STUDresearch · Non-peptide
PQQ
Also known as
Pyrroloquinoline quinone · PQQ disodium salt · Pyrroloquinoline quinone disodium · PQQ·Na2 · Methoxatin (chemical synonym in literature) · BioPQQ (Mitsubishi branded fermented form) · mnemoPQQ (Ryusendo branded form in some Japanese trials) · PureQQ (Nascent chemically synthesized form) · MGCPQQ (EU novel-food branded form discussed)
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not medical advice. Not a protocol. Not for human or animal use.
Systemic — oral water-soluble redox quinone framed for body-wide cellular energy and mitochondrial signaling, not local injectable repair or a stimulant.
Initial benefit faded before the author moved to 20 mg; around week three they described flatness/exhaustion amid other supplements. Stopping helped, with residual flatness. The individual’s frequency was not stated.
Dominant human-study daily amount. The linked community experiences had varying or unstated amounts and included no effect, restlessness or energy without worse insomnia; they do not all describe 20 mg daily.
One user reported energy with ubiquinol and creatine while saying 20 mg was not noticeable and other stimulants felt stronger. Frequency was not stated; the stack prevents single-agent attribution.
Half-life & effect duration
- Half-life in the body
- Human study reportAbout 3–5 hours
- Other summariesAbout 2–3 hours
- Felt duration people report
- Early accountsStimulation, sleepiness within hours or nighttime restlessness
- Continued-use accountsBenefit fading, exhaustion around week 3, or no change over 90 days
Tap a line for the full notes and source context.
Timing context & sources
Half-life in the body
Serum PQQ half-life was reported as 3–5 hours in one small human meeting abstract.
The same abstract reported serum peak at 2–3 hours across oral intakes up to 40 mg/day and roughly 0.1% urinary excretion.
Ten-person meeting abstract with limited methods detail and Mitsubishi Gas and Chemical support; it does not establish clinical outcome timing or generalize across all products.
- Pyrroloquinoline Quinone (PQQ) Nutritional Status in Humans after Oral Supplementation (opens in a new tab)Meeting abstract lines 145–148: ten subjects, oral intakes up to 40 mg/day, serum peak 2–3 hours and reported half-life 3–5 hours; support statement at line 148.Small meeting abstract rather than a full peer-reviewed pharmacokinetic report; limited methods detail and Mitsubishi Gas and Chemical support.
Felt duration people report
A dependable PQQ felt duration is not established by the contradictory reports.
Reports include no change over 90 days, acute stimulation, sleepiness within hours and restlessness at night. One author’s initial 10 mg benefit faded before moving to 20 mg; flatness/exhaustion appeared around three weeks, followed by partial improvement after stopping.
Uncontrolled self-reports, different brands and amounts, combination products, large concurrent stacks and within-person dose changes prevent causal timing inference.
- Is ND looking at PQQ? (opens in a new tab)Visible original post and comment tree dated 2025-09-08, including 90-day nonresponse, warmth, stimulation and exhaustion/sleepiness reports.Multiple uncontrolled users, mostly unstated amounts and brands; several reports involve CoQ10, NAD products or underlying mitochondrial conditions.
- Thoughts on PQQ (Pyrroloquinoline Quinone) (opens in a new tab)Visible 2020 comment tree: 20 mg BioPQQ nonresponse, restlessness at night and energy without worsened insomnia, plus multi-agent mitochondrial-stack discussion.Uncontrolled reports with different products and stacks; no standardized timing, verification, blinded comparison or objective endpoint.
- How to improve PQQ response? (opens in a new tab)stinkykoala original post dated 2022-10-18, lines 19–21: initial 10 mg benefit, fading before increase to 20 mg, additions, flatness/exhaustion around three weeks, then partial improvement after stopping; own later reply around line 133 says initial positive days were off amphetamines.Single uncontrolled same-author trajectory with other supplements and intermittent dextroamphetamine; the author reports initial positive days off amphetamines. Later amount/product changes confound attribution, and individual PQQ frequency is not stated.
Other context in this card
- Is PQQ a nootropic? — ChasingHealth stacked-amount report (opens in a new tab)ChasingHealth visible comment at lines 82–88 and following question at lines 90–95: 40 mg PQQ with ubiquinol/creatine versus little notice at 20 mg, with stronger stimulant effects. Actual post and visible reply read.One uncontrolled stacked report with other stimulant use; PQQ dosing frequency and co-ingredient amounts are not stated. It does not establish an isolated PQQ response, dose-response curve, recommended amount or measured PK.
What people say
- Cognition (healthy / forgetful adults): ~20–21.5 mg/day oral for 8–12 weeks — modest gains in memory, attention, processing/executive speed domains in some trials (e.g., word recall; Cognitrax-style batteries); effect sizes small and not universal across endpoints. trial
- PQQ + CoQ10 cognition: Historical multi-week designs discuss 20 mg PQQ + ~100–300 mg CoQ10 with word-recall / higher-function signals; some arms frame combo ≥ PQQ alone — single-agent credit stays muddy. trial
- MCI / impaired cognition: Limited work (e.g., higher short-term PQQ in product combos) did not show clear overall MMSE/ADAS-style wins — bro takeaway is “healthy aging niche,” not dementia treatment. trial
- Fatigue / energy / mood: Open-label 20 mg/day × 8 weeks reported better stress, fatigue, QoL, and sleep inventories in a small adult sample — no placebo control, so placebo confounds are large. trial
- Sleep pilot: Same 8-week open-label window is the main sleep-quality citation; forums often re-credit sleep when stacks include other sleep agents. trial
- Inflammation markers: Tiny uncontrolled ~3-day study (~0.3 mg/kg ≈ ~20 mg in young adults) reported drops in CRP and IL-6; not a chronic anti-inflammatory therapy claim. trial
- Lipids / LDL: 20 mg/day (often 10 mg BID) × 6–12 weeks — marginally lower mean LDL in healthy adults; clearer drop in a high-baseline LDL (≥140 mg/dL) subgroup; TG often unchanged; not always replicated in later strength trials. trial
- Mitochondria / PGC-1α: Cell work (CREB → PGC-1α → NRF pathway) is the core lore; animal deficiency diets reduce mito content; human muscle work is thinner. lab
- Exercise combo (Hwang): ~20 mg/day + 6 weeks endurance training in untrained men — PGC-1α protein rose more with PQQ + training than training alone in one report; aerobic performance / body-comp not clearly superior to placebo training. trial
- Strength / physical function (older adults): ~21.5 mg/day × ~12 weeks — modest leg-extension / grip-style signals in one industry-funded healthy-volunteer study; more AEs than placebo in that report. trial
- Antioxidant / redox cycling: High in-vitro ROS-scavenging potency and recycling talk; human clinical translation is mostly marker-level. lab
- Preclinical only (do not over-credit): Stroke infarct reduction, NAFLD/hepatic fat, insulin sensitivity, NGF, amyloid-pathology models — animal/cell; no established human disease indications. animal
- Ceiling honesty: Mild published effects, small n, short duration, frequent industry funding; many forum non-responders and “background support” framing. forum
Doses people talk about
- Upper common commercial: Most capsules 10–20 mg; multi-cap protocols sometimes push 20–40 mg/day by stacking servings — above typical EFSA-style novel-food daily figures. In a separate first-person comment, ChasingHealth reported 40 mg PQQ with ubiquinol and creatine versus little notice at 20 mg, with stronger stimulant effects. Frequency was unstated, and the stack prevents isolated attribution. forumanecdote
- Empty stomach: Some take plain water for “clean absorption”; others get nausea and switch to with-meal. forum
- Bodyweight dosing: Fixed mg almost always — not mg/kg community culture. forum
- Brand vs generic: BioPQQ (fermented Mitsubishi) dominates older literature; PureQQ (synthetic) and mnemoPQQ appear in later work; purity/impurity fights exist in marketing, not strong head-to-head outcome trials. forum
- Lower band: ~5–10 mg/day on many consumer labels and “general mito support” talk; inflammation lore sometimes cites ≥~5 mg/day as a threshold for clinical-index shifts. forum
- Timing habit: Morning or within ~30 min after breakfast is common in trial protocols and labels; with-food for GI comfort despite water-solubility (food not required for absorption lore). forum
- Branded trial variant: ~21.5 mg/day mnemoPQQ in multi-week Japanese cognition/strength studies. trial
- Higher short-trial talk: ~40 mg/day (20 mg BID) appears in at least one MCI product trial window — not a broad community standard and not a long-term safety dataset. trial
- Food vs capsule math: Diet estimates often ~0.1–1 mg/day from foods (natto, parsley, kiwi, green tea, spinach, etc. at ng/g); 20 mg capsule ≫ food — claims are research-dose discussion. trial
- Framing: Discussed oral research/community ranges only — not advice, not prescriptions. forum
- Anchor trial dose: ~20 mg once daily is the dominant human-study dose (BioPQQ / generic disodium). trial
- Split trial dose: 10 mg twice daily (still ~20 mg/day total) used in lipid work and some labels. trial
- Regulatory safety talk: EFSA novel-food opinion centers adult use around ~20 mg/day PQQ disodium; EU implementing rules reference that band; FDA GRAS/NDI filings vary by notifier (e.g., PureQQ dietary-supplement GRAS often cited at max ~8 mg/serving; beverage GRAS notices 5–20 mg/serving). trial
- Bodyweight rule of thumb in safety docs: ~0.3 mg/kg bw/day sometimes cited (~21 mg for a 70 kg adult) as an upper safety-discussion figure — not a personalization formula used in forums. trial
- Form note: Commercial “PQQ” ≈ disodium salt; free-acid is not the usual capsule form. Match label mg to trial disodium doses when comparing studies. trial
How it may feel
- Day 1 (acute): Subjective response is mixed: reports include no effect, marked stimulation, sleepiness or exhaustion, and energy without worse insomnia. These are self-reports, often from combination products or stacks, not a reliable clock. One author reported early benefit at 10 mg, increased to 20 mg as it faded, then described flatness/exhaustion after roughly three weeks amid other supplements. Stopping improved things, with residual flatness. forumanecdote
- Days 1–7: Subtle energy/focus easy to miss or confounded by caffeine/sleep; minority empty-stomach GI. forum
- Weeks 2–4: Common self-check for fatigue/clarity; many still notice nothing and stay for stack synergy. forum
- Month 3+: Longevity users often continuous; rigorous multi-year human safety/outcome logs remain thin. forum
- Days 1–3 (lab markers only): Acute CRP/IL-6 shift reported in one tiny uncontrolled human probe — not a feel timeline. trial
- Weeks 6–8: Matches open-label sleep/fatigue/mood window and some exercise-block ends. trial
- Weeks 8–12: Typical cognition and lipid trial end; multi-month continuous longevity use begins here for stackers. trial
- Week 12–24: Longer Japanese-style cognition arms (PQQ alone or + CoQ10) discussed out to ~24 weeks in some older designs. trial
Cycles people discuss
- Continuous / nutrient-style: Most longevity and mito-stack users treat PQQ as daily ongoing, not a short blast-and-cruise peptide cycle. forum
- Eval checkpoint: ~8–12 weeks is the usual “did anything change?” window in community logs. forum
- Time off: Inconsistent; some pause after ~3 months to reassess feel/labs/budget; no standard PCT or washout ritual. forum
- With stacks: On/off often follows the whole mito stack (CoQ10, NMN/NR, ALA, etc.), not PQQ alone. forum
- Long-term gap: Published human safety windows are mostly weeks to a few months; multi-year continuous use is common in practice but under-studied. forum
- Trial blocks: 3 days (inflammation probe) → 6 weeks (exercise) → 8 weeks (sleep/fatigue open-label) → 12 weeks (cognition/lipids/strength) → occasionally ~24 weeks in older cognition designs. trial
Timing
- Once-daily habit: Still the default for labels and most trials despite short plasma t½ — cellular/mito effects are framed as multi-week adaptation, not matching plasma peaks. forum
- Split-dose logic: 10 mg BID or AM/PM split is the PK-consistency argument some stackers use; evidence that BID outperforms 20 mg QD on outcomes is thin. forum
- With food: Water-soluble → food not required for absorption; with-breakfast common for tolerance and trial protocol match. forum
- Vs CoQ10 timing: CoQ10 is fat-soluble, longer half-life, often with meals; PQQ is water-soluble and shorter plasma residency — combo softgels still usually once daily for compliance. forum
- Training days: Some dose around endurance blocks citing PGC-1α synergy papers — habit, not proven timing science. anecdote
- Late-day caution: Minority insomnia/headache reports if taken late, especially in multi-ingredient energy stacks — AM bias in community advice. forum
- Serum half-life: Older summaries discuss roughly ~2–5 hours (including ~2–3 versus ~3–5-hour figures) and contrast PQQ with CoQ10’s multi-day tissue story; those are not interchangeable measured datasets. One 10-person human meeting abstract reported a serum peak at 2–3 hours and a 3–5-hour half-life across oral intakes up to 40 mg/day. trial
- Tmax / peak: Oral peak plasma often ~2–3 hours post-dose. trial
- Absorption: Rapid GI absorption; animal radiolabel work often cites ~60% bioavailability range with wide individual scatter. animal
- Excretion: Largely renal; majority of absorbed dose cleared in urine within ~24 h (much unchanged in classic mouse work). animal
More on what it is
- Why people use it: Mitochondrial biogenesis / cellular-energy lore; often paired with CoQ10 as the classic “make new mitos + run existing mitos” stack. forum
- Research lens: Many positive human papers are manufacturer-adjacent (BioPQQ / mnemoPQQ); treat modest effect sizes and non-responders as part of the real discussion. forum
- What it is: Redox-active ortho-quinone (C14H6N2O8, ~330 g/mol); commercial capsules are almost always PQQ disodium salt from bacterial fermentation or chemical synthesis. trial
- Mechanism (simplified): Not a mammalian vitamin cofactor enzyme prosthetic group; talked about via CREB phosphorylation → PGC-1α upregulation → mito biogenesis, plus Nrf2/antioxidant and sirtuin-adjacent signaling in cell work. lab
- Evidence posture: Small, mostly industry-linked human trials at ~20 mg/day for weeks–months (cognition, fatigue/sleep open-label, lipids, inflammation); animals and cells fill most biogenesis/metabolic claims. trial
- Not: Not a peptide, not a stimulant, not FDA-approved for cognition/mito disease/aging, and not an official human vitamin (the “14th vitamin” debate is unresolved). trial
- Dose gap: Food is ng/g to low-µg dietary scale; capsules are mg — roughly ~250× typical diet estimates at 20 mg, so supplement talk ≠ food nutrition. trial
Stacks
- Classic mito pair: PQQ 10–20 mg + CoQ10 (ubiquinone or ubiquinol) 100–300 mg — most named pairing; lore = PQQ for biogenesis, CoQ10 for ETC within existing mitos. forum
- Softgel combo products: Common retail ratios include ~10 mg BioPQQ + ~100 mg ubiquinol (or similar) once daily — convenient but often under the 20 mg trial PQQ dose. forum
- Broader mito blends: With ALA, ALCAR, magnesium, multi-antioxidants, sometimes methylene blue or urolithin A in adjacent discussion (different mechanisms). forum
- Statin adjacent: CoQ10 is the statin-myalgia staple; PQQ sometimes added to the same mito bottle without dedicated statin-side-effect RCTs for PQQ alone. forum
- Lifestyle co-credit: Sleep, zone-2 training, and diet often share credit when users report energy/cognition wins. forum
- Cognition trial-style combo: 20 mg PQQ + ~100–300 mg CoQ10 for multi-week memory/attention designs. trial
- NAD axis: PQQ + NMN (or NR) in longevity stacks; one controlled design used 20 mg PQQ ± 300 mg NMN arms for comparison — complementary SIRT1/PGC-1α talk, limited head-to-head outcome proof. trial
- Exercise stack: PQQ alongside endurance training blocks aiming at PGC-1α — training remains the main driver of performance markers. trial
Storage notes
- No mix instructions here: STUDresearch does not list reconstitution, diluent volumes, or syringe unit charts. People reconstitute many different ways and vial labels differ — that content creates more confusion than clarity. forum
- Storage (general talk only): Unopened research products are usually kept cool, dry, and away from light per the seller label. Anything after first use is product-specific — follow the label, not a universal forum SOP. forum
Watch for
- GI empty-stomach: Nausea/diarrhea more often discussed when taken without food. forum
- Insomnia / late dosing: Rare late-day stimulation or insomnia talk, especially in multi-ingredient energy formulas. forum
- Pregnancy / lactation: Usually excluded from routine supplement talk; natural breast-milk µg-scale PQQ ≠ safety of multi-mg capsules. forum
- Children: Essentially no pediatric supplementation trial base in the public discussion. forum
- Renal impairment caution: Heavy urinary clearance lore → theoretical accumulation concern; not studied as a special population. forum
- Interactions: No robust systematic human drug-interaction chart; theoretical caution talk with anticoagulants, chemo, immunosuppressants, and additive lipid-lowering with statins is speculative. forum
- Stack confounding: Sides and benefits hard to pin on PQQ alone inside multi-ingredient mito stacks. forum
- Source quality: Identity, dose accuracy, heavy metals/impurities depend on manufacturer QC; branded BioPQQ vs commodity lots debated in quality circles. forum
- Long-term human gap: Sparse large, long-duration, independent safety databases beyond weeks–months at ~20 mg. forum
- Evidence honesty: Not risk-free just because it is sold OTC; mild published effects do not prove disease treatment. forum
- Mild AEs reported: Headache, dizziness, nausea, heartburn, diarrhea, sore throat, fatigue, stomach discomfort, swollen gums — listed across trial AE tables and reviews. trial
- Trial tolerance at ~20 mg: Many short studies report few serious AEs; samples small and short. One strength trial noted more AE events on PQQ than placebo (e.g., headache/GI cluster). trial
- High-dose animal kidney signal: Subchronic rat work at high mg/kg oral doses showed reversible kidney weight/protein/crystal findings in early dose-finding; subchronic NOAEL often cited at 100 mg/kg bw/day (BioPQQ Nakano) or up to 400 mg/kg bw/day in another rat study — far above ordinary 10–20 mg human labels. animal
- Acute tox order-of-magnitude: Rat oral LD50 ranges discussed roughly hundreds–thousands mg/kg — not relevant to capsule use but anchors “high-dose extreme ≠ label dose.” animal
