Non-peptide
Mirabegron (YM-178)
Also known as
YM-178 · YM178 · YM 178 · Myrbetriq · Betmiga · Betanis
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not medical advice. Not a protocol. Not for human or animal use.
Mirabegron, also called YM-178, appears in fitness discussions as a possible way to increase energy expenditure through brown fat. People hoping for an easier cut describe uncertain results or no extra fat loss; some notice fewer nighttime bathroom trips. Its established clinical use is overactive bladder, and that benefit is separate from the metabolic claims.
What mirabegron is
- One compound, several names. YM-178 names mirabegron, a non-peptide drug that activates beta-3 signals, including relaxation of bladder muscle. Betmiga, Betanis and Myrbetriq are medicine names, not verification of a research supplier’s formulation. Official context Official context
- The appeal is burning more energy. Brown adipose tissue, or BAT, is fat tissue that produces heat. Fitness posts connect that biology with dieting, while prescribed users discuss urgency and frequent urination; improvement in one does not establish improvement in the other. www.anabolicsteroidforums.com Official context
Benefits people describe
- Sleep can improve when bathroom trips decrease. Ms Hazel describes relief after prescribed use. In a separate bladder thread, users describe more freedom during travel and social outings, alongside accounts of persistent symptoms. This is bladder-related relief, not a general sleep-drug effect. www.anabolicsteroidforums.com Personal report Personal report
- Gym and sexual effects are isolated reports. Chika4a described better erections and possibly better pumps, with sauna co-use, but could not establish brown-fat change. Another commenter using mirabegron during a minicut was unconvinced it added fat loss. Personal report
What people compare it with
- Clenbuterol is the direct cutting comparison. AlexDavis43 wanted fat burning without clen-like insomnia and reported no benefit. That comparison records an expectation; it does not make mirabegron an equivalent fat-loss drug or establish a gentler risk profile. Personal report
- GLP drugs and MOTS-c appear in the same conversation. The ASF thread asks about GLP comparisons; a Reddit reply proposes MOTS-c with cold exposure. Neither thread supplies a controlled comparison or evidence that combining these approaches adds benefit. www.anabolicsteroidforums.com Personal report
Doses people discuss
- 50–100 mg/day in one retrospective account. AlexDavis43 reports that daily amount for a couple of months, without perceived benefit. The post does not specify route or release formulation, so it cannot establish an oral extended-release dose band. Personal report
- 100 mg/day in a minicut report; 50–100 mg in another account. The first commenter was uncertain about extra fat loss. Chika4a’s separate two-month account does not specify frequency; those amounts must not be silently converted into a daily regimen. Personal report
- 25 mg and 50 mg also appear in bladder-treatment stories. The “working” thread contains these amounts with different outcomes. They describe clinical-use experiences, not a bodybuilding starting ladder; mg means milligrams, and the posters do not consistently identify formulation or dosing frequency. Personal report
Half-life
- No usable community half-life estimate established in these inspected accounts. These posts do not measure drug clearance. Courses and lingering symptoms cannot establish half-life; the adult label measurement appears separately below. Personal report Personal report Personal report
When people notice a change
- About three weeks in one bladder account, six weeks in another. bdmnonaroll describes improvement around three weeks with bladder training. rheetkd reports a six-week wait; these are separate histories, not an expected fat-loss onset window. Personal report
- Unwanted effects can be noticed earlier. The adverse thread’s author reports a fast pulse, dizziness and fatigue after two days. That timing concerns symptoms, not proof that brown fat has activated. Personal report
How long effects last
- No dependable single-dose fat-loss or energy window. The fitness accounts describe repeated use without a clear start-and-stop benefit. In a bladder account, relief faded during the last month of five months’ use; that does not establish receptor tolerance. Personal report Personal report
- Lingering adverse symptoms vary. Lilith-Blakstone reports resolution four to five days after stopping. Inner-Kiwi-3908 describes ten days of palpitations after stopping; this is the same person seen in both bladder threads, not two independent reports. Neither interval predicts anyone else’s recovery. Personal report Personal report
Courses and breaks
- A couple of months is a reported course, not a tested cycle. AlexDavis43’s account establishes no standard break, tolerance-reset schedule or safe metabolic-use duration. Personal report
- Continuous bladder treatment is a different context. The waning-benefit thread includes months or years of treatment and changing symptoms. Importing a clenbuterol-style on/off calendar would add a rule these accounts have not demonstrated. Personal report
What to watch for
- Heart symptoms and blood pressure matter. Community accounts include palpitations, dizziness and fatigue. The label warns about raised blood pressure and severe uncontrolled hypertension; the 2025 cool-room experiment also found cardiovascular changes. Personal report Official context Official context
- Less urgency is not always comfortable bladder emptying. One commenter describes retention and constipation. The label flags retention risk with bladder outlet obstruction or other bladder medicines. It also warns about potentially serious swelling of the face, tongue or airway. Personal report Official context
- Medicine interactions need separate attention. Mirabegron inhibits CYP2D6, an enzyme that clears some medicines, and can increase their exposure. Drug combinations discussed online do not establish compatibility. Official context
What the community accounts add
- The desired bladder benefit can also be absent. AlexDavis43 still woke to urinate despite hoping for fat loss without insomnia. The later clarification belongs to the same unsuccessful course. Personal report
- Helpful and intolerable can describe the same course. Inner-Kiwi-3908 reports fewer nighttime trips but troublesome palpitations. rheetkd describes later symptom return alongside caffeine, alcohol and stimulant use, leaving the cause unclear. Personal report
- A product-switch explanation remained unconfirmed. A reply blamed generics for returning symptoms, but the original author later said their medicine appeared to be Astellas. Another user described fluctuation with stress and weather. Those details prevent a simple claim that generic mirabegron stops working. Personal report
- Anecdotes cannot measure BAT by feel. Warmer skin, a better pump or better sleep does not establish how much brown fat changed. The fitness thread’s speculative mechanisms and firsthand sensations need to remain separate. Personal report Official context
What human research and the label establish
- BAT activation did not equal weight loss. O’Mara’s 2020 open-label study gave 14 women 100 mg oral extended-release mirabegron daily for four weeks. BAT activity and insulin sensitivity increased, but weight and body composition did not change; total chamber energy expenditure also did not increase. There was no placebo group. Official context
- A newer study measured short-term thermogenesis. A 2025 randomized crossover study in 11 healthy adults compared single oral 100, 150 and 200 mg doses with placebo during six hours at 20°C. Energy expenditure was higher with mirabegron, without significant differences between drug doses. Skin temperature was an indirect BAT measure; the experiment did not test sustained weight loss. Official context
- Later tissue work investigates mechanisms. Finlin’s 2025 paper analyzed biopsies from previously characterized participants and added cell experiments involving fibrosis and inflammatory signaling. It does not supply a new independent weight-loss trial. Official context
- The adult label gives about 50 hours for terminal elimination half-life. This is a pharmacokinetic measure, not hours of feeling an effect. Adult overactive-bladder labeling sets a maximum of 50 mg/day; higher forum and experimental amounts are not approved obesity dosing. The label concerns oral extended-release medicine, not unverified research formulations. Official context
