Non-peptide
AICAR (AMPK discourse)
Also known as
AICAR · AICAr · AICA-R · AICA riboside · AICA ribonucleoside · acadesine · 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide-1-β-D-ribofuranoside · 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide riboside · 5-amino-4-imidazolecarboxamide ribonucleoside · AICA ribonucleotide (endogenous phosphorylated form / nomenclature clash) · ZMP (intracellular AICAR monophosphate / Z-nucleotide) · Z-riboside · CAS 2627-69-2 · exercise-in-a-pill AICAR (media nickname)
Community talk. May contain inaccuracies. Not medical advice. Not a protocol. Not for human or animal use.
What it is
| AICAR / acadesine | A non-peptide nucleoside discussed for endurance and metabolic energy. Inside cells it becomes ZMP, which signals through the AMPK energy-sensing system. |
|---|---|
| Forms differ | Community accounts discuss injections under the skin or into muscle and oral products. Historical human studies used IV infusions; their exposure and timing do not transfer to those products. |
Notes
AICAR, also called acadesine, is a non-peptide compound discussed for endurance and metabolic energy. Reports range from easier cardio and steady energy to little change or feeling unwell. Much of the practical talk involves stacks, and the famous exercise-in-a-pill result came from mice.
A nucleoside, despite the peptide label. The injected research compound is AICA riboside, often abbreviated AICAr. Inside cells it becomes ZMP, which signals through the AMPK energy-sensing system. It is different from ALCAR, acetyl-L-carnitine. Višnjić et al.: AICAr and AMPK-independent effects (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30) · AICAR experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Route changes the question. Community discussion involves subcutaneous injections under the skin, intramuscular injections into muscle, and oral products. Historical human research used IV infusions. These forms cannot share one exposure or timing estimate. Dixon et al.: oral and IV kinetics in healthy men (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — Višnjić et al.: AICAr and AMPK-independent effects: Author-written systematic review; underlying Narkar and MDS/AML full text attempts blocked. Mouse result identified as review-reported context, not a newly inspected human performance measurement. This source is not used for practical community fields.
Source context — AICAR experiences?: Anonymous, unverifiable products; route and amount absent for responder. The question asking whether 25 mg was used is not a confirmed amount. Planned 50 mg is not outcome evidence. Rat wording does not identify a verified human or animal experiment. Relative timestamps in opened body; dates available in indexed thread text only.
Source context — Dixon et al.: oral and IV kinetics in healthy men: Abstract inspected, not journal full text. Historical healthy-men trial, four active recipients per level; not current oral capsules, SC/IM kinetics or athletic efficacy. Clinical measurements appear only in separately labeled context.
What people notice
| Easier cardio | Some accounts describe steadier energy, easier cardio or quicker recovery between sets, often with Cardarine. They do not show how much came from AICAR. |
|---|---|
| Little change also occurs | One multi-drug user noticed little overall difference and credited the hot, speedy feeling to Helios. Other reports of leaning out also involve diet, cardio, GH or other drugs. |
Notes
Easier cardio and less fatigue. Favorable accounts describe cardio becoming easier or energy staying steady. Older discussion includes faster recovery between sets and easier steady-state exercise, often alongside Cardarine. These are reported experiences with weak solo attribution. AICAR experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
A stack's strongest sensation may come from something else. Odin's Son reported AICAR 10 mg daily with GW 5 mg, Helios and several other drugs; injection route was unspecified. He noticed little overall difference and attributed the hot, speedy feeling to Helios. Odin's Son: AICAR dosing protocol and updates (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Leaning out is less clear. Preserved accounts include body-composition and blood-pressure changes, usually alongside diet, cardio, GH or other drugs. The record does not separate AICAR's contribution or demonstrate targeted loss of stubborn fat.
Source context — AICAR experiences?: Anonymous, unverifiable products; route and amount absent for responder. The question asking whether 25 mg was used is not a confirmed amount. Planned 50 mg is not outcome evidence. Rat wording does not identify a verified human or animal experiment. Relative timestamps in opened body; dates available in indexed thread text only.
Source context — AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account: Unspecified administration route and precise identity of abbreviated co-compounds; individual report cannot establish duration, allergy risk or synergy. The 3 mg/30-min detail and later activity description are indexed but hidden behind More replies in opened body and are not used. Subreddit links commercial guides; commenter sponsorship not established. No absolute dates inferred from opened relative timestamps.
Source context — Odin's Son: AICAR dosing protocol and updates: Injection route not specified. Early claimed spot reduction is followed by no huge spot reduction; no isolated AICAR causal effect. Replies wrongly call it a peptide and recommend animal scaling; neither adopted. Derived visible prose intentionally short.
Doses people talk about
| Early injection talk | 100–150 mcg/day into muscle appears in older GW stacks; separate plans name 5–10 mg/day under the skin or into muscle. These are different units and accounts. |
|---|---|
| Low-mg daily talk | Commercial charts list 1–5 mg/day under the skin. One stacked user reports 3–5 mg daily with the injection route unstated; a 50 mg vial is not a daily amount. |
| Larger amounts and plans | One injection-discussion reply names 25 mg/day, five days/week, without a specific route. Another person's 50 mg/day for four weeks was a plan, not a completed result. |
| Oral and scaled charts | An oral question repeats 20 to over 100 mg/day without an outcome. The 10–50 mg/kg injection charts and gram-scale calculations are animal extrapolations, not measured effective human amounts. |
Notes
Early IM talk: 100–150 mcg/day. Preserved forum summaries pair these microgram amounts with GW 5–10 mg; some were plans. Separate older plans name AICAR 5–10 mg/day SC or IM. Micrograms and milligrams are different units.
Low-mg discussion: 1–5 mg/day. Older commercial charts specify SC use. A recent commenter describes 3–5 mg daily from 50 mg vials, with other metabolic compounds; the injection route is unstated. Vial content is not the daily amount. AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Larger amounts are separate accounts. One reply names 25 mg/day, five days/week, in an injection discussion without specifying SC or IM. Another poster planned 50 mg/day for four weeks while asking which route to use; that is not a completed trial. AICAR 50 mg: pre-training reply (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · AICAR experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Oral and animal-scaled figures differ again. An oral question repeats 20 to over 100 mg/day without reporting an outcome. Preserved 10–50 mg/kg SC/IM charts and gram-scale calculations are animal extrapolations, not measured effective human amounts. AICAR oral dosage question (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account: Unspecified administration route and precise identity of abbreviated co-compounds; individual report cannot establish duration, allergy risk or synergy. The 3 mg/30-min detail and later activity description are indexed but hidden behind More replies in opened body and are not used. Subreddit links commercial guides; commenter sponsorship not established. No absolute dates inferred from opened relative timestamps.
Source context — AICAR 50 mg: pre-training reply: SC/IM route not specified; favorable assertion without measured performance outcome or within-dose onset. Original question uses rat-subject language, not verified species evidence. No preparation instructions reproduced.
Source context — AICAR experiences?: Anonymous, unverifiable products; route and amount absent for responder. The question asking whether 25 mg was used is not a confirmed amount. Planned 50 mg is not outcome evidence. Rat wording does not identify a verified human or animal experiment. Relative timestamps in opened body; dates available in indexed thread text only.
Source context — AICAR oral dosage question: Recommendations repeated in a question, not confirmed self-use, pharmacokinetics or dose efficacy. Source/purchase exchange in replies excluded. No individualized interpretation of OP body weight.
Half-life, onset & duration
| Felt onset | One person reported easier cardio within three days, without confirming dose or route. Thirty to sixty minutes before training is a scheduling claim, not a measured onset. |
|---|---|
| Felt duration | No dependable single-dose window. One all-day energy account also involved SLU and 5amino; after-stop reports give no clear number of hours or days. |
| Half-life | Human kinetics for community injections are unknown here. A historical IV study measured 1.4 hours for parent acadesine; it does not measure today's under-skin or muscle injections. |
Notes
One cardio report: within three days. The contributor reported improvement five days into use but never supplied a confirmed dose or route in the visible replies. Older accounts describe subtle readiness or no early kick. AICAR experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Thirty to sixty minutes is a scheduling claim. The 25 mg/day reply places use before training. It does not time the first effect after administration or establish an absorption peak. AICAR 50 mg: pre-training reply (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
All-day energy appears in one stacked account. That commenter also used compounds described as SLU and 5amino. The account supplies no clocked AICAR-only effect window. Reports of a training benefit over weeks answer a different question. AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
After stopping remains uncertain. Preserved accounts describe the subjective edge fading while training progress remains. They do not establish how many hours one administration works or a predictable carryover period.
Forums call it short; they do not measure it. The cycling thread uses that description without a numerical human SC half-life. The preserved record also identifies an SC/IM kinetics gap. A daily habit or pre-training schedule does not establish bodily clearance. Cycling-board AICAR: short-half-life and dose dispute (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
The 1.4-hour figure is historical IV parent-drug kinetics. Dixon's healthy-men study used 10, 25, 50 and 100 mg/kg oral/IV exposures; oral solution bioavailability was below 5%. Neither result measures today's SC products or felt benefit duration. Dixon et al.: oral and IV kinetics in healthy men (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — AICAR experiences?: Anonymous, unverifiable products; route and amount absent for responder. The question asking whether 25 mg was used is not a confirmed amount. Planned 50 mg is not outcome evidence. Rat wording does not identify a verified human or animal experiment. Relative timestamps in opened body; dates available in indexed thread text only.
Source context — AICAR 50 mg: pre-training reply: SC/IM route not specified; favorable assertion without measured performance outcome or within-dose onset. Original question uses rat-subject language, not verified species evidence. No preparation instructions reproduced.
Source context — AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account: Unspecified administration route and precise identity of abbreviated co-compounds; individual report cannot establish duration, allergy risk or synergy. The 3 mg/30-min detail and later activity description are indexed but hidden behind More replies in opened body and are not used. Subreddit links commercial guides; commenter sponsorship not established. No absolute dates inferred from opened relative timestamps.
Source context — Cycling-board AICAR: short-half-life and dose dispute: Board features commercial/source material. Claimed doctor/elite-team authority not corroborated. No SC kinetics measurement. Sweating-it-out and undetectable assertions rejected; animal 500 mg/kg is not a validated human dose. Reconstitution and purchasing content excluded.
Source context — Dixon et al.: oral and IV kinetics in healthy men: Abstract inspected, not journal full text. Historical healthy-men trial, four active recipients per level; not current oral capsules, SC/IM kinetics or athletic efficacy. Clinical measurements appear only in separately labeled context.
Cycles people discuss
| Short on/off patterns | The three-day responder later described five days on/five off or two on/two off after feeling unwell with longer consecutive use. Another account names five days/week. |
|---|---|
| Longer blocks | Older discussion spans 1–2-week checks, 2–4-week runs, commercial 4–6-week charts and 6–8-week GW stacks. Equal-time-off and seasonal reuse are customs, not an established washout. |
Notes
Short breaks compete with longer blocks. The three-day responder later described five days on/five off, or two on/two off, after feeling unwell with longer consecutive use. Another reply names five days/week. These are individual patterns, not an agreed cycle. AICAR experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30) · AICAR 50 mg: pre-training reply (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Older blocks span one to eight weeks. Preserved discussion distinguishes 1–2-week tolerance checks, 2–4-week runs, commercial 4–6-week charts and 6–8-week GW stacks. Breaks vary, including equal-time-off or seasonal reuse; none establishes a washout standard.
Source context — AICAR experiences?: Anonymous, unverifiable products; route and amount absent for responder. The question asking whether 25 mg was used is not a confirmed amount. Planned 50 mg is not outcome evidence. Rat wording does not identify a verified human or animal experiment. Relative timestamps in opened body; dates available in indexed thread text only.
Source context — AICAR 50 mg: pre-training reply: SC/IM route not specified; favorable assertion without measured performance outcome or within-dose onset. Original question uses rat-subject language, not verified species evidence. No preparation instructions reproduced.
Stacks
| Cardarine / GW501516 | The recurring companion; older records name GW 5–20 mg orally per day with widely differing AICAR amounts. There is no fixed human ratio or demonstrated combination benefit. |
|---|---|
| Other metabolic stacks | Stack lists also name SR9009, MOTS-c, NAD-related products and SARM cutting combinations. SLU comparisons and metformin comparisons do not by themselves describe co-use. |
Notes
Cardarine is the recurring companion, not a fixed ratio. Older records mention GW 5–20 mg orally per day alongside widely differing AICAR amounts. SR9009, SLU-PP compounds, MOTS-c and other metabolic agents also appear; co-mentions do not demonstrate synergy or an interchangeable formula. AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account (Personal report · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Stack ratio honesty: There is no fixed human “mg AICAR : mg GW” clinical ratio. Mouse short-combo work used ~250 mg/kg IP AICAR with ~5 mg/kg oral GW — not a capsule recipe. Vendor pre-mixes (if any) vary and are unregulated. [animal] [community]
SR9009 co-mentions: SR9009 appears in endurance and metabolic combination lists. Its own uncertain oral exposure and timing claims add uncertainty; a list is not proof of actual combined use or benefit. [community]
AICAR + SLU-PP-332 / SLU-PP-class: Comparison and occasional co-mention as next-gen exercise-mimetic peers (ERR vs AMPK axes); no head-to-head human trial. [community]
AICAR vs metformin (informal AMPK talk): Both discussed as AMPK-adjacent metabolic tools; exposures, oral practicality, and evidence bases are completely different — not interchangeable protocols. [trial] [community]
AICAR + MOTS-c / mitochondrial peptides / NAD-axis stacks: Biohack adjacency for “mito + AMPK” narratives; evidence remains siloed preclinical + anecdote. [community]
SARM cutting combinations: Some lists assign cardio or fat-oxidation goals to AICAR/GW and muscle-retention goals to a SARM. These are proposed roles, not demonstrated combined outcomes; endocrine and lipid concerns from other ingredients remain separate. [community]
Source context — AICAR and MOTS-c: one steady-energy stack account: Unspecified administration route and precise identity of abbreviated co-compounds; individual report cannot establish duration, allergy risk or synergy. The 3 mg/30-min detail and later activity description are indexed but hidden behind More replies in opened body and are not used. Subreddit links commercial guides; commenter sponsorship not established. No absolute dates inferred from opened relative timestamps.
Watch for
| Feeling unwell | Reports include injection sting or redness, nausea, fatigue and malaise. These are not proof of a successful metabolic effect. |
|---|---|
| Kidney and blood effects | High-dose leukemia IV research found raised uric acid, kidney impairment, low pressure and blood-count changes. Those exposures differ from forum injections; chronic safety remains unresolved. |
| Identity, units and sport | Wrong products and mcg-versus-mg errors obscure the discussion. The saved 2026 WADA record prohibits AICAR at all times; a short claimed half-life is not a clearance window. |
Notes
Unpleasant experiences belong in the picture. Older reports include injection sting, redness, nausea, fatigue and malaise, with stacks complicating attribution. Feeling unwell is not evidence that metabolism has been successfully boosted. AICAR experiences? (Community discussion · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Human IV studies found meaningful adverse effects. High-dose leukemia research reported raised uric acid, renal impairment, low blood pressure and transient blood-count changes. Those clinical exposures differ from forum injections; smaller stated amounts do not establish chronic safety. Van Den Neste et al.: acadesine phase I/II CLL trial (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Labels and combinations obscure interpretation. The record flags wrong identities, degraded or underdosed products and unit errors. Hormone PCT talk concerns accompanying SARMs or steroids. Uric acid, kidney function, CBC and glucose checks appear in discussion, without a validated self-monitoring plan.
Prohibited in tested sport. WADA's 2026 list names AICAR under S4.4.1, prohibited at all times. A short claimed half-life cannot establish an anti-doping clearance window. WADA 2026 Prohibited List (Official context · Accessed 2026-09-30)
Source context — AICAR experiences?: Anonymous, unverifiable products; route and amount absent for responder. The question asking whether 25 mg was used is not a confirmed amount. Planned 50 mg is not outcome evidence. Rat wording does not identify a verified human or animal experiment. Relative timestamps in opened body; dates available in indexed thread text only.
Source context — Van Den Neste et al.: acadesine phase I/II CLL trial: 24 relapsed/refractory cancer patients; disease, doses, comedications and analytes differ from community use. Tolerability language does not establish chronic fitness safety or a human SC schedule.
Source context — WADA 2026 Prohibited List: Sport rule, not medical approval, a safety statement or a detection/clearance period.
Full notes
AICAR, also called acadesine, is a non-peptide compound discussed for endurance and metabolic energy. Reports range from easier cardio and steady energy to little change or feeling unwell. Much of the practical talk involves stacks, and the famous exercise-in-a-pill result came from mice.
AICAR, ZMP and distinct routes
- A nucleoside, despite the peptide label. The injected research compound is AICA riboside, often abbreviated AICAr. Inside cells it becomes ZMP, which signals through the AMPK energy-sensing system. It is different from ALCAR, acetyl-L-carnitine. Official context Reddit · r/Peptides
- An energy signal is not a completed workout. AMPK helps cells respond to low energy. AICAR's broader biological effects do not establish fitness, fat loss or a stimulant sensation. Official context
- Route changes the question. Community discussion involves subcutaneous injections under the skin, intramuscular injections into muscle, and oral products. Historical human research used IV infusions. These forms cannot share one exposure or timing estimate. Community Official context
What people hope to notice
- Easier cardio and less fatigue. Favorable accounts describe cardio becoming easier or energy staying steady. Older discussion includes faster recovery between sets and easier steady-state exercise, often alongside Cardarine. These are reported experiences with weak solo attribution. Reddit · r/Peptides Personal report Community
- Leaning out is less clear. Preserved accounts include body-composition and blood-pressure changes, usually alongside diet, cardio, GH or other drugs. The record does not separate AICAR's contribution or demonstrate targeted loss of stubborn fat. Community
Doses people discuss
- Early IM talk: 100–150 mcg/day. Preserved forum summaries pair these microgram amounts with GW 5–10 mg; some were plans. Separate older plans name AICAR 5–10 mg/day SC or IM. Micrograms and milligrams are different units. Community
- Low-mg discussion: 1–5 mg/day. Older commercial charts specify SC use. A recent commenter describes 3–5 mg daily from 50 mg vials, with other metabolic compounds; the injection route is unstated. Vial content is not the daily amount. Community Personal report
- Larger amounts are separate accounts. One reply names 25 mg/day, five days/week, in an injection discussion without specifying SC or IM. Another poster planned 50 mg/day for four weeks while asking which route to use; that is not a completed trial. Reddit · r/PeptideForum Reddit · r/Peptides
- Oral and animal-scaled figures differ again. An oral question repeats 20 to over 100 mg/day without reporting an outcome. Preserved 10–50 mg/kg SC/IM charts and gram-scale calculations are animal extrapolations, not measured effective human amounts. Reddit · r/Peptides Community
Half-life in the discussion
- Forums call it short; they do not measure it. The cycling thread uses that description without a numerical human SC half-life. The preserved record also identifies an SC/IM kinetics gap. A daily habit or pre-training schedule does not establish bodily clearance. iSARMS Forums Community
When people notice a change
- One cardio report: within three days. The contributor reported improvement five days into use but never supplied a confirmed dose or route in the visible replies. Older accounts describe subtle readiness or no early kick. Reddit · r/Peptides Community
- Thirty to sixty minutes is a scheduling claim. The 25 mg/day reply places use before training. It does not time the first effect after administration or establish an absorption peak. Reddit · r/PeptideForum
How long it seems to last
- All-day energy appears in one stacked account. That commenter also used compounds described as SLU and 5amino. The account supplies no clocked AICAR-only effect window. Reports of a training benefit over weeks answer a different question. Personal report Community
- After stopping remains uncertain. Preserved accounts describe the subjective edge fading while training progress remains. They do not establish how many hours one administration works or a predictable carryover period. Community
Courses and breaks people describe
- Short breaks compete with longer blocks. The three-day responder later described five days on/five off, or two on/two off, after feeling unwell with longer consecutive use. Another reply names five days/week. These are individual patterns, not an agreed cycle. Reddit · r/Peptides Reddit · r/PeptideForum
- Older blocks span one to eight weeks. Preserved discussion distinguishes 1–2-week tolerance checks, 2–4-week runs, commercial 4–6-week charts and 6–8-week GW stacks. Breaks vary, including equal-time-off or seasonal reuse; none establishes a washout standard. Community
Adverse effects, identity and sport
- Unpleasant experiences belong in the picture. Older reports include injection sting, redness, nausea, fatigue and malaise, with stacks complicating attribution. Feeling unwell is not evidence that metabolism has been successfully boosted. Community Reddit · r/Peptides
- Human IV studies found meaningful adverse effects. High-dose leukemia research reported raised uric acid, renal impairment, low blood pressure and transient blood-count changes. Those clinical exposures differ from forum injections; smaller stated amounts do not establish chronic safety. Official context
- Labels and combinations obscure interpretation. The record flags wrong identities, degraded or underdosed products and unit errors. Hormone PCT talk concerns accompanying SARMs or steroids. Uric acid, kidney function, CBC and glucose checks appear in discussion, without a validated self-monitoring plan. Community Community
- Prohibited in tested sport. WADA's 2026 list names AICAR under S4.4.1, prohibited at all times. A short claimed half-life cannot establish an anti-doping clearance window. Official context
What the research numbers mean
- A mouse result started the exercise-pill story. The review describes 44% better endurance after four weeks in sedentary mice, not a proven human performance intervention. Official context
- The 1.4-hour figure is historical IV parent-drug kinetics. Dixon's healthy-men study used 10, 25, 50 and 100 mg/kg oral/IV exposures; oral solution bioavailability was below 5%. Neither result measures today's SC products or felt benefit duration. Official context
- Longer clinical phases are different measurements. The CLL study's four-hour infusions used 50–315 mg/kg and reported variable half-lives for acadesine and ZMP. Intracellular conversion and disease context matter; there is no single timing range to transplant into gym use. Official context
From community discussion
- A stack's strongest sensation may come from something else. Odin's Son reported AICAR 10 mg daily with GW 5 mg, Helios and several other drugs; injection route was unspecified. He noticed little overall difference and attributed the hot, speedy feeling to Helios. Personal report
- Cost arguments hide an animal-to-human leap. Cycling replies dispute low-dose anecdotes versus animal-scaled amounts. A critic admits no use. Neither argument proves human effectiveness. iSARMS Forums
- Cardarine is the recurring companion, not a fixed ratio. Older records mention GW 5–20 mg orally per day alongside widely differing AICAR amounts. SR9009, SLU-PP compounds, MOTS-c and other metabolic agents also appear; co-mentions do not demonstrate synergy or an interchangeable formula. Community Personal report
- Positive reports leave important questions open. The three-day responder later felt unwell, while the steady-energy poster disclosed a stack after initially describing AICAR on its own. Dose, route, training and other drugs are needed to interpret a favorable story. Reddit · r/Peptides Personal report
