Non-peptide
PEA
Also known as
palmitoylethanolamide · palmitoyl ethanolamide · Levagen+ · PeaPure · micronized PEA · ultra-micronized PEA · um-PEA
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not medical advice. Not a protocol. Not for human or animal use.
What it is
| Palmitoylethanolamide | PEA here is an oral fat-derived signaling molecule discussed for persistent pain and mast-cell-related symptoms. It is distinct from phenylethylamine, which shares the abbreviation. |
|---|---|
| Form matters | Micronized, ultra-micronized and Levagen+ forms use different particle or dispersion approaches. Equal labeled milligrams do not establish equal effects. |
Notes
PEA here means palmitoylethanolamide, an oral lipid people discuss for persistent pain and mast-cell-related symptoms. Some describe quieter aches or less burning; others notice little or stop for unwanted effects. Timing and product differences make a single promised result misleading.
A lipid rather than a peptide. Palmitoylethanolamide is a fat-derived signaling molecule the body makes. Its inflammation-related signaling explains the pain interest without guaranteeing relief. Briskey, Mallard and Rao — Increased Absorption of Palmitoylethanolamide Using LipiSperse (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
The full name matters. Phenylethylamine is a different compound also abbreviated PEA. This card concerns oral palmitoylethanolamide capsules and powder, including micronized, ultra-micronized and Levagen+ forms. It is not CBD, THC or an injectable peptide.
Form is part of the comparison. Micronized and ultra-micronized refer to smaller particles; Levagen+ uses dispersion technology. Equal labeled milligrams do not establish equal effects. Briskey, Mallard and Rao — Increased Absorption of Palmitoylethanolamide Using LipiSperse (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Briskey, Mallard and Rao — Increased Absorption of Palmitoylethanolamide Using LipiSperse: One primary study shared with publisher HTML, not two sources. Pharmako/Gencor funding/product support. Measures absorption, not pain benefit or terminal half-life. Abstract/table peak timings differ; no universal peak imposed.
What people notice
| Quieter pain | An 800 mg/day reporter describes less burning in the feet after several weeks, while an abnormal walking sensation remained. Others describe little or uncertain benefit and no high. |
|---|---|
| Early benefit can change | One mast-cell-symptom account initially reports better sleep, less joint and nerve pain, and better sun tolerance, then later deterioration. Another person's initial improvement faded after months. |
Notes
Less burning or background pain. An 800 mg/day nerve-pain reporter described less burning in the feet after several weeks, while an abnormal walking sensation remained. Another participant reported uncertain benefit and no high. My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Sleep and sensitivity are separate outcomes. One MCAS reporter initially described better sleep, joint/nerve pain and sun tolerance, before later deterioration. Older discussions connect sleep with less pain and describe flushing/itch experiments; none establishes a general sleep or histamine treatment. What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide? (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Benefit can fade during continued use. A Phoenix Rising poster's initial improvement disappeared after several months of daily use. Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) Supplement Experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).: Different commenters' outcomes are kept separate. Annual normal blood tests and claims about long-term studies do not prove general safety. Product identity not independently verified.
Source context — What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide?: One condition-confounded account including later improvement after stopping. Withdrawal-like wording is the author's interpretation; no diagnosed syndrome, complete recovery or precise full-recovery timeline established. OP and replies are one account, not independent corroboration.
Source context — Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) Supplement Experiences?: Only these original forum statements used. MCAS-like symptoms were explicitly not formally diagnosed. Quoted/reposted stories and pediatric regimen omitted; no count of responders inferred.
Doses people talk about
| Distinct daily reports | Separate oral accounts use 600 mg/day of micronized PEA and 800 mg/day. A pelvic/back-pain account used 400 mg three times daily, totaling 1,200 mg/day, later twice daily, totaling 800 mg/day. |
|---|---|
| Repeated advice versus personal use | A reply circulates 400 mg three times or 600 mg twice daily, both 1,200 mg/day, without documenting its author's own use. Another 800 mg powder account omits frequency. |
Notes
Oral reports: 600, 800 and 1,200 mg total per day. One micronized-PEA account used 600 mg/day; the burning-feet account used 800 mg/day. The pelvic/back-pain reporter began with 400 mg three times daily (1,200 mg/day), later 400 mg twice daily (800 mg/day). These are separate experiences, not interchangeable targets. What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide? (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Amounts repeated in nootropic discussion. A reply circulates 400 mg three times or 600 mg twice daily, both totaling 1,200 mg/day. It does not document the reply author's own amount. An 800 mg powder report omits frequency, so it cannot establish a daily total. Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) — Side effects (severe stomach pain) (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide?: One condition-confounded account including later improvement after stopping. Withdrawal-like wording is the author's interpretation; no diagnosed syndrome, complete recovery or precise full-recovery timeline established. OP and replies are one account, not independent corroboration.
Source context — My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).: Different commenters' outcomes are kept separate. Annual normal blood tests and claims about long-term studies do not prove general safety. Product identity not independently verified.
Source context — Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide: Anonymous pelvic/back-pain report; later physical therapy confounds recovery. Contrary reply is opinion, not a documented nonresponse trial. Later pill strengths are unspecified.
Source context — Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support?: OP describes self and partner as one household account. Reply's amounts are circulated recommendations, not a verified personal regimen or clinical standard. Speculative deficiency explanation excluded.
Source context — Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) — Side effects (severe stomach pain): Unverified reactions do not establish cause, mechanism or frequency. These are different commenters; no rechallenge advice adopted.
Half-life, onset & duration
| Felt onset | One pelvic/back-pain account describes about a week; the burning-feet account describes several weeks. |
|---|---|
| Felt duration | One person reports immediate pain relief lasting 12–14 hours but cannot recall the amount. Other histories describe benefit fading during use or pain returning off it; no dependable single-dose window follows. |
| Half-life | Three hours is an unsupported forum assertion. The inspected four-hour absorption study ended before levels returned to baseline and did not measure elimination half-life. |
Notes
About a week or several weeks. The pelvic/back-pain account described about one week; the burning-feet account several weeks. An AnabolicMinds user noticed less aching at three weeks in a sponsored product thread. Others notice no benefit. Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · SNS PEA Relief — Palmitoylethanolamide 600 mg — Available Now! (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
One immediate response lasting 12–14 hours. The SIBO-thread commenter could not recall the amount. That experience does not establish a dependable single-dose window for other users. Cannot recommend Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) highly enough. (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Benefit can fade during continued use. A Phoenix Rising poster's initial improvement disappeared after several months of daily use. Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) Supplement Experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Stopping histories differ. A nootropics commenter said back pain returned off PEA. After five months at 600 mg/day, the MCAS reporter described three weeks of worsening off it. In replies, constipation and insomnia had eased; later, they felt stopping was beneficial. Full recovery timing and a withdrawal syndrome remain unestablished. Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide? (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Three hours is a forum assertion, not a verified human value. A SIBO poster uses that number to explain spacing, without showing a measurement. LongeCity replies instead argue about a short half-life versus nearly two days of perceived effects with palm oil. Feeling an effect cannot measure how fast blood levels fall by half. Cannot recommend Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) highly enough. (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · PEA (PalmitoylEthanolAmide) — discussion page 3 (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
More absorption is not twice the relief. A sponsored study compared single 300 mg doses in 28 adults: LipiSperse produced about 1.7-fold four-hour blood exposure. Sampling ended before baseline returned, without measuring half-life or pain relief. Briskey, Mallard and Rao — Increased Absorption of Palmitoylethanolamide Using LipiSperse (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide: Anonymous pelvic/back-pain report; later physical therapy confounds recovery. Contrary reply is opinion, not a documented nonresponse trial. Later pill strengths are unspecified.
Source context — My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).: Different commenters' outcomes are kept separate. Annual normal blood tests and claims about long-term studies do not prove general safety. Product identity not independently verified.
Source context — SNS PEA Relief — Palmitoylethanolamide 600 mg — Available Now!: Brand-sponsored thread with product promotion and possible selection bias; individual posts not proof of effectiveness. Sponsor's study percentages, purchase advice and endorsements excluded.
Source context — Cannot recommend Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) highly enough.: Gut, antimicrobial and biofilm claims are not established by this post. Colostrum/other co-use confounds attribution. Duration commenter is one account, not multiple replications. Food rule not adopted.
Source context — Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) Supplement Experiences?: Only these original forum statements used. MCAS-like symptoms were explicitly not formally diagnosed. Quoted/reposted stories and pediatric regimen omitted; no count of responders inferred.
Source context — Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support?: OP describes self and partner as one household account. Reply's amounts are circulated recommendations, not a verified personal regimen or clinical standard. Speculative deficiency explanation excluded.
Source context — What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide?: One condition-confounded account including later improvement after stopping. Withdrawal-like wording is the author's interpretation; no diagnosed syndrome, complete recovery or precise full-recovery timeline established. OP and replies are one account, not independent corroboration.
Source context — PEA (PalmitoylEthanolAmide) — discussion page 3: The two-day statement concerns perceived effects and cannot measure bodily half-life. Claims about enzyme inhibitors and liposomal protection are speculation and not adopted.
Source context — Briskey, Mallard and Rao — Increased Absorption of Palmitoylethanolamide Using LipiSperse: One primary study shared with publisher HTML, not two sources. Pharmako/Gencor funding/product support. Measures absorption, not pain benefit or terminal half-life. Abstract/table peak timings differ; no universal peak imposed.
Cycles people discuss
| Weeks or continued use | The older record describes 4–8-week attempts and continued daily use when benefit is perceived. The inspected accounts establish no shared break calendar. |
|---|---|
| Intermittent follow-up | After physical therapy, the pelvic/back-pain reporter describes occasional 1–2 pills daily for about a week, without specifying pill strength. |
Notes
Weeks-long trials or continued daily use. The original community record describes 4–8-week attempts and open-ended use when people perceive benefit. There is no established shared break calendar in the inspected accounts; months of use do not prove long-term safety. My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Intermittent use is another reported pattern. After physical therapy, the same pelvic/back-pain reporter described occasional 1–2 pills daily for roughly a week. Strength was not specified in that update. This is a personal follow-up, not a repeat-course recommendation. Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — My experience with Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).: Different commenters' outcomes are kept separate. Annual normal blood tests and claims about long-term studies do not prove general safety. Product identity not independently verified.
Source context — Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide: Anonymous pelvic/back-pain report; later physical therapy confounds recovery. Contrary reply is opinion, not a documented nonresponse trial. Later pill strengths are unspecified.
Stacks
| Flavonoids and pain combinations | PEA/luteolin blends appear in mast-cell threads. Older notes also name quercetin, CBD, magnesium and BPC-157 combinations, without establishing a useful ratio or added benefit. |
|---|---|
| Other treatment changes | Physical therapy followed the pelvic/back-pain report. A separate powder account included other changes and later amitriptyline, so neither isolates PEA's contribution. |
Notes
Stacks bring competing explanations. PEA/luteolin blends appear in mast-cell threads. The older record also mentions quercetin, CBD, magnesium and BPC-157 combinations. Each added ingredient complicates attribution; those discussions do not establish a useful ratio or a combined benefit. Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) Supplement Experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Attribution is often the difficult part. The pelvic/back-pain reporter later added physical therapy. An 800 mg powder user had no stomach pain but uncertain benefit, with simultaneous changes and later amitriptyline. Feeling better does not isolate PEA's contribution. Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30) · Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) — Side effects (severe stomach pain) (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) Supplement Experiences?: Only these original forum statements used. MCAS-like symptoms were explicitly not formally diagnosed. Quoted/reposted stories and pediatric regimen omitted; no count of responders inferred.
Source context — Natural Painkiller: PEA Palmitoylethanolamide: Anonymous pelvic/back-pain report; later physical therapy confounds recovery. Contrary reply is opinion, not a documented nonresponse trial. Later pill strengths are unspecified.
Source context — Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) — Side effects (severe stomach pain): Unverified reactions do not establish cause, mechanism or frequency. These are different commenters; no rechallenge advice adopted.
Watch for
| Substantial stomach symptoms | One 400 mg account describes severe stomach pain, nausea, migraine and diarrhoea, with persistent pain at one week and medical follow-up. Another describes symptoms returning after restart. |
|---|---|
| Unwanted feelings | Accounts describe twitchy or washed-out feelings; the longer MCAS account adds fatigue, headache, balance trouble, insomnia, constipation and memory problems. |
| After stopping and safety limits | The MCAS reporter described three weeks of worsening off PEA, then later felt stopping was beneficial. A withdrawal syndrome and full recovery timing are unestablished; pregnancy and long-term safety also remain unresolved. |
Notes
Stomach symptoms can be substantial. One person reported severe stomach pain, nausea, migraine and diarrhea after 400 mg with lunch, persistent pain at one week and medical follow-up. Another described symptoms returning after restarting. These reports cannot establish cause or frequency, but exceed mild digestive rumbling. Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) — Side effects (severe stomach pain) (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Benefit and unwanted feelings can coexist. A household account describes less pain and better digestion alongside twitchy, washed-out feelings that led to stopping. The five-month MCAS account later described fatigue, headache, balance trouble, insomnia, constipation and memory problems. Initial benefit does not erase later problems. Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide? (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Stopping histories differ. A nootropics commenter said back pain returned off PEA. After five months at 600 mg/day, the MCAS reporter described three weeks of worsening off it. In replies, constipation and insomnia had eased; later, they felt stopping was beneficial. Full recovery timing and a withdrawal syndrome remain unestablished. Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide? (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Natural does not settle compatibility or safety. A forum's no-known-interactions reassurance is not an interaction assessment. The inspected accounts do not establish pregnancy, breastfeeding or long-term safety. Pain-relief reports also do not make PEA a substitute for urgent evaluation or prescribed pain treatment. Cannot recommend Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) highly enough. (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) — Side effects (severe stomach pain): Unverified reactions do not establish cause, mechanism or frequency. These are different commenters; no rechallenge advice adopted.
Source context — Problems taking Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA), cofactors or support?: OP describes self and partner as one household account. Reply's amounts are circulated recommendations, not a verified personal regimen or clinical standard. Speculative deficiency explanation excluded.
Source context — What is your experience if any with Micronized PEA Palmitoylethanolamide?: One condition-confounded account including later improvement after stopping. Withdrawal-like wording is the author's interpretation; no diagnosed syndrome, complete recovery or precise full-recovery timeline established. OP and replies are one account, not independent corroboration.
Source context — Cannot recommend Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) highly enough.: Gut, antimicrobial and biofilm claims are not established by this post. Colostrum/other co-use confounds attribution. Duration commenter is one account, not multiple replications. Food rule not adopted.
Full notes
PEA here means palmitoylethanolamide, an oral lipid people discuss for persistent pain and mast-cell-related symptoms. Some describe quieter aches or less burning; others notice little or stop for unwanted effects. Timing and product differences make a single promised result misleading.
What this PEA actually is
- A lipid rather than a peptide. Palmitoylethanolamide is a fat-derived signaling molecule the body makes. Its inflammation-related signaling explains the pain interest without guaranteeing relief. Official context
- The full name matters. Phenylethylamine is a different compound also abbreviated PEA. This card concerns oral palmitoylethanolamide capsules and powder, including micronized, ultra-micronized and Levagen+ forms. It is not CBD, THC or an injectable peptide. Community
- Form is part of the comparison. Micronized and ultra-micronized refer to smaller particles; Levagen+ uses dispersion technology. Equal labeled milligrams do not establish equal effects. Official context Community
What people hope will improve
- Less burning or background pain. An 800 mg/day nerve-pain reporter described less burning in the feet after several weeks, while an abnormal walking sensation remained. Another participant reported uncertain benefit and no high. Reddit · r/smallfiberneuropathy
- Sleep and sensitivity are separate outcomes. One MCAS reporter initially described better sleep, joint/nerve pain and sun tolerance, before later deterioration. Older discussions connect sleep with less pain and describe flushing/itch experiments; none establishes a general sleep or histamine treatment. Personal report Community
Doses people discuss
Reported use, not instructions. mg means milligrams; a capsule's product mass may differ from its PEA content.
- Oral reports: 600, 800 and 1,200 mg total per day. One micronized-PEA account used 600 mg/day; the burning-feet account used 800 mg/day. The pelvic/back-pain reporter began with 400 mg three times daily (1,200 mg/day), later 400 mg twice daily (800 mg/day). These are separate experiences, not interchangeable targets. Personal report Reddit · r/smallfiberneuropathy Personal report
- Amounts repeated in nootropic discussion. A reply circulates 400 mg three times or 600 mg twice daily, both totaling 1,200 mg/day. It does not document the reply author's own amount. An 800 mg powder report omits frequency, so it cannot establish a daily total. Reddit · r/Nootropics Reddit · r/Supplements
Half-life
- Three hours is a forum assertion, not a verified human value. A SIBO poster uses that number to explain spacing, without showing a measurement. LongeCity replies instead argue about a short half-life versus nearly two days of perceived effects with palm oil. Feeling an effect cannot measure how fast blood levels fall by half. Reddit · r/SIBO LongeCity
Onset: when a change is noticed
- About a week or several weeks. The pelvic/back-pain account described about one week; the burning-feet account several weeks. An AnabolicMinds user noticed less aching at three weeks in a sponsored product thread. Others notice no benefit. Personal report Reddit · r/smallfiberneuropathy AnabolicMinds
Duration: how long relief lasts
- One immediate response lasting 12–14 hours. The SIBO-thread commenter could not recall the amount. That experience does not establish a dependable single-dose window for other users. Reddit · r/SIBO
- Benefit can fade during continued use. A Phoenix Rising poster's initial improvement disappeared after several months of daily use. Phoenix Rising
- Stopping histories differ. A nootropics commenter said back pain returned off PEA. After five months at 600 mg/day, the MCAS reporter described three weeks of worsening off it. In replies, constipation and insomnia had eased; later, they felt stopping was beneficial. Full recovery timing and a withdrawal syndrome remain unestablished. Reddit · r/Nootropics Personal report
Cycles and time off
- Weeks-long trials or continued daily use. The original community record describes 4–8-week attempts and open-ended use when people perceive benefit. There is no established shared break calendar in the inspected accounts; months of use do not prove long-term safety. Community Reddit · r/smallfiberneuropathy
- Intermittent use is another reported pattern. After physical therapy, the same pelvic/back-pain reporter described occasional 1–2 pills daily for roughly a week. Strength was not specified in that update. This is a personal follow-up, not a repeat-course recommendation. Personal report
Cautions that matter
- Stomach symptoms can be substantial. One person reported severe stomach pain, nausea, migraine and diarrhea after 400 mg with lunch, persistent pain at one week and medical follow-up. Another described symptoms returning after restarting. These reports cannot establish cause or frequency, but exceed mild digestive rumbling. Reddit · r/Supplements
- Benefit and unwanted feelings can coexist. A household account describes less pain and better digestion alongside twitchy, washed-out feelings that led to stopping. The five-month MCAS account later described fatigue, headache, balance trouble, insomnia, constipation and memory problems. Initial benefit does not erase later problems. Reddit · r/Nootropics Personal report
- Natural does not settle compatibility or safety. A forum's no-known-interactions reassurance is not an interaction assessment. The inspected accounts do not establish pregnancy, breastfeeding or long-term safety. Pain-relief reports also do not make PEA a substitute for urgent evaluation or prescribed pain treatment. Reddit · r/SIBO Community
What the discussions add
- Attribution is often the difficult part. The pelvic/back-pain reporter later added physical therapy. An 800 mg powder user had no stomach pain but uncertain benefit, with simultaneous changes and later amitriptyline. Feeling better does not isolate PEA's contribution. Personal report Reddit · r/Supplements
- Stacks bring competing explanations. PEA/luteolin blends appear in mast-cell threads. The older record also mentions quercetin, CBD, magnesium and BPC-157 combinations. Each added ingredient complicates attribution; those discussions do not establish a useful ratio or a combined benefit. Phoenix Rising Community
- Food preferences remain arguments. A SIBO poster favors taking PEA with fat; a nootropics reply reports empty-stomach discomfort. Neither establishes a universal meal rule. Reddit · r/SIBO Reddit · r/Nootropics
- Commercial context matters. AnabolicMinds' positive reports sit within a brand-sponsored product-launch thread. AnabolicMinds
What the studies can clarify
- More absorption is not twice the relief. A sponsored study compared single 300 mg doses in 28 adults: LipiSperse produced about 1.7-fold four-hour blood exposure. Sampling ended before baseline returned, without measuring half-life or pain relief. Official context
- Acute menstrual research is a different pattern. A 2025 trial abstract describes 300 mg PEA at pain onset, with another dose permitted after two hours. It found pain differences at selected times but no rescue-medication difference. These are trial values, not community nerve-pain timing or a regimen. Official context
