context — Vignoni et al.: Mechanisms of DNA damage by photoexcited 9-methyl-beta-carbolines: Abstract only, not full paper or human skin/eye research. PubMed and publisher direct text unavailable in this run. No human safe-after interval, pregnancy data or protective regimen follows.
Source context — 9 me bc - 14 day Experience Report: One adverse account with later improvement, no clinical diagnosis or verified attribution. 9-Me-BC amount and route not stated; Noopept co-use prevents clean attribution. Commenter mechanism guesses are not accepted.
Full notes
9-Me-BC is an experimental nootropic discussed for motivation and relief from anhedonia, meaning reduced pleasure or interest. Reports range from renewed enjoyment to no improvement, insomnia or worse mood. These experiences do not establish dopamine repair in people.
What 9-Me-BC actually is
- A small chemical, not a peptide. The name means 9-methyl-beta-carboline. Community use involves swallowed powder or capsules and sublingual products held under the tongue, sometimes in oil. Those forms cannot be assumed to deliver equivalent amounts. Community Personal report
- The appeal is getting interest back. People seek easier task initiation, enjoyment of music, exercise and social contact, particularly after stimulant use. Calling this a dopamine reset is a community explanation; a change in mood cannot show that neurons or receptors were repaired. Personal report Community
- Comparisons describe a feeling. Older discussion groups it with Bromantane for smoother drive and compares motivation with Adderall. These are different compounds; the comparisons do not establish an ADHD treatment or make their milligram amounts interchangeable. Community
Benefits and feelings people describe
- More drive without clearer thinking. BubbleBuddy32 described greater work motivation and easier social interaction, but no clear cognitive improvement. Wanting to do more and remembering more are separate outcomes. Reddit r/Nootropics
- Pleasure can return briefly. AverageTacoEnjoyer reported better music, exercise and studying in the first week. Their later account turned adverse; the favorable opening alone would misrepresent the experience. Personal report
- No benefit is also reported. An oral user saw no change in anhedonia or cognition after more than three weeks. NAC and astaxanthin were also used; neither that stack nor the result proves why it failed. Reddit r/anhedonia
Doses people discuss
- Oral reports: 15 mg/day; 15–30 mg on most mornings. The first amount appears in the oral nonresponse account. BubbleBuddy32 reported the second over four months, with breaks; amounts above 30 mg increased anxiety and irritability for them. Reddit r/anhedonia Reddit r/Nootropics
- Sublingual reports vary widely. Neuralis described about 25 mg/day under the tongue. A separate 18-day account used 10–30 mg initially, then 45–75 mg, without benefit; daily totals versus individual administrations were not specified there. Personal report Personal report
- Small amounts and course totals are different numbers. A reply reported less than 2 mg with route unstated. Older notes retain 20–30 mg, sometimes sublingual in MCT oil, and roughly 500 mg over an entire run. The latter is a course total, not a dose or target. Reddit r/Nootropics Community
Half-life in community discussion
- No usable human oral half-life is established here. Claims of a long, accumulating effect do not supply measured clearance. Lingering benefit and insomnia are experiences, not measurements of how quickly half the compound leaves the body. Reddit r/Biohackers
When people notice something
- One first-day account: activity by about 3 hours. The Biohackers author swallowed 15 mg at 11 a.m. and described unusual exercise motivation around 2 p.m. This is when they reported doing something, not a measured onset time. Reddit r/Biohackers
- An early feeling is not universal. The sublingual nonresponder recalled one possibly positive early day but later considered it placebo. The oral nonresponder noticed no benefit over weeks. No dependable minutes-to-onset range emerges. Personal report Reddit r/anhedonia
How long effects feel noticeable
- All-day energy is one reply's description. That contributor also felt wired and off with daily use. Volcanyx described a 5 mg morning amount fading later that day, but redosing and other substances prevent a clean duration estimate. Reddit r/Nootropics
- After stopping, accounts disagree. BubbleBuddy32 estimated fading over about a week. Neuralis described habits persisting 2.5 months later, with deliberate behavioral changes and continuing anhedonia. Neither establishes permanent repair or single-dose duration. Reddit r/Nootropics Personal report
Courses and breaks people describe
- Two weeks on, two off is discussed, not validated. The Biohackers author proposed that pattern but ultimately reported finishing 20 days. They planned winter reuse because of sun concerns; seasonal use does not establish protection. Reddit r/Biohackers
- Longer use and intermittent use also appear. One review describes four months on most days, interrupted by weeks off. The less-than-2-mg reply avoided daily use because it felt wrong. There is no tested repeat calendar or long-term safety assurance. Reddit r/Nootropics Reddit r/Nootropics
Cautions that matter
- Sun and light sensitivity are substantive concerns. One contributor described worsened pre-existing light sensitivity; another reported skin burning in sunlight. Laboratory UVA experiments found DNA damage with 9-methyl-beta-carbolines, including 9-methyl-norharmane. They do not establish human skin or eye risk, sunscreen protection or a safe-after interval. Reddit r/Nootropics Official context
- Adverse mood and perception reports can outlast use. AverageTacoEnjoyer described fear, voices, nightmares and detachment after a favorable week, alongside Noopept use. Symptoms continued after stopping, eased, then reportedly subsided in a later reply. Another user linked a one-week course to six months of depression; causation remains unverified. Personal report Reddit r/Nootropics
- Stacks obscure effects and interactions. Bromantane, caffeine, cannabis, NAC and phenibut co-occur. Older cautions flag MAOIs and heavy stimulants; MAO means enzymes that break down signaling chemicals. Enjoyment cannot establish interaction safety. Reddit r/Nootropics Community
- Identity and long-term use remain uncertain. Powder color, taste and a seller's description cannot establish identity or purity. Older notes favor dry, dark storage but do not establish shelf life. Debate about potentially harmful related beta-carbolines cannot prove this compound harmless or predict individual harm. Community
What the supporting research can explain
- Dopamine-restoration interest comes from laboratory work. Polanski and colleagues reported protective and growth-related changes in cultured dopamine-related neurons. This helps explain Parkinson-related discussion, but is not evidence that oral 9-Me-BC reverses stimulant-related anhedonia in humans. Animal context
- The 3.4-hour figure belongs to guinea-pig inner-ear fluid. Patent WO2015044434A2 reports local middle-ear hydrogel delivery. It is not human oral blood half-life. Its human 68-minute reference concerns Harman, a different compound; the fluorinated analogues are also distinct. Animal context
What complete community accounts reveal
- A striking first day can fade during the course. The Biohackers author reported insomnia by day 3, renewed enjoyment by day 6, then return to baseline motivation around day 8–9 while continuing through day 20. Those updates are one person's changing experience. Reddit r/Biohackers
- Route changes do not guarantee a response. The 18-day sublingual user lost taste and felt more anxious without relief. Taste returned around two days after stopping. Food had been one remaining source of pleasure, making that side effect especially unwelcome. Personal report
- More pleasure can come with volatility. Volcanyx found 15 mg too intense early on; later redosing also felt too heavy. A later comment reported up to 50 mg without noted problems. The changing account and extensive co-use make a universal sweet spot untenable. Reddit r/Nootropics
- Sexual effects and repeat courses differ. One reviewer reported a slight libido increase; another described reduced libido with longer use. A separate contributor noticed motivation years earlier but nothing on their latest course. Favorable reports do not predict the next person's or next course's outcome. Reddit r/Nootropics Reddit r/Nootropics
