STUDresearch · Peptide

PT-141

Also known as

Bremelanotide · Vyleesi · PT141 · PT 141 · Bremelanotide acetate · BMT · Bremelanotide injection

Community talk. May be wrong. Not medical advice. Not a protocol. Not for human or animal use.

Open in the directory ↗
Peptide Lots of talk Systemic SubQ / intranasal Libido & melanocortin

Systemic CNS melanocortin agonist; desire/arousal signaling is central, while pigmentation and blood-pressure effects are systemic.

What people say PT-141 is bremelanotide, a systemic melanocortin-receptor agonist. Vyleesi is the 1.75 mg SC prescription product for a defined premenopausal HSDD population; male, recreational, compounded and gray-market use is outside that label. Doses people talk about
Separate community exposures0.5 mg and 1 mg on separate occasions; route unspecified

One commenter who also reported Viagra/Cialis co-use described brief facial flushing and no desired effect at 0.5 mg, then effects beginning a couple of hours after a separate 1 mg exposure and lasting into the next day. Exact co-use timing and administration route were not specified.

Community delayed-response report1.5 mg injection; subtype unspecified

The user described flushing, then an erection lasting about four hours beginning around ten hours after the injection, followed by nighttime erections over the next few days. This is an unverified adverse/outlier account, not one continuous days-long erection or an expected duration.

Prescription Vyleesi1.75 mg SC

The single-dose autoinjector amount approved for acquired generalized HSDD in premenopausal women; this label does not cover men or recreational performance use.

Community products, sexes and routes varied and were not assayed; one selected author disclosed Viagra/Cialis co-use. These rows are separate descriptive exposures, not a titration sequence. Only the 1.75 mg Vyleesi row is a prescribing-label amount.

Half-life & effect duration

Half-life in the body
  • Vyleesi injection · meanAbout 2.7 hours; range 1.9–4 hours
  • Historical nasal studiesAbout 1.9–2.1 hours
Felt duration people report
  • Community benefit-window estimatesAbout 4–12 hours
  • Other desired-effect reportsOnset after hours, sometimes lasting into the next day; others report no benefit
  • Longer outlier accountA 4-hour erection, followed by nighttime erections on later days
  • Nausea · label timingOften starts within 1 hour and lasts about 2 hours
Timing context & sources
How it may feel Reports range from flushing or nausea without desired benefit to later or next-day response. One 0.5/1 mg account disclosed Viagra/Cialis co-use; another described a four-hour erection about ten hours after a 1.5 mg injection, followed by nighttime erections over later days. These are separate, unverified experiences.
Cycles people discuss The approved product is intermittent and event-tied, not a daily cycle. The one-dose-per-24-hour and eight-dose-per-month label limits are safety constraints for Vyleesi, while community spacing patterns do not create a validated off-label schedule. Timing The Vyleesi label specifies at least 45 minutes before anticipated activity; community charts discuss 30–60+ minutes and leave room for nausea or delayed response. Light-snack versus empty-stomach preferences differ; greasy meals are blamed for worse queasiness in some reports. Stacks PDE5 inhibitors address a different blood-flow mechanism and appear in both trials and community combinations. Melanotan II, anti-nausea drugs and other sexual-health agents introduce overlapping adverse effects or attribution problems; combination evidence is formulation-specific. Access talk Three shelves people mix up: branded Vyleesi autoinjector (FDA-approved 1.75 mg SC for premenopausal HSDD), patient-specific compounded bremelanotide vials, and research-use-only gray powder. Same nickname, not the same product. Labs people mention BP is the watch: Label pressor effect (small SBP/DBP rise, HR down) is what careful clinic talk monitors — not a testosterone or estrogen panel. Watch for Transient BP up / HR down: Label warning — small but real pressor effect after each dose; contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension or known cardiovascular disease; not recommended in patients at high CV risk.

Tap a line to jump into the full notes. Research only — may be wrong.

Timing context & sources

Half-life in the body

The Vyleesi label reports a mean terminal half-life of approximately 2.7 hours, with a 1.9–4.0-hour range, after one SC dose.

Median plasma Tmax is approximately one hour, and the SC administration site did not materially change systemic exposure in the label program.

Label PK does not establish duration of desire or erection, does not apply one-to-one to intranasal or gray-market products, and the approved efficacy population is narrower than community use.

  • DailyMed — Vyleesi bremelanotide injection prescribing information (opens in a new tab)Label indication, warnings and section 12.3: 1.75 mg SC formulation, median Tmax approximately one hour, mean terminal half-life approximately 2.7 hours with 1.9–4.0-hour range, and transient blood-pressure/heart-rate effects.Prescription evidence for a defined premenopausal HSDD population and standardized SC product; it does not validate male, recreational, compounded, gray-market or intranasal use.

Felt duration people report

Reports include no desired effect, response on a later exposure, onset after a few hours and next-day persistence. One outlier described a four-hour erection followed by nighttime erections over later days; no stable felt-duration range is established.

One commenter who disclosed Viagra/Cialis co-use reported 0.5 mg non-response followed by a separate 1 mg response lasting into the next day; their route and exact co-use timing were unstated. A different user reported a 1.5 mg injection, an erection lasting about four hours beginning around ten hours later, then nighttime erections for a few days. Other authors reported flushing or nausea without benefit.

Anonymous accounts, unverified products and amounts, different sexes, incompletely specified routes, expectation effects and explicit PDE5 co-use prevent prevalence or a recommended window. A later nighttime-erection pattern is not one continuous days-long erection.

  • Reddit r/Biohackers — PT-141 dose recommendations? (opens in a new tab)Grouchy-Quit-3996's visible reply first states Viagra/Cialis co-use, then describes 0.5 mg with mild facial flushing and no desired effect, followed days later by 1 mg with onset in a couple of hours and persistence into the next day. That comment does not state administration route or exact co-use timing.Anonymous current thread, unverified product and administered amount; the selected author themselves disclosed PDE5 co-use. Another commenter's injection instructions cannot establish this user's route, and neighboring recommendations are not clinical evidence.
  • Reddit r/BodyHackGuide — PT-141 experience (opens in a new tab)No_Promotion_65's opening account distinguishes a weak nasal experience from a 1.5 mg injection: flushing, then an erection lasting about four hours beginning around ten hours later, followed by nighttime erections over a few days. Replies from distinct authors describe non-response, nausea and prolonged-erection concerns; injection subtype is not stated by the opener.Anonymous unverified products, multiple distinct authors, extreme outlier timing and no clinical verification; a claimed 38-person addiction study in replies was not treated as evidence.
  • Reddit r/Peptides — PT-141 for men: experience and dosage (opens in a new tab)Visible replies describe 1.5 mg with flushing and mixed product-to-product response, a later 3 mg exposure after non-response with 12-plus-hour effects, and another unit-based report with nausea and roughly four-hour onset whose mass could not be recovered.Old anonymous vendor-centered discussion, uncertain product strength, different authors, and one unusable unit-only amount; no product assays, standardized endpoints or medical population.

Other context in this card

What people say 18

  • CNS vs erection-only: Users and clinicians report more ‘want / mental arousal’ even when PDE5s only addressed blood flow or failed entirely. forum
  • Men — off-label clinic talk: Used and discussed for low desire, psychogenic ED, and PDE5 incomplete responders; not FDA-approved in men. forum
  • Responder split: Many describe clear yes/no after a few spaced uses — stop if no meaningful benefit rather than endless dose chasing. forum
  • Not a guarantee: Non-responders are common; relationship, sleep, meds, hormones, alcohol, and mood still dominate outcomes. forum
  • HSDD Phase 3 (RECONNECT — two identical trials): SC bremelanotide 1.75 mg as-needed improved FSFI Desire domain (FSFI-D) and reduced FSDS-DAO Question 13 distress vs placebo in premenopausal women with acquired generalized HSDD. trial
  • FSFI-D magnitude (label tables): Mean change from baseline often summarized ~+0.5 to +0.6 on Vyleesi vs ~+0.2 on placebo across the two studies (statistically significant; scale 1.2–6.0). trial
  • Distress endpoint: Mean FSDS-DAO Q13 change commonly ~−0.7 on drug vs ~−0.4 on placebo (lower = less bother from low desire). trial
  • Phase 2b dose-ranging context: SC 0.75 / 1.25 / 1.75 mg arms; 1.25 and 1.75 mg drove efficacy; SSE mean change often restated ~+0.7 events/month vs ~+0.2 placebo in integrated 1.25/1.75 summaries — 1.75 mg became the Phase 3/label dose. trial
  • As-needed use pattern: On-demand before anticipated activity — not a daily background hormone or continuous libido pill. trial
  • Typical trial use intensity: Most Phase 3 patients used ~2–3 times per month and no more than once weekly; median injections often cited ~10 over 24-week core period. trial
  • Historical male SC RigiScan work: Early SC PT-141 studies in men (including inadequate Viagra responders) reported statistically significant erectile responses at SC doses often discussed in the ~4–6 mg band under visual sexual stimulation — higher than today’s 1.75 mg HSDD label and not the modern clinic starting band. trial
  • Historical male IN ED data: Intranasal PT-141 produced erectile responses vs placebo in controlled work; significant erectile activity often cited at nasal doses >~7 mg; onset of first erection often ~30 min in early studies. trial
  • Sildenafil non-responders (IN RCT): Safarinejad & Hosseini 2008 — 342 married men with sildenafil-failure ED; 10 mg intranasal on-demand ~45 min–2 h pre-stimulation; positive clinical response rates often restated 33.5% bremelanotide vs 8.5% placebo (p≈0.03). trial
  • Combo with sildenafil (trial): Co-administration of subtherapeutic/low-dose intranasal PT-141 with oral sildenafil enhanced erectile response vs sildenafil alone on RigiScan; Diamond 2005 used 7.5 mg IN + 25 mg sildenafil; related designs used 7.5–10 mg IN + 50–100 mg sildenafil; one report described multi-fold (~5.3× class figure, range ~1.9–8.3) longer erectile activity duration in exploratory designs. trial
  • Nonhormonal pathway: Marketed and discussed as melanocortin CNS signaling, not sex-hormone replacement. trial
  • Label stop rule: Approved product labeling advises discontinuing if no improvement after 8 weeks. trial
  • 52-week open-label extension: Desire benefit signals sustained in long-term extension work (hundreds of patients continued SC PRN under trial conditions) without a new major safety class signal dominating that literature. trial
  • Effect size honesty: Desire-domain effect sizes in published RECONNECT framing often cited ~0.49–0.61 (small-to-medium range) — real for responders, modest for many. trial

Doses people talk about 18

  • Self-report spread: Anonymized user-report buckets online span well below 1 mg to multi-mg; treat open-ended tails as unregulated self-report, not evidence-based dosing. forum
  • Empty stomach talk: Some clinic notes suggest dosing away from large meals because food can worsen nausea for some users — individual. forum
  • Gray-market vial risk: Research lyophilized ‘PT-141’ may not match pharma identity, purity, acetate salt content, or labeled milligrams. forum
  • Oral products: Not established as a reliable oral peptide in high-quality clinical use discussions; community skepticism that oral PT-141 ‘works like inject/nasal’ is common. forum
  • Community SC band around label: ~1–2 mg SC is the most common discussion band anchored to the 1.75 mg approved figure. forum
  • Clinic titration talk (men, off-label): Some clinicians start ~1 mg SC to gauge nausea/flush, then find a personal sweet spot often ~1–2 mg; pushing past ~2 mg is frequently described as where nausea becomes dose-limiting. forum
  • Lower start talk: ~0.5–1.25 mg SC first exposures appear in forum and clinic notes for sensitive users or nausea-first strategies — not Phase 3 validated male protocols. forum
  • Timing tweaks: Label floor is ≥45 min; community often plans ~45–90 min (sometimes up to ~2 h) based on personal onset, food, and nausea. forum
  • Autoinjector strength: Single-dose 1.75 mg / 0.3 mL prefilled autoinjector (ready-to-use solution — not a multi-dose vial); equivalent often stated as ~1.89 mg bremelanotide acetate in product descriptions. trial
  • Why the 24 h rule matters: Efficacy of redosing inside 24 h is not established; consecutive doses close together may add blood-pressure effects. trial
  • Historical male SC research doses: Early SC pharmacodynamic work explored multi-mg SC bands (commonly discussed ~4–6 mg SC with VSS for erectile endpoints) — higher than modern HSDD/clinic starting practice and not a community default. trial
  • IN combo study examples: 7.5 mg IN PT-141 + 25 mg sildenafil (Diamond 2005); related 7.5–10 mg IN + 50–100 mg sildenafil designs in exploratory erectile co-admin studies. trial
  • Nasal ≠ SC milligram math: Bioavailability differs by route; label alcohol-interaction work notes a 20 mg IN dose can achieve ~2.5× higher Cmax than SC Vyleesi exposure class — do not 1:1 convert spray mg to 1.75 mg SC. trial
  • Framing: Label doses plus community/clinic discussion ranges — research/education only, not advice or a self-use protocol. forum
  • FDA SC dose (Vyleesi): 1.75 mg subcutaneously in the abdomen or thigh, as needed, at least 45 minutes before anticipated sexual activity. trial
  • Label frequency caps: Do not administer more than one dose within 24 hours; more than 8 doses per month is not recommended (few Phase 3 patients exceeded that monthly intensity; more frequent dosing increases hyperpigmentation risk and time spent with elevated BP). trial
  • Phase 2 SC exploration: 0.75, 1.25, and 1.75 mg SC dose-ranging preceded Phase 3; lower efficacy at 0.75 mg helped lock 1.75 mg as the commercial dose. trial
  • Historical intranasal male ED bands: Controlled work explored roughly mid-single-digit to ~15–20 mg IN on-demand; ~10 mg IN is a frequently restated figure from older ED-oriented trials (including the sildenafil-failure RCT). trial

How it may feel 8

  • Clinic timing talk (men): Some sexual-medicine write-ups plan 45 minutes to ~2 hours to full effect rather than a rigid 30-minute pill window. forum
  • Hours 1–6+ (subjective): Desire/responsiveness window commonly reported as several hours; clinic notes often span ~4–12 hours for main benefit — highly individual. forum
  • Feel vs plasma: Subjective desire cascade may outlast the short terminal half-life for some users; multi-day afterglow is not the standard story. forum
  • Pre-dose planning: Label: inject ≥45 minutes before anticipated sexual activity; duration of efficacy after each dose is unknown and optimal window not fully characterized — patients may fine-tune based on desire onset and nausea. trial
  • Onset window (SC): Many notice effects within ~30–60 minutes post-SC; plasma Tmax clusters near ~1 hour (range often ~0.5–1.0 h). trial
  • Duration honesty: Label states duration of efficacy after each dose is unknown; do not treat half-life alone as a precise ‘hours of horniness’ clock. trial
  • First 1–2 doses: Nausea, flushing, and injection-site sting often strongest early; first-dose nausea is the classic complaint. trial
  • Early intermittent use: Nausea incidence highest after dose one (~21% first-dose figure in label narratives), then falls to low single digits after subsequent doses for many. trial

Around the dose 7

  • Clock: As-needed, 30–60+ minutes before the event in most charts — not a nightly GH-style pin. forum
  • After the pin: Plan the window. Nausea and flushing are why people don’t first-try it on a busy morning. forum
  • Avoid: Stacking it with a drinking night “to see,” and daily-for-weeks use copied from a GH peptide. forum
  • First pin (2025–26): Threads still say don’t debut it on a real date. Flush and queasiness often land in the first hour; libido notes can lag that. forum
  • Nausea kit (anecdote, not the label): Ginger, cetirizine/Zyrtec, Dramamine, or Zofran show up constantly on r/pt141info and r/SEXONDRUGS. A Phase 4 ondansetron pretreat did not beat placebo for Vyleesi nausea — community still uses rescue meds anyway. forumtrial
  • Food: Light snack vs empty-stomach is split; greasy meals get blamed for worse queasiness. forum
  • Dose vs date: Many off-label male logs now start ~0.5–1 mg to keep nausea tolerable, then only step toward 1.75 if the lower band did nothing. forum

Cycles people discuss 9

  • Forced breaks: Recurrent nausea, BP concerns, focal hyperpigmentation, or cost/access often force spacing or discontinuation more than calendar ‘cycles.’ forum
  • Event planning: Date-night / weekend PRN patterns dominate discussion rather than fixed Monday–Friday schedules. forum
  • Clinic weekly caps (compounded): Some compounding/telehealth protocols advise waiting 24–72 h between doses or ≤3 uses/week — spacing conventions, not a stricter replacement for the label's eight-dose monthly limit. forum
  • PRN, not bodybuilding cycles: Designed and labeled as intermittent as-needed dosing — not multi-week daily on/off peptide cycles. trial
  • Monthly intensity cap: ≤8 doses/month on label shapes planning and is the pigmentation/safety frequency anchor people reuse even off-label. trial
  • Daily limit: ≤1 dose per 24 hours on label. trial
  • Trial-then-stop: Assess benefit early; 8-week no-benefit stop rule on approved product. trial
  • Long-term PRN medical use: 52-week open-label SC extension data exist under trial conditions. trial
  • Daily dosing is a red flag: Separate clinical observations of multi-day consecutive use showed markedly higher new focal hyperpigmentation rates (class example: substantial minority after ~8 consecutive daily doses) — another reason the monthly cap exists. trial

Timing 17

  • Feel vs plasma: Subjective desire window may not map 1:1 to the short terminal half-life — incompletely characterized. forum
  • Terminal half-life (SC): Mean ~2.7 hours (reported range about 1.9–4.0 hours) after subcutaneous Vyleesi. trial
  • Tmax: Median peak plasma ~1.0 hour post-SC (range often cited ~0.5–1.0 hour). trial
  • Exposure (label-class SC): Mean Cmax and AUC after SC Vyleesi commonly summarized ~72.8 ng/mL and ~276 ng·h/mL class figures; exposure increases less than dose-proportional from ~0.3–10 mg SC with plateauing near higher multi-mg levels. trial
  • SC bioavailability: Absolute bioavailability after subcutaneous administration described as about 100%; abdomen vs thigh site did not meaningfully change exposure in labeling. trial
  • Volume of distribution: Mean Vd ~25.0 ± 5.8 L after single SC dose. trial
  • Clearance: Mean CL/F ~6.5 ± 1.0 L/h. trial
  • Protein binding / metabolism: ~21% plasma protein binding; primary metabolism via peptide-bond / amide hydrolyses of the cyclic peptide. trial
  • Excretion (label-style): Substantial urinary elimination with fecal contribution — commonly summarized ~64.8% urine / ~22.8% feces of total radioactivity after a labeled dose. trial
  • Why ≥45 min lead time: Short PK and desire-effect timing drive pre-activity dosing; patients may fine-tune based on effect duration and nausea. trial
  • BP / HR time course: Transient BP increase and HR decrease after each dose; maximal SBP/DBP rises in ambulatory/label summaries often peaking roughly 2–4 hours post-dose (e.g. ~+6 mmHg SBP / ~+3 mmHg DBP class figures) with HR down up to ~5 bpm, usually resolving toward baseline within ~12 hours. trial
  • Repeat daily ABPM note: Open-label daily-dosing ambulatory work still showed transient daytime SBP/DBP rises with return toward pre-dose values 12–24 h later — does not green-light daily PRN use. trial
  • Nausea time course: Onset often ≤1 hour; duration commonly ~2 hours; worst after first dose, attenuates with later doses for many. trial
  • Alcohol interaction (IN PK study): 20 mg IN bremelanotide co-administered with ethanol did not change bremelanotide PK meaningfully; flushing remained; no QTc prolongation of clinical concern at that IN exposure in dedicated work — still not a free pass for heavy drinking. trial
  • IN PK notes (historical): Early nasal work reported median Tmax around ~0.5 h and mean t½ roughly ~1.9–2.1 h in some summaries — route-specific, not a substitute for SC label PK. trial
  • Renal impairment: AUC rises with worsening GFR (label class: mild ~1.2×, moderate ~1.5×, severe ~2×) — caution / more AE risk in severe impairment. trial
  • Hepatic impairment: Mild ~1.2× and moderate ~1.7× AUC class increases; severe hepatic impairment not fully studied — caution. trial

More on what it is 8

  • Why people care: Highest-volume injectable ‘desire peptide’ in clinics and gray-market talk — different mechanism from PDE5 blood-flow drugs and from daily oral flibanserin (Addyi). forum
  • What it is: Synthetic cyclic heptapeptide bremelanotide (bremelanotide acetate); sequence commonly written Ac-Nle-cyclo[Asp-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Lys]-OH; free-base MW ~1025.2 Da; formula often cited C50H68N14O10. trial
  • FDA product: Vyleesi — 1.75 mg / 0.3 mL single-dose SC autoinjector approved 2019 for acquired, generalized premenopausal HSDD causing distress, not due to another medical/psychiatric condition, relationship problems, or medication effects. trial
  • Mechanism (known + unknown): Melanocortin receptor agonist; neurons expressing MC4R are present in many CNS areas linked to sexual desire/arousal signaling. Label states the precise mechanism by which it improves HSDD is unknown. trial
  • Origin / MT-II lineage: Developed along the Melanotan II research path after sexual-arousal effects of melanocortin analogs were observed; often described as a refined metabolite/derivative (carboxylic-acid terminus vs MT-II amide) aimed at desire rather than tanning — still shares nausea/BP/pigment class risks. trial
  • What it is not: Not testosterone, estrogen, or a PDE5 substitute; label explicitly states not indicated to enhance sexual performance and not indicated for postmenopausal women or men. trial
  • Routes in culture: Pharma path is SC autoinjector; older male ED development and many compounded/gray-market options still discuss intranasal spray; oral is not a reliable high-quality clinical route. trial
  • Research-only framing outside labeled use: Community and clinic off-label talk (especially men) is discussion data — not a use protocol. forum

Stacks 15

  • Combo rationale: Mechanisms are complementary rather than redundant; discussed for men who need both ‘want’ and hardness or who failed PDE5 monotherapy. forum
  • Stack titration talk: Community often establishes PT-141 alone first (lowest effective SC band), then adds a PDE5 at a familiar or reduced dose under medical guidance — additive CV/BP/orthostatic considerations matter. forum
  • + Trimix / injectables (advanced ED forums): Niche discussion for refractory ED; high caution, physician-only territory in serious threads. forum
  • Avoid casual Melanotan II co-stack: Shared melanocortin ancestry — overlapping nausea, blood-pressure, and pigmentation risk; stacking for ‘tan + libido’ is repeatedly flagged as higher-risk lore. forum
  • 2025–26 MT-II switch, not combo: People coming off a tan load for ‘just the bedroom effect’ talk PT-141 instead of running both. Dual melanocortin agonism is the overlap-risk lore. forum
  • Kisspeptin compare/sequence: Niche advanced threads compare or sequence kisspeptin (HPG upstream) vs PT-141 (melanocortin desire) — different axes; attribution is hard. forum
  • Oxytocin (research talk): Sometimes co-listed in sexual/bonding peptide discussions; separate mechanism and sparse controlled stack data. forum
  • Lifestyle base: Sleep, relationship context, depression/anxiety meds, alcohol, and untreated hypogonadism often decide whether any PRN peptide feels useful. forum
  • + PDE5 inhibitors (sildenafil / tadalafil): Most common practical stack talk — central desire (PT-141) plus peripheral erection blood-flow (PDE5). Supported by historical IN PT-141 + sildenafil co-admin data and widespread clinic/forum practice; not a DIY free-for-all. trial
  • Anti-nausea co-meds: Ondansetron and other antiemetics are discussed because nausea is the top AE; label notes antiemetic use in ~13% of trial patients. trial
  • Ondansetron pretreatment caution: A Phase 4 single-dose study found 8 mg oral ondansetron 30 min before SC 1.75 mg did not reduce Vyleesi-associated nausea incidence vs placebo — pretreatment with ondansetron is not recommended on that basis; treatment after onset is less formally studied. trial
  • vs Flibanserin (Addyi): Not a stack — different approved HSDD class (daily oral serotonergic agent with alcohol boxed-warning culture) vs PRN melanocortin injection; people search both as ‘female libido drug’ alternatives. trial
  • Oral naltrexone caution (interaction, not stack): Label: avoid with oral naltrexone products for alcohol/opioid use disorder because bremelanotide can cut naltrexone systemic exposure enough to risk treatment failure. trial
  • Indomethacin / threshold orals: Label interaction program flagged clinically relevant absorption delays for certain orals needing quick onset (pain relief examples) — review full med list with a clinician. trial
  • Historical combo numbers (research only): Examples include 7.5 mg IN PT-141 + 25 mg sildenafil and 7.5–10 mg IN + 50–100 mg sildenafil exploratory designs with RigiScan enhancement — not modern SC autoinjector protocols. trial

Access talk 5

  • Three shelves people mix up: branded Vyleesi autoinjector (FDA-approved 1.75 mg SC for premenopausal HSDD), patient-specific compounded bremelanotide vials, and research-use-only gray powder. Same nickname, not the same product. forumtrial
  • Cost talk (2025–26): Cash Vyleesi is still described as hundreds-to-about-a-thousand dollars per autoinjector; compounded multi-dose vials and RUO 10 mg vials are the cheap-path argument. Price is not a purity stamp. forum
  • Specialty-pharmacy friction: r/VyleesiUsersCommunity 2025 threads still fight BlinkRx / limited specialty pharmacies for the branded pen — a separate headache from gray vials. forum
  • RUO identity risk: Forum CoA spot-checks still complain about underfilled or mislabeled research PT-141. A ‘not for human use’ label is not QC. forum
  • Already an approved drug: PT-141/bremelanotide was not on the July 23–24, 2026 peptide PCAC seven (BPC, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, Epitalon, Semax, DSIP). Copy-compounding an approved drug is a different legal bucket than nominating an unapproved peptide. trial

Labs people mention 3

  • BP is the watch: Label pressor effect (small SBP/DBP rise, HR down) is what careful clinic talk monitors — not a testosterone or estrogen panel. trialforum
  • No PT-141 blood level: People judge desire window vs nausea, not a plasma concentration. forum
  • If pigmenting: Focal darkening is a stop/consider-stop conversation, not a lab. trial

Storage notes 2

  • No mix instructions here: STUDresearch does not list reconstitution, diluent volumes, or syringe unit charts. People reconstitute many different ways and vial labels differ — that content creates more confusion than clarity. forum
  • Storage (general talk only): Unopened research products are usually kept cool, dry, and away from light per the seller label. Anything after first use is product-specific — follow the label, not a universal forum SOP. forum

Watch for 29

  • Gray-market source risk: Research-chemical purity, sterility, and actual milligram content unknown; counterfeit autoinjectors and mislabeled vials are a real community concern. forum
  • 2025–26 nausea workarounds: r/PeptidesForHealth and PT-141 subs still copy 0.5–1.0 mg instead of 1.75 to keep the stomach; some say nasal compounded spray is easier on nausea and worse on timing. Neither is a Vyleesi-label fix. forum
  • Vs MT-II nausea: Head-to-head 2025 logs go both ways — some vomit on PT-141 after ‘easy’ MT-II, some find PT-141 cleaner. Individual, dose-dependent, not a ranking. forum
  • Nausea (~40% Phase 3 at ≤8 doses/month intensity): Most common AE; often mild–moderate but led to premature discontinuation in ~8% and antiemetic use in ~13% in trial summaries. trial
  • Nausea course: Highest after first dose (label narratives often cite ~21% first-dose nausea falling to ~3% later); median onset within ~1 hour, duration ~2 hours. trial
  • Flushing (~20%): Face/systemic flush — very common first-use complaint; ~1% discontinued for flushing in trial tallies. trial
  • Injection-site reactions (~13%): Redness, irritation, local pain/discomfort, bruising, hypoesthesia, etc., at SC sites. trial
  • Headache (~11%) / vomiting (~5%): Common secondary AEs (headache ~11.3%, vomiting ~4.8% in frequently cited tallies); rare serious headache leading to hospitalization reported. trial
  • Other listed AEs (≥2% band): Cough, fatigue, hot flashes, paresthesia, dizziness, nasal congestion appear at low single-digit rates. trial
  • Less common listed: Upper abdominal pain, diarrhea, myalgia, arthralgia, pain in extremity, restless leg syndrome, rhinorrhea, CPK increase, BP increase, focal hyperpigmentation. trial
  • Discontinuation overall: AE-related discontinuation ~18% on Vyleesi vs ~2% placebo in Phase 3 pooled experience — nausea the leading driver. trial
  • Transient BP up / HR down: Label warning — small but real pressor effect after each dose; contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension or known cardiovascular disease; not recommended in patients at high CV risk. trial
  • BP magnitude (label-style): Maximal mean increases on the order of ~6 mmHg systolic / ~3 mmHg diastolic peaking hours after dose, with HR reductions up to ~5 bpm, generally resolving within ~12 hours; do not redose inside 24 h. trial
  • Focal hyperpigmentation: Face, gingiva (gums), and breasts darkening reported (~1% at ≤8 doses/month in Phase 3); risk rises with more frequent dosing and darker baseline skin; resolution not always confirmed after stopping. trial
  • Daily-dosing pigment signal: In a clinical study with consecutive daily use, large fractions developed new focal pigment (class example ~38% after 8 consecutive days; additional cases with continued daily exposure) — monthly cap exists partly for this reason. trial
  • Consider stop if pigmenting: Label/clinical guidance: consider discontinuing if hyperpigmentation develops. trial
  • Oral drug absorption: May slow gastric motility and reduce rate/extent of some oral meds; naltrexone oral products for addiction treatment are specifically to avoid (clinically relevant exposure drop). trial
  • Indomethacin / quick-onset orals: Interaction program flagged absorption issues when rapid onset is desired — review full med list with a clinician. trial
  • Acute hepatitis (rare signal): Single open-label extension case with marked transaminase/bilirubin elevations after sparse PRN use over a year; causality not definitive but role could not be excluded — no broad hepatotoxicity imbalance in the program. trial
  • Pregnancy / contraception: Use during pregnancy not recommended; animal data raise fetal-harm potential; advise effective contraception and discontinue if pregnancy suspected; pregnancy registry exists. trial
  • Lactation / pediatric / geriatric: Milk transfer unknown; safety/effectiveness not established in pediatric or geriatric populations. trial
  • Renal / hepatic caution: Severe renal or severe hepatic impairment may increase AE incidence/severity (nausea/vomiting class) — label advises caution. trial
  • Overdose pattern: No formal overdose reports in labeling; higher doses expected to worsen nausea, hyperpigmentation, and BP rises — supportive care. trial
  • Not for performance enhancement: Explicit labeling — approved only for specific premenopausal HSDD, not recreational performance use. trial
  • Population limits: Not indicated for postmenopausal women or for men on the FDA label. trial
  • Route BP history: Intranasal development historically carried BP-side-effect concerns that helped push the program toward SC — another reason many clinicians prefer injection when available. trial
  • Never risk-free: Even pharma product has high AE rates and an ~18% AE discontinuation rate in Phase 3; peptide novelty does not equal safety. trial
  • Nausea: Very common; some medical materials note antiemetic pretreatments are not a reliable fix. trial
  • Hyperpigmentation risk: Focal darkening can appear after repeated frequent dosing — a reason medical schedules are not “daily forever.” trial

Updated: 2026-09-01

Evidence mix More trial/lab tags than forum tags Full: every bullet (trial + community). Use Scan for a faster bro-science read.

All STUDresearch topics →